New camera angle confirms it was a goal?

I have seen it mentioned on HS that there was a new camera angle that confirmed it was a goal

Does anyone have a link?

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 29/08/2016 09:06:51    1907305

Replying To jimbodub:  "I have seen it mentioned on HS that there was a new camera angle that confirmed it was a goal

Does anyone have a link?"
Pretty sure the umpire staring right across the line confirmed it.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 29/08/2016 09:24:29    1907313

Replying To jimbodub:  "I have seen it mentioned on HS that there was a new camera angle that confirmed it was a goal

They might be referring to this one:
http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/2016/0828/812474-dublin_kerry_half-time/

But to my eyes even this thisis inconclusive

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4896 - 29/08/2016 09:27:33    1907320

Look the umpire was best positioned to make the decision , take it on the chin , I have the height of respect for dubs at the moment with the football their playing but please don't start going down the Mayo route with a whinge.Good luck in the final.

cilles man (Meath) - Posts: 142 - 29/08/2016 09:36:38    1907332

Have to agree about the umpire

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1108 - 29/08/2016 09:39:04    1907333

Ah sure let them have the goal. Clucko should have batted that away. Lucky it didn't matter in the end.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 29/08/2016 09:47:25    1907342

Replying To cilles man:  "Look the umpire was best positioned to make the decision , take it on the chin , I have the height of respect for dubs at the moment with the football their playing but please don't start going down the Mayo route with a whinge.Good luck in the final."
If you look at the photo above

The umpires view is actually partially blocked - there is no way he could have fully seen it.

Cluxton's fingers are right behind the ball, you can see the aluminous green colour on his glove

That ball does not look fully over the line from that shot IMO

So this

"The umpire was well positioned" lark is clearly not the case

You can clearly see his view is partially blocked, so he made a very difficult 50/50 call based on a partial view

Kerry blatantly got the biggest 50/50 call in their favour and it was worth 3 points ion the stroke of H/T

I wont be hearing anymore whinging about the refs performance

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 29/08/2016 09:48:56    1907345

It does raise the question though, why don't we use hawkeye for this king of thing also. Like they do in the soccer.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 29/08/2016 09:53:28    1907351

Same umpire who gave a wide and was overruled by the ref 40 yards away? And rightly so......

Give me a break boys. The umpire was a fool.

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 29/08/2016 09:55:21    1907353

Replying To arock:  "They might be referring to this one:
http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/2016/0828/812474-dublin_kerry_half-time/

But to my eyes even this thisis inconclusive"
Cheers for posting that

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 29/08/2016 10:23:22    1907386

Well very the line just imagine the ball being brought up or down from that position and it's a goal..also this is not at its maximum point of going forward as Clutton is bringin back out here with a valiant effort

Goal all day long.

BigJohn.6_8 (Galway) - Posts: 704 - 29/08/2016 10:24:09    1907387

Can we just put to bed

"The umpire was well positioned" argument

Look at the above link

It's clear as day that his view was blocked and to award a goal given such was fairly dubious

There's no way he could have judged it with 100% certainty based on his eye line captured in that photo

Kerry got a very dubious yet highly advantageous 50/50 call in their favour there and right before H/T

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 29/08/2016 10:27:39    1907392

I thought it was a goal at the time but any replay/photo I've seen is inconclusive at best.

Hawkeye needs to be used for this type of incident imo. It means there is no debate.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 29/08/2016 10:38:03    1907405

Replying To jimbodub:  "Can we just put to bed

Look at the above link

It's clear as day that his view was blocked and to award a goal given such was fairly dubious

There's no way he could have judged it with 100% certainty based on his eye line captured in that photo

Kerry got a very dubious yet highly advantageous 50/50 call in their favour there and right before H/T"
I can see him looking at it it that picture.
That pic wasn't taken at the furthest point it had travelled. Look where cluxtons leg is in line with this arm.
Highly dubious it aint

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 29/08/2016 10:59:44    1907421

Replying To jimbodub:  "If you look at the photo above

The umpires view is actually partially blocked - there is no way he could have fully seen it.

