Dublin people do not extend the hand Friendship

Tomsmith Cavan here
On virtually all the times that I go away up to Dublin to games I have noticed that the Dublin people appear to either not like the Country Cousin coming up to GAA games or just simply look on us as fare game to make a few Euros on us.It seems that Dublin feel that the GAA belongs to them and that we from the Country should be glad to be afforded the opportunity to visit Croke Park. It is that feeling that I get every time I go. The Dublin supporters are very arrogant and loud, They decide when to come into a game ( ie last minute) and when to leave. If Dublin are getting beat the Dubs are gone before full time. Even lockhard will not look after your car for nothing. All are out the money from us

tomsmith (Cavan) - Posts: 3855 - 17/08/2016 10:19:34    1902123

Replying To tomsmith:  "Tomsmith Cavan here
On virtually all the times that I go away up to Dublin to games I have noticed that the Dublin people appear to either not like the Country Cousin coming up to GAA games or just simply look on us as fare game to make a few Euros on us.It seems that Dublin feel that the GAA belongs to them and that we from the Country should be glad to be afforded the opportunity to visit Croke Park. It is that feeling that I get every time I go. The Dublin supporters are very arrogant and loud, They decide when to come into a game ( ie last minute) and when to leave. If Dublin are getting beat the Dubs are gone before full time. Even lockhard will not look after your car for nothing. All are out the money from us"
Liamwalkinstown here
Tom, i am hurt and let down by such comments
You were always such a decent old skin
Where did this come from!
Did u stay with the master over the weekend for a few sips of porter?
Did you put you hand in your pocket atall, you ol Cavan rogue you!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 17/08/2016 10:32:32    1902132

Admin. . .come on t'f**k!

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5010 - 17/08/2016 10:38:00    1902138

On virtually all the times that I go away up to Dublin to games I have noticed that the Dublin people appear to either not like the Country Cousin coming up to GAA games or just simply look on us as fare game to make a few Euros on us.It seems that Dublin feel that the GAA belongs to them and that we from the Country should be glad to be afforded the opportunity to visit Croke Park. It is that feeling that I get every time I go. The Dublin supporters are very arrogant and loud, They decide when to come into a game ( ie last minute) and when to leave. If Dublin are getting beat the Dubs are gone before full time. Even lockhard will not look after your car for nothing. All are out the money from us"
Sure the Jackeens never liked the Irish

liner (Mayo) - Posts: 756 - 17/08/2016 10:41:23    1902141

Cavan man whinging about having to hand over money....

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 17/08/2016 10:41:53    1902142

http://www.independent.ie/life/travel/travel-news/cad-mle-filte-dublin-voted-second-friendliest-city-in-the-world-31457386.html

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 17/08/2016 10:45:09    1902145

Ah Jesus Admin, seriously? You let this tripe through?! Hilarious!

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 17/08/2016 10:45:58    1902147

http://www.ireland.com/en-us/ireland-stories/people-and-culture/destinations/republic-of-ireland/dublin/dublin-city/articles/have-a-pint-on-the-city/

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 17/08/2016 10:46:41    1902148

http://www.irishtimes.com/life-and-style/travel/dublin-3rd-most-friendly-city-in-the-world-1.2758189

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 17/08/2016 10:47:33    1902150

A Cavan man complaining about having to spend money in Dublin no surprise .

Most people who meet true Dublin fans especially at league games have nothing but good things to say about them

dubshurling7 (Dublin) - Posts: 1017 - 17/08/2016 10:51:54    1902153

Is this some sort of a wind up or are you not feeling loved at home? .Oh and when was the last time Dublin were loosing so bad that they left early.

dubarra (Wicklow) - Posts: 541 - 17/08/2016 10:51:58    1902154

That is simply one of the most cringe-worthy things I have ever seen written here.

And THATS saying something.

Jaden (Dublin) - Posts: 139 - 17/08/2016 10:52:17    1902155

Replying To liner:  "Sure the Jackeens never liked the Irish"
Nazi!!

