Andy Moran appreciation thread

He has been excellent in every game i have seen him play this year in the championship. Always seems to make the right decision and runs himself into the ground for Mayo. He has been around a long time but is still putting in serious performances. It's unlikely he will get an all star even though for me has been one of the best players this summer.

He seems to be a genuinely nice guy too. Going over to Cavanagh after he was substituted on Saturday was a real class act. He also made sure to seek him out after the game too.

Well done Andy, you are a proper class act and I hope you get the all star your performances have deserved.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 08/08/2016 15:53:24    1898154

I'm sure he's a nice bloke but can't agree with you on his form so far in the championship. He had a decent game on Saturday, probably his best of the championship, but I didn't think it was anything amazing or even man of the match level stuff. He came on as a sub against Fermanagh and kicked a number of shots short or wide from very score-able positions. He was fairly ineffective against Kildare too, didn't score and only got on the end of a score or two against Westmeath. These aren't the top teams he was playing against and he struggled to get on the scoreboard like any good 14 should. I'm not knocking the guy but I don't think he's anywhere close to all-star material.
He does make up for that somewhat with his constant running off the ball and he plays for the team, for that I wouldn't question him at all. But I don't know if I'd be setting up an appreciation thread on the back of his performances for this season.

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 08/08/2016 16:26:41    1898169

Gotmilk are you having a competition with yourself to see how many Mayo related posts you can open. If we get to the final it will be a fun 6 weeks for you.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11230 - 08/08/2016 16:36:58    1898180

Replying To keithlemon:  "I'm sure he's a nice bloke but can't agree with you on his form so far in the championship. He had a decent game on Saturday, probably his best of the championship, but I didn't think it was anything amazing or even man of the match level stuff. He came on as a sub against Fermanagh and kicked a number of shots short or wide from very score-able positions. He was fairly ineffective against Kildare too, didn't score and only got on the end of a score or two against Westmeath. These aren't the top teams he was playing against and he struggled to get on the scoreboard like any good 14 should. I'm not knocking the guy but I don't think he's anywhere close to all-star material.
He does make up for that somewhat with his constant running off the ball and he plays for the team, for that I wouldn't question him at all. But I don't know if I'd be setting up an appreciation thread on the back of his performances for this season."
He's the point of our attack. Winning dirty ball and laying it off to a team-mate or intelligently making space for team-mates. One of our best team players. To be honest I thought he'd be retired by now, hasn't got the legs for a full game. But Rochford has rejuvenated him and Dillon too. Just because he's not prominent on the scoreboard doesn't mean he hasn't had a great game.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7344 - 08/08/2016 16:41:40    1898186

A proper leader who almost always makes a difference for Mayo when he comes on.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 08/08/2016 16:48:17    1898195

Like I said GreenandRed, I think he gives an honest effort, he puts the hard work in. But would you say he's had a great season so far?

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 08/08/2016 16:56:18    1898197

Replying To keithlemon:  "I'm sure he's a nice bloke but can't agree with you on his form so far in the championship. He had a decent game on Saturday, probably his best of the championship, but I didn't think it was anything amazing or even man of the match level stuff. He came on as a sub against Fermanagh and kicked a number of shots short or wide from very score-able positions. He was fairly ineffective against Kildare too, didn't score and only got on the end of a score or two against Westmeath. These aren't the top teams he was playing against and he struggled to get on the scoreboard like any good 14 should. I'm not knocking the guy but I don't think he's anywhere close to all-star material.
He does make up for that somewhat with his constant running off the ball and he plays for the team, for that I wouldn't question him at all. But I don't know if I'd be setting up an appreciation thread on the back of his performances for this season."
I thought he was exceptional against Kildare. He's not about playing flashy football but he is very intelligent on the ball. He makes the right decision time after time.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 08/08/2016 17:02:17    1898199