Cluxton's fingers are right behind the ball, you can see the aluminous green colour on his glove

That ball does not look fully over the line from that shot IMO

So this

"The umpire was well positioned" lark is clearly not the case

You can clearly see his view is partially blocked, so he made a very difficult 50/50 call based on a partial view

Kerry blatantly got the biggest 50/50 call in their favour and it was worth 3 points ion the stroke of H/T

I wont be hearing anymore whinging about the refs performance"
From where I was sitting I couldnt tell if it was a goal or not. I first thought he had saved it. As the Dub sitting beside me said "it must have been a goal as Cluxton hasnt even argued with the decision".

aidan64 (Kerry) - Posts: 665 - 29/08/2016 11:09:43    1907433

Replying To Superglue:  "
Replying To jimbodub:  "Can we just put to bed

Look at the above link

Kerry got a very dubious yet highly advantageous 50/50 call in their favour there and right before H/T"
That pic wasn't taken at the furthest point it had travelled. Look where cluxtons leg is in line with this arm.
Highly dubious it aint"
Yeah its as clear as day alright.. ahem

His view is blocked, you got a very dubious 50/50 call there

There is no way to know it was over the line

Apart from a partial view from a supposedly well positioned umpire

Some would have not given it just as easy. You got the break but didn't capitalise

Thankfully, because that "goal" would have been a huge talking point

You got that massive call worth 3 points.. so less of the program throwing!

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 29/08/2016 11:11:28    1907435

Sure only one umpire awarded the goal anyway from what i saw, the one that was nearest to it didn't seem to convinced. A dubious award.

realman2 (Kildare) - Posts: 464 - 29/08/2016 11:15:00    1907437

Replying To jimbodub:  "
Replying To Superglue:  "[quote=jimbodub:  "Can we just put to bed

Look at the above link

Highly dubious it aint"

Some would have not given it just as easy. You got the break but didn't capitalise

You got that massive call worth 3 points.. so less of the program throwing!"]Replying To Superglue: "
Replying To jimbodub: "Can we just put to bed

Look at the above link

Highly dubious it aint"

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts:15661 - 29/08/2016 11:11:28

You got the 45 calls at both ends worth 2 points and the Crowley 'shoulder' worth another 2.
The arguement for the 2 shoulders levelling themselves out doesn't stack up.
Dublin came off better by both not being given.

Think few Dubs are a bit sore this morning now they know they aren't as invincible as they thought.
Ye got a bad fright from a bunch of lads that wouldn't make the dublin team.

Anyway, congrats on making back to back finals. It's a great achievement.
It's definitely one of the best dublin teams for a long time

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 29/08/2016 11:50:30    1907465

Replying To jimbodub:  "[quote=Superglue:  "[quote=jimbodub:  "Can we just put to bed

Look at the above link

Highly dubious it aint"

You got that massive call worth 3 points.. so less of the program throwing!"]Replying To Superglue: "

Look at the above link

Highly dubious it aint"

You got the 45 calls at both ends worth 2 points and the Crowley 'shoulder' worth another 2.

Think few Dubs are a bit sore this morning now they know they aren't as invincible as they thought.

It's definitely one of the best dublin teams for a long time"]Yeah, you have our number.

That's it Superglue

Don't forget to put the lid back on

I think the fumes are getting to you

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 29/08/2016 12:04:11    1907478

Replying To jimbodub:  "[quote=Superglue:  "[quote=jimbodub:  "Can we just put to bed

Look at the above link

Highly dubious it aint"

Look at the above link

Highly dubious it aint"

It's definitely one of the best dublin teams for a long time"]I'm sore alright....prosecco overload ;)

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 29/08/2016 12:13:20    1907487