Kerry not getting their fair share of frees?

Was in at Kerry and Clare game at weekend. Kerry couldn't buy a free at all. Ridicilous stuff Donaghy got no protection from refeee. This has happened a lot lately.

Kerry are the purists of game and are simply been not allowed to play football with all the cynical tactics.

no penalty in All Ireland final last year/league final
2011 referee gave everything to Dublin

luckily Cormac Reilly ref game fair and square in 2014 and begruders torin into Kerry after that

Mullerm (Cork) - Posts: 87 - 04/08/2016 16:10:52    1895687

You've a bit of a thing for Kerry haven't you? Are you sure you're from Corkl?

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 04/08/2016 16:45:38    1895722

Replying To Mullerm:  "Was in at Kerry and Clare game at weekend. Kerry couldn't buy a free at all. Ridicilous stuff Donaghy got no protection from refeee. This has happened a lot lately.

Kerry are the purists of game and are simply been not allowed to play football with all the cynical tactics.

luckily Cormac Reilly ref game fair and square in 2014 and begruders torin into Kerry after that"
I'd say it evens out. People will laugh at this but I actually agree that Donaghy gets nothing most of the time when there is often 2-3 hanging off him holding his jersey and dragging him all over the place. He gives as good as he gets though.

That 2011 final still pi**es me off. The Dubs were kept in the game with some of the handiest frees you'll ever see and Brennan should have been sent off at least twice, one particular foul on Declan was savage. On the flip side we were gifted a win over Mayo in 2014 which we hardly deserved. It was pure robbery. That's GAA for you and it's not nice that referees are having such a big impact on games but there you go.

On the whole I'd say we get plenty from refs and have no reason to complain any more than anybody else.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 04/08/2016 18:04:25    1895781

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "I'd say it evens out. People will laugh at this but I actually agree that Donaghy gets nothing most of the time when there is often 2-3 hanging off him holding his jersey and dragging him all over the place. He gives as good as he gets though.

That 2011 final still pi**es me off. The Dubs were kept in the game with some of the handiest frees you'll ever see and Brennan should have been sent off at least twice, one particular foul on Declan was savage. On the flip side we were gifted a win over Mayo in 2014 which we hardly deserved. It was pure robbery. That's GAA for you and it's not nice that referees are having such a big impact on games but there you go.

On the whole I'd say we get plenty from refs and have no reason to complain any more than anybody else."
In fairness joe mc was crafty that day in 2011 , he gave us the same amount of frees as Dublin but it was where he gave the frees, dublins in close to goals Kerry's 50 yards out the wings.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 04/08/2016 19:42:57    1895842

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "In fairness joe mc was crafty that day in 2011 , he gave us the same amount of frees as Dublin but it was where he gave the frees, dublins in close to goals Kerry's 50 yards out the wings."
It was 5 yrs ago lad,let it go, also think you need to watch the match again if you think kerrys frees where 50 yards out to the wings.

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 04/08/2016 21:00:49    1895879

Replying To superbluedub:  "It was 5 yrs ago lad,let it go, also think you need to watch the match again if you think kerrys frees where 50 yards out to the wings."
Once was enough to watch it lad.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 04/08/2016 21:12:14    1895888

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Once was enough to watch it lad."
I can understand that lol....

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 04/08/2016 21:42:07    1895903

Once was enough to watch it lad.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - 04/08/2016 21:12:14

You should probably watch it again to see all your weren't at the "wings"....watch it right till the final whistle ;)

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 04/08/2016 21:58:10    1895913

Replying To Dubsfan28:  "Once was enough to watch it lad.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - 04/08/2016 21:12:14

You should probably watch it again to see all your weren't at the "wings"....watch it right till the final whistle ;)"
What's the betting the same guy will be involved when we play ye at the end of the month?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 04/08/2016 22:10:09    1895919

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "In fairness joe mc was crafty that day in 2011 , he gave us the same amount of frees as Dublin but it was where he gave the frees, dublins in close to goals Kerry's 50 yards out the wings."
Waawaawaaa.

Both sides got some calls that day. Get Brennan could've gotten the line. As could Declan for his stay elbow on Kevin Nolan.

The worst call on the day was Dublin only getting a 14 yard free for a pick up in the small square. Peno all day long.

