Cynical Munster

Watching the Kerry v Clare game here and I am shocked at the number of runners Kerry are taking out of the ball. Just before Sean Collins miss another Clare player was taken out just outside the 45, there are a few more instances, I think it was Moran who took someone out when the game was 3 a piece. Cork yesterday were at the same craic against Donegal. Am I imagining these things or is anyone else seeing it?

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 31/07/2016 14:29:39    1892787

Replying To gotmilk:  "Watching the Kerry v Clare game here and I am shocked at the number of runners Kerry are taking out of the ball. Just before Sean Collins miss another Clare player was taken out just outside the 45, there are a few more instances, I think it was Moran who took someone out when the game was 3 a piece. Cork yesterday were at the same craic against Donegal. Am I imagining these things or is anyone else seeing it?"
Imagining it. That kinda stuff doesnt happen south of the border

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 31/07/2016 14:38:13    1892802

Replying To gotmilk:  "Watching the Kerry v Clare game here and I am shocked at the number of runners Kerry are taking out of the ball. Just before Sean Collins miss another Clare player was taken out just outside the 45, there are a few more instances, I think it was Moran who took someone out when the game was 3 a piece. Cork yesterday were at the same craic against Donegal. Am I imagining these things or is anyone else seeing it?"
There is nothing new here. In the All Ireland final of 2014, Kerry adopted the Same tactic of constantly fouling our runners, high tackles, pulls and drags. They nearly took the head of Leo McLoone at one stage in that game! They got away with it that day. We didn't olay well enough that day and Kerry were the best team, no issue on that. But Kerry's fouling under Fitzmaurice aimed at teams with a running game is blatant.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1319 - 31/07/2016 14:38:59    1892803

Kerry have been at this craic for a long time.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 31/07/2016 14:52:17    1892810

Just angels playing the game in Ulster these days? :-)

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 31/07/2016 15:43:02    1892855

Replying To woops:  "Just angels playing the game in Ulster these days? :-)"
What has that to do with anything? Don't deflect from the original post but look at what is being stated in it. There is a degree of that in ulster football, no one has ever tried to claim there wasn't.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 31/07/2016 16:10:51    1892873

Replying To gotmilk:  "What has that to do with anything? Don't deflect from the original post but look at what is being stated in it. There is a degree of that in ulster football, no one has ever tried to claim there wasn't."
There's a "degree" of it in all teams, and the bigger and more successful the team, the larger the degree. They call it 'pushing the rules to the limit'. The problem is, that if referees were to enforce the rules properly you would be down to 10 aside matches before half-time and everyone would be vilifying the ref for 'ruining the spectacle of the game'.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2446 - 31/07/2016 17:02:36    1892890

Where the Munster begrudgers watching the total football on show from Tipperary, Galway couldn't come close to them

Magnificent Munster more like (well Kerry weren't)

KYTitletown (Kerry) - Posts: 816 - 31/07/2016 18:10:30    1892985

How do you mean "is anyone else seeing it"? Of course they bloody well are.
I have personally not come across anyone on this forum who has ever said that Munster teams never engage in cynical play, and if anyone has said that (which I assume they did otherwise you wouldnt have created this thread) theyre not worth bothering with.
For the record could you name the posters who claimed that Munster teams dont engage in cynical play?

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 31/07/2016 19:14:49    1893062

Replying To joncarter:  "How do you mean "is anyone else seeing it"? Of course they bloody well are.
I have personally not come across anyone on this forum who has ever said that Munster teams never engage in cynical play, and if anyone has said that (which I assume they did otherwise you wouldnt have created this thread) theyre not worth bothering with.
For the record could you name the posters who claimed that Munster teams dont engage in cynical play?"
You really don't like me.

Now perhaps you would like to take a step back an reread my post. At what point did in my opening post did i say that people on this forum have stated that they didn't engage in cynical football? However the general consensus and thought among posters and the wider media is that Munster football is played in the right way. Taking runners out of it off the ball is not playing football the right way.

Considering that at no point during the Kerry or cork game yesterday did any of the commentators point out this cynical play I would have thought it was an appropriate question to ask the other posters. Considering that these experts were not pointing it out it's not illogical to assume i was seeing something that no one else was.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 31/07/2016 20:26:09    1893108

Fair enough but i read from your op that you people on this forum were saying that Munster teams never engage in cynical play.
You asked "am i the only one seeing this" which i thought implied that people were saying that Munster teams dont do this type of thing.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 31/07/2016 20:33:29    1893118

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "There's a "degree" of it in all teams, and the bigger and more successful the team, the larger the degree. They call it 'pushing the rules to the limit'. The problem is, that if referees were to enforce the rules properly you would be down to 10 aside matches before half-time and everyone would be vilifying the ref for 'ruining the spectacle of the game'."
Nah

Players would cop on that they're not going to get away with it and they'd cut it out.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4207 - 01/08/2016 03:37:48    1893317