Eamon McGee - True Gael!

It might be a bit much for a Gaelic football forum to understand Eamon's passage from Lord of the Rings he posted on twitter and i'm not entirely sure myself of how exactly he's interpreted it but it hadn't been mentioned so I thought I might have a go!

In the passage Aragorn is talking to Arwen who is the love of his life and he's essentially saying goodbye forever. Arwen Vanimelda Namarie means 'Arwen beautiful-beloved-elven-fair, farewell' I'm thinking that's Eamon saying goodbye to the game he loves or the county he loves to play for.

The passage continues saying Here is the heart of Elvendom on earth,' he said, `and here my heart dwells ever. The passage then ends saying he left the hill of Cerin Amroth and came there never again as a living man."

To me that's Eamon saying he's leaving Croke Park (the heart of the G.A.A on earth) though his heart will remain there.

He left the hill of Cerin Amroth (Croke Park) and came there never again as a living man (Active player)

I could be completely wrong but this way it's a true love letter to Gaelic football which I think shows the level of passion he had for the game and how much it meant to him.

In the current climate of bashing the game at every turn not enough attention is paid to things like this!

Seansy48 (Tyrone) - Posts: 237 - 08/08/2016 22:00:41    1898394

Yeh obviously the lad has the love of literature and story in his heart. Fair play to him and good luck to him and the other Tir Chonail lads that are sayin goodbye.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 08/08/2016 22:16:28    1898416

Eamon is one of those players that is a real character of the game - his own county men will regard him as a legend many opposing fans will despise him - like a Galvin or Ricey or McMahon -
Also one of the last of the old regime whose idea of letting off steam could last to midweek
Also a lot deeper than you would expect if you follow him on Twitter and follow his views on everything from gay marriage to his science journal subscription - there were only two brief moments of joy for Donegal last Saturday - the Mchugh goal and brogan getting caught in a McGee brother sandwich - highlight of his career will be the brilliant interception in 2012 that led to Murphys goal and 3 days in Downings after the 2013 Ulster final

Thanks for the memories !!

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 08/08/2016 22:31:06    1898438

Replying To Seansy48:  "It might be a bit much for a Gaelic football forum to understand Eamon's passage from Lord of the Rings he posted on twitter and i'm not entirely sure myself of how exactly he's interpreted it but it hadn't been mentioned so I thought I might have a go!

In the passage Aragorn is talking to Arwen who is the love of his life and he's essentially saying goodbye forever. Arwen Vanimelda Namarie means 'Arwen beautiful-beloved-elven-fair, farewell' I'm thinking that's Eamon saying goodbye to the game he loves or the county he loves to play for.

The passage continues saying Here is the heart of Elvendom on earth,' he said, `and here my heart dwells ever. The passage then ends saying he left the hill of Cerin Amroth and came there never again as a living man."

To me that's Eamon saying he's leaving Croke Park (the heart of the G.A.A on earth) though his heart will remain there.

He left the hill of Cerin Amroth (Croke Park) and came there never again as a living man (Active player)

I could be completely wrong but this way it's a true love letter to Gaelic football which I think shows the level of passion he had for the game and how much it meant to him.

In the current climate of bashing the game at every turn not enough attention is paid to things like this!"
Yes I was trying to translate it myself. I was thinking along same lines as that though maybe the hill refers to Donegal? As in the hills. Not sure. Still in a state of shock that Eamon has retired at a relatively young age even though the media have being trying to convince us it was coming over the last 2 years. Great player for Donegal and like Colm Anthony another Donegal legend. I have to say feel a genuine sense of sorrow tonight.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2779 - 08/08/2016 23:08:39    1898471

Replying To Seansy48:  "It might be a bit much for a Gaelic football forum to understand Eamon's passage from Lord of the Rings he posted on twitter and i'm not entirely sure myself of how exactly he's interpreted it but it hadn't been mentioned so I thought I might have a go!

In the current climate of bashing the game at every turn not enough attention is paid to things like this!"
A great Donegal Gael among many in a fine county.

IrishGael3 (USA) - Posts: 1092 - 08/08/2016 23:44:33    1898492

Agree with ruanua , always saw him as a much more complex character than the raw talent we see on the pitch,
Great story of being coaxed out of retirement by JMcG resulting in an AI and three Ulster medals .
Had the presence of mind to gently float a pass for McHugh's goal on Saturday when many corner backs would have blasted the ball,
His loss will be cushioned somewhat by his young club mate capable of filling that position

Curlew66 (Roscommon) - Posts: 504 - 09/08/2016 00:34:49    1898513

Said I wouldn't post on this forum again , but felt I had to say that as happy as I was with a Dubs victory on Saturday , seeing some great warriors for Donegal retire I'm hoping that this great county does not slip back , I don't think they will with some exceptional footballers especially from Kilcar . Also i thought Rory was very magnanimous in defeat , I genuinely wish Donegal the best for the future , have some very close Donegal friends.
But on topic , Eamonn mc Gee you were a brilliant defender . Enjoy your retirement you done your county proud.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 09/08/2016 01:04:14    1898516

Great player and will be missed. He was still doing a job for us but I think everyone can understand why he is deciding to hang up the boots.

