RTE Pundits - No Respect for Mayo football

Spillane, O Rourke and Brolly IMO were very quick to criticize and dismiss Mayo's chances in next months final right after the Tipp game. Mayo are miles ahead of the majority of counties and in with a huge chance next month v the Dubs or Kerry. They are u21 champions and that team also won a minor title so I have no doubt we will continue to challenge. I just get the impression that this Mayo team are being judged based on much inferior Mayo teams of the past by the RTE pundits. The sky coverage is actually far more balanced and accurate and doesn't have a race to the bottom among the pundits with who came come up with the most clever put-down or sensationalist comment.

The TV rights are up for review again soon. RTE's coverage looks dated and in need of a shakeup. I am 100% against the sky deal but it looks like its here to stay with other possible players in the game like Eir Sports I hope this prompts a significant improvement in RTE's coverage.

unclegerry (Mayo) - Posts: 1222 - 25/08/2016 12:48:30    1905747

7 AI final loses on the trot

Earn it.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20598 - 25/08/2016 13:01:33    1905766

They have no respect for many counties. In our case we will never get respect until we win the Al Ireland.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11225 - 25/08/2016 13:07:41    1905772

I think they were a bit harsh in their comments but I don't think there's a lack of respect there. They're well aware of the Mayo consistency throughout history, especially the last 20 years. I'd say it's more a case of them then being frustrated at the fact Mayo haven't won one of the numerous AI finals over that period. In past years, they've probably bought into the Mayo hype train over-zealously. They can only assess Mayo on what they've seen so far, but I don't believe any of them would rule Mayo out or take the result as a given.

SecretsOfFatima (Kerry) - Posts: 63 - 25/08/2016 13:11:16    1905773

I agree I'm sick of people saying 'Oh that wouldn't do against Kerry or Dublin' since last Sunday for a number of reasons.

Firstly, it implies Kerry are a Juggernaut (WE'RE NOT) secondly that we are way ahead of Mayo (WE'RE NOT)

Mayo have been by far and away the 2nd best team this century, just unfortunate like the rest of us to be faced with a Juggernaut blocking the way

KYTitletown (Kerry) - Posts: 816 - 25/08/2016 13:23:24    1905782

I have to agree with the OP. The panel went to town on Mayo after their semi final win. It was way OTT imo. And last year Joe Brolly was apoplectic with frustration when they lost to us in the drawn semi. I genuinely think they just get so frustrated with Mayo cos the talent is there but they just cant get over the line. Massive chance again this year though.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 25/08/2016 13:40:12    1905792

Replying To jimbodub:  "7 AI final loses on the trot

Earn it."
Totally agree.

Wasn't so long ago we where getting slaughtered for our inability to deliver and falling on our asses.

Mayo are longing for success and a well done from everyone, But like you say Jim, Earn it.

You don't get success for being nearly rans, losing 7 finals in a row including one in particular against Dublin that, to this day, ive no idea how they lost it.

They will get praise and respect if they get over the line. Until then they will continue to have pundits question them

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 25/08/2016 13:40:50    1905794

Replying To KYTitletown:  "I agree I'm sick of people saying 'Oh that wouldn't do against Kerry or Dublin' since last Sunday for a number of reasons.

Firstly, it implies Kerry are a Juggernaut (WE'RE NOT) secondly that we are way ahead of Mayo (WE'RE NOT)

Mayo have been by far and away the 2nd best team this century, just unfortunate like the rest of us to be faced with a Juggernaut blocking the way"
Oh Christ..there's that word again.....

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 25/08/2016 13:54:58    1905805

Replying To yew_tree:  "They have no respect for many counties. In our case we will never get respect until we win the Al Ireland."
They seem to have plenty of respect for teams who are much further away from winning it. E.g. Monaghan, Meath etc.

unclegerry (Mayo) - Posts: 1222 - 25/08/2016 14:01:59    1905808

Replying To KYTitletown:  "I agree I'm sick of people saying 'Oh that wouldn't do against Kerry or Dublin' since last Sunday for a number of reasons.

Mayo have been by far and away the 2nd best team this century, just unfortunate like the rest of us to be faced with a Juggernaut blocking the way"
Century? Ah now...

SecretsOfFatima (Kerry) - Posts: 63 - 25/08/2016 14:06:21    1905814

Replying To unclegerry:  "They seem to have plenty of respect for teams who are much further away from winning it. E.g. Monaghan, Meath etc."
Well Monaghan have been possible punching above their weigh and doing well for the resources they have so not much you can say there. Mayo I would like to think are on a different level.

Meath aren't worth talking about these day's. Maybe their new manager will change things.

