What is going on in Roscommon?

Are McStay and O'Donnell getting the boot lads?

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11230 - 06/09/2016 14:34:56    1910736

Yeah one them will be going, Both looking for job outright.

longballin (Roscommon) - Posts: 91 - 06/09/2016 15:54:46    1910786

Players want the Mayo men and rid of the rest.

longballin (Roscommon) - Posts: 91 - 06/09/2016 15:55:21    1910788

Give it to McStay though O'Donnell is well repected in Roscommon GAA. Liam McHale might have more input if McStay in charge

samiscominghome (Mayo) - Posts: 23 - 06/09/2016 16:05:16    1910796

Looks like FOD is going to walk or be gI've the door..iv alway been a fan of fergal but the players always come first and if the players are not happy with the way he was running things then he must walk without causing a fuss. players seem to want mcstay and mhale to stay on so I really hope they do.

dave1988 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1055 - 06/09/2016 16:43:48    1910822

Replying To samiscominghome:  "Give it to McStay though O'Donnell is well repected in Roscommon GAA. Liam McHale might have more input if McStay in charge"
Not in all parts of Roscommon gaa, Players want him out anyway.

longballin (Roscommon) - Posts: 91 - 06/09/2016 16:44:26    1910825

Replying To longballin:  "Not in all parts of Roscommon gaa, Players want him out anyway."
Even if this the end for fergal there is no one more respected in ros gaa despite what grudge you have against him

ros1 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1211 - 06/09/2016 17:55:42    1910884

As our neighbours discovered last year, joint management teams just don't seem to work. Too many cooks and all that! Hope whatever happens, it doesn't set us back any further in the development of this group.

Douglas_Hyde (Roscommon) - Posts: 90 - 06/09/2016 18:23:55    1910901

Replying To ROS1:  "Even if this the end for fergal there is no one more respected in ros gaa despite what grudge you have against him"
Will always be grateful to Fergal for our thrilling All-Ireland Minor win in 2006.I was always doubtful that the joint managers wouldn't work out.Can't think of anywhere Joint Managers has worked.We had a very poor Summer and there was always going to be fallout.If McStay takes over by himself,the very best of luck to him.We all want Roscommon to be successful.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2162 - 06/09/2016 18:31:03    1910905

please please please keep mcstay in the job, it keeps him off tv

Stmunnsriver (Wexford) - Posts: 2842 - 06/09/2016 18:48:32    1910914

Replying To Stmunnsriver:  "please please please keep mcstay in the job, it keeps him off tv"
Maybe Liam Dunne could replace McStay on television or are ye going to give Liam a new term in Wexford.McStay and O'Donnell had a poor first Summer and thus the current fallout.Dunne has had five poor Summers yet seems likely to be reappointed in Wexford.Any thoughts on that when you're so interested in McStay's and Roscommon's affairs.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2162 - 06/09/2016 19:30:27    1910930

I heard O'Donnell will take the U21 job.

Apparently McStay cannot go anywhere without McHale? I think Liam is an under-rated coach.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7344 - 06/09/2016 19:34:44    1910932

I hope O' Donnell stays, he's a genuine Gaa man by all accounts,

kawaifive0 (Westmeath) - Posts: 112 - 06/09/2016 20:38:45    1910954

Replying To kawaifive0:  "I hope O' Donnell stays, he's a genuine Gaa man by all accounts,"
Ye can have him in Westmeath so. 7 south Ros players will not play county next year if he is involved next year and too me they are more important than anyone man. And that's just 7 from Brigids, Pearses and Clann. I have not enquiried about anyone further up the county

longballin (Roscommon) - Posts: 91 - 06/09/2016 20:59:09    1910967

Replying To longballin:  "Ye can have him in Westmeath so. 7 south Ros players will not play county next year if he is involved next year and too me they are more important than anyone man. And that's just 7 from Brigids, Pearses and Clann. I have not enquiried about anyone further up the county"
Fergal O'Donnell was Manager of course when we won our last Senior Connacht title in 2010.There were no such problems with players back then.If you are right in what you say,I wonder what's gone wrong this time.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2162 - 06/09/2016 21:13:59    1910972

Replying To endgame:  "Maybe Liam Dunne could replace McStay on television or are ye going to give Liam a new term in Wexford.McStay and O'Donnell had a poor first Summer and thus the current fallout.Dunne has had five poor Summers yet seems likely to be reappointed in Wexford.Any thoughts on that when you're so interested in McStay's and Roscommon's affairs."
What has Liam Dunne got to do with a thread on the Roscommon senior football management?

extranjero (Wexford) - Posts: 375 - 06/09/2016 22:41:16    1911006

Replying To extranjero:  "What has Liam Dunne got to do with a thread on the Roscommon senior football management?"
This is a serious thread about whether the joint managers of the football team I support namely Roscommon are going to stay or to leave their roles.You come on from Wexford making a smart comment about Kevin McStay's television work and you wonder now why you get a riposte back about the failed Wexford hurling Manager Liam Dunne.Good luck to you and goodbye.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2162 - 07/09/2016 07:08:10    1911046

Replying To longballin:  "Ye can have him in Westmeath so. 7 south Ros players will not play county next year if he is involved next year and too me they are more important than anyone man. And that's just 7 from Brigids, Pearses and Clann. I have not enquiried about anyone further up the county"
Yes clann players who couldn't get into a quarter final the would be better address there own failures. Fergal showed once again his commitment to roscommon gaa in sharp contrast to the selfish antics of a few clubs in the south

ros1 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1211 - 07/09/2016 09:45:06    1911096

What is this management team costing, is there any figures. The football they played in the C'ship was dire & bereft of any tactics. The problem with these modern managers is they over think the game, systems, transition, process all the bullsh%it language of these guys. In the Connacht final playing with a massive gale force wind they played one man up front, it beggared belief. In basketball parlance which one of these guys uses, it was crying for a full court press. This team were so poor in C'ship that maybe it's not only O Donnell who should resign. If Mc Stay & Mc Hale Fáil this year it will be back to scratch.

moc.dna (Galway) - Posts: 1212 - 07/09/2016 10:25:40    1911125

http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/2016/0907/814748-fergal-odonnell-roscommon/

O'Donnell steps down with two other Boyle selectors. I heard there was friction in the camp with the three of them having the balance if power.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7344 - 07/09/2016 10:43:11    1911139