In Rory Kavanagh's book he says that Eamon thought about leaving if they won the AI in 2014. they didn't so he kept going in search of another Celtic Cross.
With the recent addition of his new baby daughter (Daisy) it was always likely he would go.

As a poster mentioned above people should follow this guy on twitter. He is very funny at times but also quiet insightful on some more important issues.

dstuction (Donegal) - Posts: 1209 - 09/08/2016 07:51:19    1898542

A good story about McGee here. seems a bit of a character

http://www.balls.ie/gaa/eamon-mcgee-story-off-the-ball/305048

Gael85 (Dublin) - Posts: 1433 - 09/08/2016 10:13:41    1898591

How the media presented McGee - and how he really is, i.e. his twitter account are staggering.

He's been some servant for Donegal - I'd say him and the brother have influenced a serious amount of young lads in Donegal we haven't heard of yet to come through the ranks.

I've always liked both McGee's, they hit hard and get it back and then it's over at the whistle, I admire that type of player - I hope he enjoys intercounty retirement, saying that, I'm sure Eamon knows how to enjoy himself alright as mentioned above!!

GetOverTheBar (Tyrone) - Posts: 1388 - 09/08/2016 10:23:12    1898605

A great character in these times of banal clichés.
But also a serious operator when it was time for business. I would have had him down as MOTM in the 2012 final. He was a tough operator, who often played on the edge but people underrated his skill. Two examples of this came against Mayo in league football. On one occasion he blasted a last minute goal from about 30 yards out to win us a league tie. You can get it on YouTube. He's fond of recalling that goal over a pint!
I also remember the 2007 League final when he scored a point off his weaker left foot from a fair old distance out.

He has a unique take on things be it in football or life in general. I would say he is destined for an analysis role and if he ever penned a book it would be quite an interesting read!

Donegal's loss will be Gaoth Dobhair's gain. They have an exciting crop of young players coming through. I'm sure the old warrior will still be hard at it at club level for another few years yet.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9115 - 09/08/2016 10:49:29    1898628

Himself and Anthony Moyles have an entertaining twitter feud. I like Moyles but McGee wins hands down.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12115 - 09/08/2016 11:03:39    1898640

Replying To Lockjaw:  "A great character in these times of banal clichés.
But also a serious operator when it was time for business. I would have had him down as MOTM in the 2012 final. He was a tough operator, who often played on the edge but people underrated his skill. Two examples of this came against Mayo in league football. On one occasion he blasted a last minute goal from about 30 yards out to win us a league tie. You can get it on YouTube. He's fond of recalling that goal over a pint!
I also remember the 2007 League final when he scored a point off his weaker left foot from a fair old distance out.

He has a unique take on things be it in football or life in general. I would say he is destined for an analysis role and if he ever penned a book it would be quite an interesting read!

Donegal's loss will be Gaoth Dobhair's gain. They have an exciting crop of young players coming through. I'm sure the old warrior will still be hard at it at club level for another few years yet."
He lives in Letterkenny now so I'm not sure about that. I heard Devenney on the radio trying to recruit him for Eunans.

benjyyy (Donegal) - Posts: 1422 - 09/08/2016 11:44:33    1898674

Great lad. I think that he might not have been our best ever defender, but he was a character and obviously lifted the spirits of the rest of the team, which is just as important. He had a mighty game v dublin in 2014. He had a great sesaon this year too, his most consistent if you look at all our championship games (all 6, so there is enough scope for consistency there).

Best wishes and good luck with the club scene.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 09/08/2016 11:56:58    1898690

Replying To benjyyy:  "He lives in Letterkenny now so I'm not sure about that. I heard Devenney on the radio trying to recruit him for Eunans."
Awww now! I would be surpsrised in the extreme if he transferred from the wild west to Eunans!! There would be uproar!

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9115 - 09/08/2016 12:42:03    1898734

Replying To AthCliath:  "Said I wouldn't post on this forum again , but felt I had to say that as happy as I was with a Dubs victory on Saturday , seeing some great warriors for Donegal retire I'm hoping that this great county does not slip back , I don't think they will with some exceptional footballers especially from Kilcar . Also i thought Rory was very magnanimous in defeat , I genuinely wish Donegal the best for the future , have some very close Donegal friends.
But on topic , Eamonn mc Gee you were a brilliant defender . Enjoy your retirement you done your county proud."
Fair play to you AthCliath and well done on Sat night Good luck now on your journey towards TWO IN A ROW.
A lot of people IMO don't realise how good Dublin are
On the Donegal forum a guy says he met one of the players after the game , the Donegal player stated how good Dublin were , how they tried to close them down and how hard it was to get to them and even when down to 13 men still were unable to close them down.
I was in CP one Monday a few years ago , Kerry ran a mock that day and won by a cricket score --- I think it will be the reverse in the semi final -- Dublin maybe by eight to ten points.
Also must wish Eamonnwell and thanks for the great memories, I remember that great point in Croke park , his display in the final of2012 and all he gave to Donegal. Thanks Eamonn

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 09/08/2016 21:37:44    1899122