Great teams from 1987-2010

It was an era where we saw many great teams. Its hard to say how many great teams Boylan produced given the 96 & 99 teams had a lot of different players on but certainly the team from 87-91 was a great team. Cork had a great side from 1987-93, then there was Down from 91-94, Galway from 98-2001, Kerry for the whole of the 00's, Tyrone from 2003-08 and I'd probably include the Armagh team that won 7 Ulster Championships from 99-08.

How would you rank these teams in order?

TheWestIsAwake (UK) - Posts: 529 - 26/07/2016 22:12:11    1890682

Again I'm obviously bias but the Dublin team from 91 to 95 has to get a mention

91- really unlucky to lose to a great Meath team in a four game saga

92- got to the all Ireland final and beaten by a great Donegal team on the day

93- beaten by a great Derry team in a classic by one point

94- made another final only to lose to a great Down team by a missed peno near the end

95- made it another final and fell over the line in the end after a long time on the read with a lot of heartbreak

I think that team deserves a mention

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 26/07/2016 22:43:50    1890701

Kerry 2004-2009, greatest team of the past 25 years without a shadow of a doubt.

Contested 6 All Ireland finals in a row, won 4 including back to back titles.

No team came close to such consistency at the highest level during those years and consistency at such a level is the true measure of greatness - any decent county can win the odd title here and there.

No let's see the usual Kerry bregrudgers argue against that!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 26/07/2016 23:39:09    1890724

1. Tyrone from 03 to 08 shades it for me.

2. Kerry 00s. Played in 8 All Irelands including 6 in a row and won 5 and done the back to back just a pity we never beat Tyrone.

3. Meath 87 to 91. Played in 4 All Irelands in 5 years and won 2 in a row.

4. Meath 96 to 01. Played in 3 and won 2 especially in 96 with a bunch of kids reminded me of 75 with Kerry. Seriously under achieved and non of todays Meath team would get near either starting 15.

5. Down 91 to 94. Played some brilliant football.

5. Galway. 98 to 01 Same as Down.

6. Armagh. 00s. Should of had another All Ireland or 2 but Kerry and Tyrone dominated the 00s.

And I couldn't be bothered doing anymore.

Jackos_Wacko (Kerry) - Posts: 417 - 27/07/2016 00:21:44    1890735

Why these years?

DoireCityFC (Derry) - Posts: 1580 - 27/07/2016 03:38:25    1890752

The hermit what an outrageous Kerry team scary in every position, the 3 O Se brothers Moynahan Tom Sullivan O Mahoney Galvin Donaghy Darren and Declan O Sullivan The Gooch I could name more but wow unreal team.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 27/07/2016 08:11:24    1890756

Replying To Jackos_Wacko:  "1. Tyrone from 03 to 08 shades it for me.

2. Kerry 00s. Played in 8 All Irelands including 6 in a row and won 5 and done the back to back just a pity we never beat Tyrone.

4. Meath 96 to 01. Played in 3 and won 2 especially in 96 with a bunch of kids reminded me of 75 with Kerry. Seriously under achieved and non of todays Meath team would get near either starting 15.

6. Armagh. 00s. Should of had another All Ireland or 2 but Kerry and Tyrone dominated the 00s.

And I couldn't be bothered doing anymore."
Id agree with Meath from 96-01. If I'm been honest they were better footballers Than the 87 - 93 team in nearly every position (apart from the obvious Martin O'Connell who was on both and team of millennium) , Sean did a interview after he retired and said that in a way looking back , that meath team would have won more if mayo had won in 96, now i still think that is the single greatest achievement to bring a bunch of kids that very few gave any hope to , to actually go all the way and win It out , but I do think success came too soon and the hunger weaned a little bit. Still though 2 all Irelands, but I feel it could have been more.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 27/07/2016 08:35:47    1890764

Always felt Meath should have won more than 2 All-Irelands between 87 and 91.

What do the neutrals think?

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 27/07/2016 08:47:24    1890769

Replying To Jackos_Wacko:  "1. Tyrone from 03 to 08 shades it for me.

And I couldn't be bothered doing anymore."
Meath 96-2001

I think if there was a qualifier system it is possible Meath may have squeked another All-Ireland.We suffered from injuries to some key players in 97 and especailly 2000.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 27/07/2016 08:52:46    1890771

I'd have to go with KK.You did say teams. Best team on show and only pipped for the 5 in a row by Tipp.
This present team could be a threat to them though.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 27/07/2016 09:06:35    1890781

Replying To clondalkindub:  "The hermit what an outrageous Kerry team scary in every position, the 3 O Se brothers Moynahan Tom Sullivan O Mahoney Galvin Donaghy Darren and Declan O Sullivan The Gooch I could name more but wow unreal team."
You certainly could name more - Eoin Brosnan! MF Russell! Mike McCarthy! They were an absolutely cracking team.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 27/07/2016 09:30:18    1890795

hhhmm....i wonder why this question stops at 2010....now, what could the reason for that possibly be .....ha ha

culchies, making me laugh since 1979!!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 27/07/2016 09:36:41    1890798

Replying To ziggy32001:  "Always felt Meath should have won more than 2 All-Irelands between 87 and 91.

