The word Culchie

Told years ago that it originated around a guy who came from Kiltimagh, Mayo and who moved to work in Dublin. Would say to all and sundry that he was from Kulty or Kultimagh and hence the birth of the word Culchie into the local Dublin city slang. Dont know if this is true.

Auldfella (Meath) - Posts: 472 - 14/09/2016 18:53:02    1914323

Replying To Auldfella:  "Told years ago that it originated around a guy who came from Kiltimagh, Mayo and who moved to work in Dublin. Would say to all and sundry that he was from Kulty or Kultimagh and hence the birth of the word Culchie into the local Dublin city slang. Dont know if this is true."
Nah, I'd be inclined to go more down the cul-an-ti root of the word's origins.

Irish for back of the house obviously .

Way back when, rural dwellers would enter the back of the house into the kitchen so they wouldn't make a mess of the front of the house that used to be used for formal visits. So they would be known as cul an ti's and you can understand how that end up becoming culchie over time and probably seem strange to the Dubs.So they'd cal us country folk cul-an-ti's then eventually Culchie was coined in today's English .Remember reading up a bit on this for a history project back a few years ago for college.Jackeens is another story but it's not a history forum so i'll shut me mouth with that.

GameOfTyrones (Tyrone) - Posts: 469 - 14/09/2016 19:42:25    1914337

C'mere as someone proud to be half culchie half jackeen can i ask, when dubs use the word culchie, ye surely dont take offence..... Do ye? On this island we have jackeens. Culchies, nordies and of course, knobs..... We all generally get along. Cant stand those rugger knobs tho!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 14/09/2016 19:56:52    1914345

Replying To Auldfella:  "Told years ago that it originated around a guy who came from Kiltimagh, Mayo and who moved to work in Dublin. Would say to all and sundry that he was from Kulty or Kultimagh and hence the birth of the word Culchie into the local Dublin city slang. Dont know if this is true."
Wasn't Louis was it?

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 14/09/2016 20:04:54    1914351

According to the word of St Wiki:

It is sometimes said to be a word derived from the remote town of Coillte Mach, County Mayo.[2] However the more likely origin of the term is the Irish coillte meaning "the wood/forest",[citation needed] to describe people who lived in the woods"

So it's either ones from Mayo, one who lived in woods or ones who use the back door......

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 14/09/2016 20:47:26    1914357

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "Wasn't Louis was it?"
No, Louis is the name of the Tram system in Dublin.

Jaden (Dublin) - Posts: 139 - 14/09/2016 21:13:05    1914363

To the best of my knowledge, culchie stems from the word "Agricultural" so people from rural Ireland in bygone days were heavily involved in agriculture, anyone who left the land for the big smoke to work the city folk would refer to us as agricultural country people, through time it was shortened to Culchie. - Agri-"CUL"-tural.

Sorry for bringing it across as a lecture, but I'm not a man of words.

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 2907 - 14/09/2016 21:15:26    1914364

Replying To GameOfTyrones:  "Nah, I'd be inclined to go more down the cul-an-ti root of the word's origins.

Irish for back of the house obviously .

Way back when, rural dwellers would enter the back of the house into the kitchen so they wouldn't make a mess of the front of the house that used to be used for formal visits. So they would be known as cul an ti's and you can understand how that end up becoming culchie over time and probably seem strange to the Dubs.So they'd cal us country folk cul-an-ti's then eventually Culchie was coined in today's English .Remember reading up a bit on this for a history project back a few years ago for college.Jackeens is another story but it's not a history forum so i'll shut me mouth with that."
Don't think you achieved a pass in that particular history project. The provenance of the word is more likely directly related to Coillte Mach (Kiltimagh) and Mayo natives are not best pleased with the OED definition of the term as "a rough country fellow". Indeed, according to none other than Mayo legend Pee Flynnstone, culchies are "very sophisticated people".
Less said about the sobriquet Jackeen the better, especially with the year that's in it!!

liner (Mayo) - Posts: 756 - 14/09/2016 21:23:11    1914367

I'm 3rd generation Dub, that's not bad considering most of us are culchies somewhere down the line! With me personally, it's Tipperary and Leitrim.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8584 - 14/09/2016 21:23:33    1914368

What happened to last night's Why WE Hate Dubs Thread? The truth sometimes too hot to handle!!

liner (Mayo) - Posts: 756 - 14/09/2016 21:33:56    1914371

Replying To realdub:  "I'm 3rd generation Dub, that's not bad considering most of us are culchies somewhere down the line! With me personally, it's Tipperary and Leitrim."
Dad from Kerry, mam from Wicklow. In my innocence I always thought culchie was derived from 'agriculture'.
has anyone ever heard it said that people from County Dublin (Saggart, etc) were the biggest 'culchies' of all.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 14/09/2016 21:46:08    1914380

Replying To avonali:  "Dad from Kerry, mam from Wicklow. In my innocence I always thought culchie was derived from 'agriculture'.
has anyone ever heard it said that people from County Dublin (Saggart, etc) were the biggest 'culchies' of all."
North Dublin? isn't that where we get our spuds from?

liner (Mayo) - Posts: 756 - 14/09/2016 22:36:03    1914425

Replying To liner:  "What happened to last night's Why WE Hate Dubs Thread? The truth sometimes too hot to handle!!"
Admin probably didn't want the hassle of all the editing they'd have to do to make is suitable for viewing.

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 14/09/2016 22:42:07    1914428

Replying To Offside_Rule:  "According to the word of St Wiki:

It is sometimes said to be a word derived from the remote town of Coillte Mach, County Mayo.[2
However the more likely origin of the term is the Irish coillte meaning "the wood/forest",[citation needed] to describe people who lived in the woods"

So it's either ones from Mayo, one who lived in woods or ones who use the back door......"]Yep no matter what they all come from Mayo and destroy the place.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4893 - 14/09/2016 22:53:48    1914435

For some strange reason after reading the posts on this thread I kinda want to listen to the doors song backdoor man and I want to eat a crunchie :-0

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 14/09/2016 23:08:15    1914448

Replying To Jaden:  "No, Louis is the name of the Tram system in Dublin."
Was that named after Luas Armstrong?

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 14/09/2016 23:23:24    1914456

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "Was that named after Luas Armstrong?"
Thought that was the Daniel Day

liner (Mayo) - Posts: 756 - 14/09/2016 23:51:58    1914468

Always rather be a culchie then a jackeen/west brit

cityman73 (Limerick) - Posts: 775 - 15/09/2016 00:52:27    1914481

Replying To avonali:  "Dad from Kerry, mam from Wicklow. In my innocence I always thought culchie was derived from 'agriculture'.
has anyone ever heard it said that people from County Dublin (Saggart, etc) were the biggest 'culchies' of all."
How did the poor ol man take the beating?
My folks both English, no Irish connections other than I was raised here, and I enjoy nothing more than beating the kingdom!

KerryKillers (Dublin) - Posts: 711 - 15/09/2016 01:03:52    1914484

Luas women? Laid every which way.

Who cares? What matters is the here and now. Like a game of chess, at its best.

plike (Kerry) - Posts: 569 - 15/09/2016 09:19:52    1914509