;)

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 17/08/2016 10:56:02    1902158

i know tom a long time on here and without a doubt, the last line for me, re paying lockhards 100% says to me this post is a wind up playing on the cavan stereotype :)
Tom = HS Legend!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 17/08/2016 11:08:16    1902168

Dublin fans like most are grand...the one's you meet in real life that is. Funny story though my sister's were on the Hill for the Mayo Tyrone game....they got some horrid abuse from a few Dublin fans near them including a woman...Enda Kenny, culchies, sheep...nobody was sparred :)
They turned into Tyrone fans....yet once the Dublin game started Donegal were nothing but a shower of Northern so and so's....;)

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 17/08/2016 11:09:22    1902170

MedwayIrish here:

So the "exclusive" HS meet you were floating a few months ago isn't going to be taking place in Dublin then Tom?

MedwayIrish (Wexford) - Posts: 2324 - 17/08/2016 11:12:25    1902174

Tom never stop posting. It's crazy the amount of people that fall for this craic, it makes for great reading.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 17/08/2016 11:16:46    1902180

Tomsmith Cavan here
''On virtually all the times that I go away up to Dublin to games I have noticed that the Dublin people appear to either not like the Country Cousin coming up to GAA games or just simply look on us as fare game to make a few Euros on us.It seems that Dublin feel that the GAA belongs to them and that we from the Country should be glad to be afforded the opportunity to visit Croke Park. It is that feeling that I get every time I go. The Dublin supporters are very arrogant and loud, They decide when to come into a game ( ie last minute) and when to leave. If Dublin are getting beat the Dubs are gone before full time. Even lockhard will not look after your car for nothing. All are out the money from us''

I despair when I read stuff like this. 'If Dublin are getting beat the Dubs are gone before full time. 'This is obviously a crock of sh 1 t. The Dubs have been beaten twice in championship football since 2011. The first time was in 2012 -a defeat to Mayo. That match went to the wire...it was a cliffhanger...nobody left early I can assure you. Were you there at all???? 2014 was a different affair. I was on the Hill and I saw a few blue jerseys leaving but certainly no more than other county fans whose team are being beaten well. This is not a trait exclusive to Dublin fans.

Are your comments aimed at Dublin people in general or at Dublin GAA fans? Are you not a bit guilty of making gross generalizations. Are you saying Dublin people are essentially unlikeable characters.. Many Dubs have parents who are from the country and there are closer ties than you'd imagine. Many posters on this website have often commented on the sportsmanship of Dublin fans, particularly in defeat. Dub fans who have travelled to follow our hurlers will tell you about the sneering comments made by our country cousins about the perceived defects in Dublin hurlers but they intelligent enough to know that you can't base generalizations about the inhabitants of a whole county on the behaviour of a few.
With regards to being 'loud' . Yes, they cheer on their team....is that an offense now?? Should we have signs in Croke Park tell us to refrain from cheering. If Cavan ever do make it to final stages of a Championship how will you respond if someone tips you on the shoulder and tells you you are being 'loud' ???
Your comment about 'lockhard' is ridiculous. Perhaps you came down expecting the locals to mind your car for nothing. I could start making gross generaliaztions about Cavan people here but that would be stupid.
Your post is full of vague generalizations and stereotypes. Perhaps the poster who bemoaned the deteriorating standards of debate in here has a point.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 17/08/2016 11:18:20    1902182

Not sure if this was a windup but Ill comment like it was genuine.
Dublin is a big place with alot of people. some are nice and some are not. some are real supporters and some arent.

In my years of supporting donegal I have came across every variety of person from all different counties.
Im sure most dublin fans would agree that alot of your supporters arent real gaa people and wouldnt travel etc but when ye play away from home ye still bring a fair amount of support.
Against Donegal a few weeks ago I encountered both sides of the Dublin fanbase. When Dublin got the goal to finally sink any hopes of a comeback there were Dubs beside me that weren't celebrating. Instead they were shouting abuse at Donegal supporters. I didnt like that. What I did like was some other Dublin fans stopping celebrating to tell their own county men to cop on.

So to summarise: Yes some Dubs think they own Croke park and that football is only played there and would never watch an away game or a club match but majority of Dublin supporters are true gaels and enjoy the occasion and the craic with the other supporters.

dstuction (Donegal) - Posts: 1209 - 17/08/2016 11:28:04    1902188

Dublin continually voted in the top 3 most friendliest cities in the world... from a variety of different sources, be they published in Europe / Unite States etc. etc.

We must just have something against Cavan people!

Or

Perhaps some people are born and bred to have chips on their shoulders, and their attitude is geared towards looking for the negative as a way to reinforce their prejudices

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 17/08/2016 11:30:08    1902189