Tickets for replay

One particularly noticeable thing at yesterday's game was the huge mayo support. Question is how really is the ticket allocation being done. The split in my opinion was at least 60:40 in mayo 's favour. Have a look at the tv footage from all around the ground and it can be plainly seen. Obviously there is an insatiable hunger in mayo to see them end their famine and there will always be the argument about them having a huge overseas contingent coming home from the game but lets be having you GAA have an equal ticket allocation for replay, reduce your prices and issue discounted tickets for children and families. Final should be for the real supporter.

Adamski (Dublin) - Posts: 339 - 19/09/2016 07:37:44    1915993

yeah annoying thing was the amount of 13-17 year olds on the hill yesterday
seems anybody in mayo who wanted a ticket was given one
where as dublin had more supporters at the leinster final than the all ireland final.
surely the tickets for replay will be given to both counties this time and not around the country as the neutrals seem quite happy to send the tickets to mayo and not back to the gaa to distribute.
also seems the ticket prices have been cut to 60 euro and 30 euro for the replay
yet for the hurling final replay couple years back was 50 euro and 25 euro for that replay
one rule for one and for the other it seems.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 19/09/2016 13:03:00    1916228

reduce your prices and issue discounted tickets for children and families. Final should be for the real supporter.
Adamski (Dublin) - Posts:274 - 19/09/2016 07:37:44

agreed- mind you all other games bar the final are great value for kids- but there should be discounted kids (16 and under) for final)

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 19/09/2016 13:26:56    1916247

yeah annoying thing was the amount of 13-17 year olds on the hill yesterday
-what is so bad about this?

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 19/09/2016 13:27:52    1916249

Just got the email there from the season ticket folk in the Gaa. Thankfully the young fella's replay ticket is only €10. Not being posted out either. Will be able to log in and print them off on Friday.

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 19/09/2016 13:39:04    1916265

Mayo certainly looked to have got the bulk of the tickets alright.
Hopefully the replay allocations will work out a bit more even.
I don't think the tickets go out to the club's in the same way for a replay but I'm open to correction on this.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 19/09/2016 14:25:38    1916316

What's the breakdown of tickets per Dublin and Mayo anyway? I've no idea.

I've never met a shy Dublin person. If there's tickets available to non-participating counties and boards abroad ye can get yer hands on them just as easily as ourselves.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7344 - 19/09/2016 14:27:39    1916318

Shouldn't be too difficult to get a ticket for the replay

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 19/09/2016 15:19:19    1916354

Replying To janesboro:  "yeah annoying thing was the amount of 13-17 year olds on the hill yesterday
-what is so bad about this?"
The fact that there's always about 30 of us all go to the same part of the hill and are together at games all year and yesterday There was 10 only and yet you see the place filled with 13-17 year olds from mayo who seemed to be able to give anybody who wanted a ticket one, while all the people who go all year missed out at their expense.
seems wrong that you can have a larger support at a provincial final than the all ireland final.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 19/09/2016 15:42:42    1916384

At least there will be a few extra going to clubs with no minor game being on.

dubshurling7 (Dublin) - Posts: 1017 - 19/09/2016 15:49:10    1916396

hill16man
while i understand your frustration - those 13-17 year olds may also be club member/players and may also go to all the game (bear in mind lot of them for their age would be free or €5), so if that is the case the they would have the same "moral entitlement" to a ticket ie. play gaa, do to all/most game ---not bandwagoners,

-- were the other 20 lads club members or season ticket holders -tough goin if any of them were and couldnt get a ticket

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 19/09/2016 16:17:28    1916430

just saw there are €10 concession tickets - Well done and fair dues to the GAA on this one, hope all parents and kids going as a result of this excellent initiative have a great day

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 19/09/2016 16:21:07    1916434

Replying To janesboro:  "hill16man
while i understand your frustration - those 13-17 year olds may also be club member/players and may also go to all the game (bear in mind lot of them for their age would be free or €5), so if that is the case the they would have the same "moral entitlement" to a ticket ie. play gaa, do to all/most game ---not bandwagoners,

-- were the other 20 lads club members or season ticket holders -tough goin if any of them were and couldnt get a ticket"
Half of them would be club members the other half tried getting on the Parnell pass and season ticket schemes but no joy as only open to renewals in dublin the last few years. They get tickets through supervalu all the time.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 19/09/2016 16:44:29    1916458

Replying To janesboro:  "just saw there are €10 concession tickets - Well done and fair dues to the GAA on this one, hope all parents and kids going as a result of this excellent initiative have a great day"
Yeah that's good but very unfair that the hurling replay prices went down to 50 stand and 25 hill/nally
now the football replay is 60 stand and 30 hill/nally

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 19/09/2016 16:47:50    1916462

hill16man - thats a balls for your pals esp the ones who are club members, more so if they coaching or player or involved in some way chances are their club got lot less tickets then members , not the clubs fault either and i agree put the prices the same as previous years hurling replays. hopefully the replay be a bit easier to get

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 19/09/2016 17:12:07    1916487

Good to see the reduction. Pity hotels wouldn't take pity on us Mayo fans though. The bank account is getting a fair shake.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11230 - 19/09/2016 17:17:42    1916492

There was a huge amount of Mayo people on Dorset Street well ahead of the throw-in yesterday. I was there an hour before the minor game to pick up my ticket and all of the pubs en route were packed with green and red jerseys.

I do think the large numbers of Mayo people living in the counties en route to Dublin probably helps swell our numbers a bit, as they may find it a little easier to get tickets in their adopted counties. I'd imagine also that we tend to get quite a few through overseas clubs too, who are also real supporters in spite of what some people on this thread may think.

Will be interesting to see if we get a different breakdown of tickets for the replay.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 19/09/2016 17:40:23    1916505

Replying To yew_tree:  "Good to see the reduction. Pity hotels wouldn't take pity on us Mayo fans though. The bank account is getting a fair shake."
Did you book last night or today? Booking last night you'd have gotten a cheaper rate as the depts responsible for amending rates for busy weekends work monday to Friday only. Anyone that booked today got the pleasure of increased rates that went up this morning.

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 19/09/2016 17:43:06    1916509

Replying To CroiGorm:  "Did you book last night or today? Booking last night you'd have gotten a cheaper rate as the depts responsible for amending rates for busy weekends work monday to Friday only. Anyone that booked today got the pleasure of increased rates that went up this morning."
I didnt to be honest...was too busy drinking and having the craic. One bar owner I know had a big smile on his face when I saw him after the game ;)

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11230 - 19/09/2016 17:56:11    1916515

For yesterday its reckoned
Dublin had about 20,000 supporters out of anything up to 100,000 that would go if theyd a ticket
Mayo had about 30,000 out of 50,000 that would go if they had a ticket

Dublin GAAs biggest problem is its gone so big...From Skerries to Sandymount, Ballymun to Brittas everyone wants to be on the Dublin gig...AIG are no fools. Bottom line though is be still bordering on impossible to get tickets in Dublin unless your lucky in a club draw. Yesterday thousands of Dublin fans around croke park without tickets.

hurler32 (Limerick) - Posts: 867 - 19/09/2016 17:56:20    1916517