What do the neutrals think?"
I'd possibly agree with that. I always felt that, having beaten their hated rivals in successive finals, Meath slightly lost their edge after 1988. By the time 1990 came round, Cork were a side on a mission to beat Meath, and the Royals didn't look quite as up for it as they did previously.

In 1991 they were caught out by Down's pace, although you have to wonder what would have happened had Colm O'Rourke come on 10 minutes earlier.

As for comparing the 2 Meath sides, I think the 1987-1988 side was stronger than the late 90s side. In my opinion, they were better at midfield, and had a more talented inside forward line.

Thomas Clarke (Tyrone) - Posts: 1002 - 27/07/2016 09:54:58    1890805

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Again I'm obviously bias but the Dublin team from 91 to 95 has to get a mention

91- really unlucky to lose to a great Meath team in a four game saga

92- got to the all Ireland final and beaten by a great Donegal team on the day

93- beaten by a great Derry team in a classic by one point

94- made another final only to lose to a great Down team by a missed peno near the end

95- made it another final and fell over the line in the end after a long time on the read with a lot of heartbreak

I think that team deserves a mention"
That dublin team does deserve a mention. I remembered thinking how unlucky they were not to win more around the same time. But to win one during that time was an achievement in itself for any team. Meath and Down were both hanging around that time as well as derry tyrone and donegal who were all ireland contenders every year then too. Not forgetting cork either. A truly great competition back then.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 27/07/2016 09:56:47    1890806

If I had to list my top 5 teams in that period I'd go:

Football:

Kerry, 2004-2009: As I mentioned, not just the greatest team of that period, but IMO one of the three greatest sides Kerry have ever produced along with the 1975-1986 side and 1924-1932 Kerry team.
Tyrone, 2003-2008: 3 All Ireland's in 5 years, enough said and they beat us to claim all of them.
Galway, 1998-2001: I really enjoyed watching this side play, they had so much skill and speed. Padraig Joyce is still one of my favorite players of all time, and the 2000 final and replay against them were brilliant to witness.
Meath, 1996-1999: Just because my abiding memory is Meath being 4,5,6,7 points down with time running out and they still somehow willed themselves to win!
Armagh, 2000-2006: In many ways I always thought that for skill Armagh were a better side than Tyrone. I know they only managed one, but there's surely few teams in the history of Gaelic football that deserved at least 1 or 2 more. I think that epic Q-final against Kerry was the beginning of the end for them by then, though they did well to win another Ulster in 2008.

I didn't want to put in Kerry 1997-2000 because there's a bit of overlap with the 2004 side and I'm a bit too young to comment on the Meath, Cork, Down sides of the late 1980's/early 1990's so perhaps others might deem them better than a couple of sides I've put down.

Hurling:
Kilkenny 2006-2012: What can you say, surely the greatest hurling side of all time? They've gone backwards a bit since 2013 but they are still winning (though I think that's more down to the poor quality of their rivals).
Clare, 1995-1998: I feel in love with these warriors in the summer of 1995, really should have had three All-Irelands. I know the likes of Davy and Ger can be marmite for people, but I love em!
Cork 2002-2006: Hate to say it being a Kerryman but they were some team, swagger and skill abounded.
Tipperary 2008-2011: How, how can they only have 1 All-Ireland out of these players?
Waterford, 2002-2010: IMO the best team in the history of the GAA never to win an All-Ireland.

Let us know what ye think of all that.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 27/07/2016 10:05:12    1890814

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "hhhmm....i wonder why this question stops at 2010....now, what could the reason for that possibly be .....ha ha

culchies, making me laugh since 1979!!

:)"
Because this Dublin side couldn't hold a match to Kerry or Tyrone ;)

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 27/07/2016 10:05:58    1890817

A measure of great teams is how they influence others. Tyrone 2003-2008 may not be everyone's cup of tea but they made even Kerry change their approach to the game. Other teams who had this effect would be Down in the 1960's and Dublin in the 1970's.

Byanthon (Tyrone) - Posts: 1780 - 27/07/2016 10:07:55    1890818

Meath played Kildare in that 3 game saga in 97 and after the 3rd game you had a rake of injuries and suspensions and fair play to Offaly for beating me in the final but I think it's fair to say Meath with a full team would of probably won Sam that year.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 27/07/2016 10:07:55    1890819

Replying To ziggy32001:  "Always felt Meath should have won more than 2 All-Irelands between 87 and 91.

What do the neutrals think?"
I thought you had great teams from 1987 to 2002. We had a really good team from 1991 to 1996 but I didn't think we would stay at the top for good. Somehow I always thought Meath would be at the top table because you seemed to have a conveyor belt of talent in that era ( 2 or 3 great teams). Use were the team of the 90s with us a close second. Your fall from
grace after 2002 was unfortunate but I
don't think the modern game suited Meath and the players were not just as
good either. The players you had in that
era you should have dominated Leinster
more as Dublin are doing now.Should
probably have had a third All Ireland.

REDANDBLACK30 (Down) - Posts: 1617 - 27/07/2016 10:18:49    1890824

Replying To DoireCityFC:  "Why these years?"
I would take a guess that the starting point is post Mick O'Dwyer great Kerry team (generally regarded as the greatest football team of all time), 2010, I would guess because it is hard to rate teams who are still achieving things (for example Dublin's current team I think in a few years will have racked up a few more All Irelands).

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1348 - 27/07/2016 10:20:57    1890825