It's sad that so many Kerry posters still cry about that day instead of taking their beating. They've won so much it's sad to see them being so bitter and making things up by saying it was all the referee's fault.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 04/08/2016 22:38:19    1895936

Replying To Mullerm:  "Was in at Kerry and Clare game at weekend. Kerry couldn't buy a free at all. Ridicilous stuff Donaghy got no protection from refeee. This has happened a lot lately.

luckily Cormac Reilly ref game fair and square in 2014 and begruders torin into Kerry after that"
Donaghy shouldn'th are been on the pitch to worry about it

Terrorist (Donegal) - Posts: 91 - 04/08/2016 23:02:07    1895945

The late free against us in '11 didn't look like a foul. It's the way the cookie crumbles against a team that neglected their youth in the 00's. We speak not of it. To the victors goes the spoils.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7840 - 04/08/2016 23:07:22    1895948

Again the solution to this appalling situation is to appoint Cormac Reilly to officiate at all games involving Kingdom

liner (Mayo) - Posts: 756 - 04/08/2016 23:35:19    1895959

Maybe referees are still trying to even the score after Cormac Reilly handed Kerry the 2014 semi?

MayoDan (Mayo) - Posts: 420 - 04/08/2016 23:43:40    1895963

Replying To MesAmis:  "Waawaawaaa.

Both sides got some calls that day. Get Brennan could've gotten the line. As could Declan for his stay elbow on Kevin Nolan.

The worst call on the day was Dublin only getting a 14 yard free for a pick up in the small square. Peno all day long.

It's sad that so many Kerry posters still cry about that day instead of taking their beating. They've won so much it's sad to see them being so bitter and making things up by saying it was all the referee's fault."
I'm fully convinced the Shergar and the Irish Crown Jewles were in the Dublin dressing room after that match in 2011.

But sure didn't we have to give the poor craters a few titles to keep them interested ;D

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 05/08/2016 00:26:23    1895980

Replying To MesAmis:  "Waawaawaaa.

It's sad that so many Kerry posters still cry about that day instead of taking their beating. They've won so much it's sad to see them being so bitter and making things up by saying it was all the referee's fault."
Ah here there's nobody crying, some days it falls your way and some days it doesn't. If we'd a different ref that day Kerry would have been out of sight before the goal that turned the game IMO, we didn't, they weren't and Dublin won the day. That is my view and it's not crying or moaning, don't expect anybody else to agree and don't care if they do or don't. Fair play to them and if it was the other way around I'd be delighted to take the win.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 05/08/2016 01:34:27    1895996

The bitterness of Kerry over 2011 I love. They had the match won, and started to play side to side football and then a goal and 2 points from play changed the game for Dublin.

So bitter they have to blame the ref, still haven't got it into their heads that for the last 5 years Dublin have been the better team. Have Kerry mates saying the sending off won Dublin the League Final. Love hearing it because when you show a 'lack of respect to a team' you do not threat them as seriously as a team you respect.

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 05/08/2016 07:22:40    1896002

Replying To witnof:  "The bitterness of Kerry over 2011 I love. They had the match won, and started to play side to side football and then a goal and 2 points from play changed the game for Dublin.

So bitter they have to blame the ref, still haven't got it into their heads that for the last 5 years Dublin have been the better team. Have Kerry mates saying the sending off won Dublin the League Final. Love hearing it because when you show a 'lack of respect to a team' you do not threat them as seriously as a team you respect."
Discussing a ref after a big game is as natural as discussing the weather, especially a game with such high stakes decided by a single score. Referees can and do influence the outcome of games all the time and the winning side rarely want to discuss it and I don't blame them. Btw you don't have to remind us Kerry folk that Dublin have been the better team over the past five years. It's blatantly obvious and nobody is claiming otherwise. 2011 was a toss of a coin but there is clear day between the teams since. I wouldn't hold out much hope of coming through a semi with ye this year either if we end up meeting. That's life, and we can take a fair beating no problem.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 05/08/2016 09:08:16    1896016

Replying To TheHermit:  "I'm fully convinced the Shergar and the Irish Crown Jewles were in the Dublin dressing room after that match in 2011.

But sure didn't we have to give the poor craters a few titles to keep them interested ;D"
yea were not good enough to win them few titles plain and simple.

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 05/08/2016 09:09:23    1896017

Replying To legendzxix:  "The late free against us in '11 didn't look like a foul. It's the way the cookie crumbles against a team that neglected their youth in the 00's. We speak not of it. To the victors goes the spoils."
you lot speak of nothing else lol...

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 05/08/2016 09:11:29    1896019