Replying To gotmilk:  "I thought he was exceptional against Kildare. He's not about playing flashy football but he is very intelligent on the ball. He makes the right decision time after time."
Except when he regularly balloons the ball miles wide from impossible angles or goes for goal himself against Dublin last year when a square pass was a guaranteed goal into an empty net.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12118 - 08/08/2016 17:11:58    1898206

I had a work colleague say the following:

"You can gauge where Mayo are at by whether Andy Moran starts or not".

what he was saying was that Mayo at the top of their game would have no place for Moran, but when below par (as most agree they have been) need him there.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 08/08/2016 17:42:28    1898232

A. He has an all star.

B. I doubt he cares about getting another one and only has one prize in mind.

DoireCityFC (Derry) - Posts: 1580 - 08/08/2016 18:07:23    1898243

Replying To Breffni39:  "Except when he regularly balloons the ball miles wide from impossible angles or goes for goal himself against Dublin last year when a square pass was a guaranteed goal into an empty net."
I'm just basing it on this year breff

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 08/08/2016 18:20:00    1898256

Replying To keithlemon:  "Like I said GreenandRed, I think he gives an honest effort, he puts the hard work in. But would you say he's had a great season so far?"
No. You're right there. He's had a good season for me though based on the fact that I thought he would be retired by now. But we definitely benefit from his experience and cuteness.. Lee Keegan is the only Mayo player, for me, that's been very good this season.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7344 - 08/08/2016 19:05:27    1898290

Fair play to him I honestly didn't think he'd get a kick off that Tyrone defence but I was so wrong he was brilliant, again when they brought him back into the team I thought it was a backward step again I was wrong, he's been a great player not the same since he done his knee he lost a yard but he's so intelligent now and still a massive player for mayo and what a servant for his county. He won't walk til they win Sam and I don't blame him he'd be sick if they won it without him but if they do him and Dillon will be gone in a flash after achieving the big one.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 08/08/2016 19:07:50    1898292

Replying To cavanman47:  "I had a work colleague say the following:

"You can gauge where Mayo are at by whether Andy Moran starts or not".

what he was saying was that Mayo at the top of their game would have no place for Moran, but when below par (as most agree they have been) need him there."
Was that this year he said that ? It was a fair statement the past few years, it looks like Andy's career was coming to a close, only good enough to be a sub. But Rochford is getting more out of him than could be expected.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7344 - 08/08/2016 19:09:46    1898293

Strange thtead. Class player but far from brilliant this year. Very far

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 08/08/2016 19:44:24    1898306

Replying To Breffni39:  "Except when he regularly balloons the ball miles wide from impossible angles or goes for goal himself against Dublin last year when a square pass was a guaranteed goal into an empty net."
Incorrect - Has been one of Mayos best forward over the years and this year he has played a very important part winning good ball in the danger zone and laying it off-the guy who makes the score is as good or sometimes better than the guy who scores. The manager knows that as well-you cannot beat experience in a tight game and Tyrone is a good example of that with some of their young forwards taking incorrect decisions

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 08/08/2016 19:58:46    1898310

The Galway defeat was a write off for every player and Andy was very wasteful when he came on against Fermanagh.

However I think he's been outstanding since then. He now seems to be the fulcrum of our attack. Evan Regan, DOC & COC have put up impressive personal tallies in our last 3 games and that is due in a large part to Andy. Even against a claustrophobic Tyrone defense he managed a point and 2 or 3 assists.

As for a potential all star we all know it's primarily based on the remaining games. A win and good a personal showing against Tipp will put him right in contention.

MayoDan (Mayo) - Posts: 420 - 09/08/2016 02:17:31    1898530

I think he's playing a blinder this year for Mayo.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 09/08/2016 09:55:28    1898575

I really think he has been excellent this year. Against Kildare he produced an outstanding performance. He's excellent at creating space for others and he really does seem to be taking the right option time after time.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 09/08/2016 10:06:26    1898581

Great player having a great season. Such a key player for Mayo.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 09/08/2016 10:14:25    1898593