Look I get annoyed at the same cliche's about us all the time "bottlers' etc but nothing we can do about it. I believe IF we do win an All Ireland that perception will change.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11225 - 25/08/2016 14:09:03    1905816

Feck them. Grumpy auld whingers, who love complaining about the modern game cos they wish they could still play.

It's time to shut them up.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7324 - 25/08/2016 14:12:38    1905818

YYYYYEEEEEEEERRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12115 - 25/08/2016 14:24:40    1905825

Replying To SecretsOfFatima:  "Century? Ah now..."
Sorry I meant decade, jeez you have a bee in your bonnet

You can keep dreaming about Kerry winning, I will remain grounded in reality

KYTitletown (Kerry) - Posts: 816 - 25/08/2016 14:48:03    1905843

But sure when your measured against the best Mayo's measurement doesn't stand up. What the Issue?

Jonnycee (Longford) - Posts: 185 - 25/08/2016 14:52:26    1905847

Replying To waynoI:  "Totally agree.

Wasn't so long ago we where getting slaughtered for our inability to deliver and falling on our asses.

Mayo are longing for success and a well done from everyone, But like you say Jim, Earn it.

You don't get success for being nearly rans, losing 7 finals in a row including one in particular against Dublin that, to this day, ive no idea how they lost it.

They will get praise and respect if they get over the line. Until then they will continue to have pundits question them"
The Dublin team are the team Mayo possibly could have become they had a good enough team last decade which just fell short on a few occasions

They cherry picked that team and had a mass influx of talent, it's the exact same thing that has happened with Mayo except the lads who were with Mayo last decade seemingly haven't learned from the bad experiences enough or can't seem to understand what's required themselves.

I mean there are certain players you'd prefer to come over into a refreshed team, for Tyrone having Canavan sitting there ready to go was huge. Just like Moran should have been for Mayo but I suppose losing him for the year at that very early stage of the team development shifted the leadership to one of the young guns and I'd suspect that's how it's continued

Seansy48 (Tyrone) - Posts: 237 - 25/08/2016 15:02:27    1905854

Replying To unclegerry:  "Spillane, O Rourke and Brolly IMO were very quick to criticize and dismiss Mayo's chances in next months final right after the Tipp game. Mayo are miles ahead of the majority of counties and in with a huge chance next month v the Dubs or Kerry. They are u21 champions and that team also won a minor title so I have no doubt we will continue to challenge. I just get the impression that this Mayo team are being judged based on much inferior Mayo teams of the past by the RTE pundits. The sky coverage is actually far more balanced and accurate and doesn't have a race to the bottom among the pundits with who came come up with the most clever put-down or sensationalist comment.

The TV rights are up for review again soon. RTE's coverage looks dated and in need of a shakeup. I am 100% against the sky deal but it looks like its here to stay with other possible players in the game like Eir Sports I hope this prompts a significant improvement in RTE's coverage."
not defending RTE because they have shallow analysis but Mayo are regarded similarily as say the Galway hurlers, often are a couple of french fries short of a happy meal when it comes to finals. Winners get respect. On the other hand, Sky has James Horan who wears red and green pajamas id say, but I would agree that the Sky team are more professional and informative and respectful. Up Mayo

maroondiesel (Mayo) - Posts: 1196 - 25/08/2016 15:04:19    1905855

this is the last hurrah for this Mayo team- lets hope they can and will take advantage.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2517 - 25/08/2016 15:08:04    1905857

Replying To unclegerry:  "Spillane, O Rourke and Brolly IMO were very quick to criticize and dismiss Mayo's chances in next months final right after the Tipp game. Mayo are miles ahead of the majority of counties and in with a huge chance next month v the Dubs or Kerry. They are u21 champions and that team also won a minor title so I have no doubt we will continue to challenge. I just get the impression that this Mayo team are being judged based on much inferior Mayo teams of the past by the RTE pundits. The sky coverage is actually far more balanced and accurate and doesn't have a race to the bottom among the pundits with who came come up with the most clever put-down or sensationalist comment.

The TV rights are up for review again soon. RTE's coverage looks dated and in need of a shakeup. I am 100% against the sky deal but it looks like its here to stay with other possible players in the game like Eir Sports I hope this prompts a significant improvement in RTE's coverage."
What ever about bias, Skys coverage is far superior.

club51 (Mayo) - Posts: 395 - 25/08/2016 15:15:14    1905863

Replying To KYTitletown:  "Sorry I meant decade, jeez you have a bee in your bonnet

You can keep dreaming about Kerry winning, I will remain grounded in reality"
Where am I dreaming? I'm well aware we've been poor so far, this hasn't been our decade and that winning on Sunday will be an almighty task - I'm not delusional. You going around on this mad campaign to paint us as the hard done by and awful footballers is far from 'grounded in reality', it's just odd.

SecretsOfFatima (Kerry) - Posts: 63 - 25/08/2016 15:21:56    1905869