Move Dublin into the Munster Football Championship

I am reading baffling posts by Dublin posters who think Kerry have an easy route to the all-Ireland semi finals because all they have to do is beat Clare and Tipperary in the Munster championship and now Clare again in the quarter finals.

I think Dublin should switch to the Munster championship if they think it's such a cake walk.

Us in Tipperary would even be so helpful as to take Dublin's spot in the Leinster Championship.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 23/07/2016 21:29:56    1888814

What Divisions are Tipp and Clare in?

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 23/07/2016 22:34:26    1888864

Div 1 league finalists beat a couple of lower league teams.. isn't a handy run then..?

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 23/07/2016 22:38:58    1888868

Replying To jimbodub:  "What Divisions are Tipp and Clare in?"
Clare are division 2 and Tipp are division 3 next year. But I don't see what this has to do with championship? I thought they were separate competitions? Maybe I am missing something.

What I know for sure is they are both in the last 8 of the championship like Dublin.

Both beat a division 1 and Divsion 2 team to get there.

How many division 1 teams have Dublin beaten in this season's championship?

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 23/07/2016 22:39:53    1888870

Replying To Killarney.87:  "Clare are division 2 and Tipp are division 3 next year. But I don't see what this has to do with championship? I thought they were separate competitions? Maybe I am missing something.

What I know for sure is they are both in the last 8 of the championship like Dublin.

How many division 1 teams have Dublin beaten in this season's championship?"
Clare played Div 3 football in 2016

And Dublin will have a far harder run in.. stop talking nonsense.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 23/07/2016 22:55:56    1888884

Replying To jimbodub:  "Div 1 league finalists beat a couple of lower league teams.. isn't a handy run then..?"
You are being extremely disrespectful to Clare football. They are in the all Ireland quarter finals because the beat everything that was put in front of them in the qualifiers.

Why can't you give them and us our dues?

Clare beat Laois, Sligo (away) and Roscommon.

We beat Cork and Derry to get this far.

Neither team fluked their way to the quarter finals or got qualifiers against Division 4 teams. We had to beat good teams to get there.

What I am taking from this is that Dublin are scared of Kerry which is strange with the recent history between the teams.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 23/07/2016 22:57:16    1888885

Replying To jimbodub:  "Clare played Div 3 football in 2016

And Dublin will have a far harder run in.. stop talking nonsense."
Clare are division 3 champions and will play Division 2 next year.

Basically what you are saying is Clare and Tipp aren't any good. I am sorry you think that.

Clare played really well against Kerry in the Munster championship and aside from the concession of a soft goal they really pushed Kerry close.

Gary Brennan would walk onto any team. Tubridy is very good as is Sexton. Clare are a good team with plenty of good players.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 23/07/2016 23:42:57    1888902

Replying To jimbodub:  "What Divisions are Tipp and Clare in?"
Dublin Region beat Laois. Clare beat Laois.
Dublin Region beat Meath. Derry beat Meath. Tipperary beat Derry.
Dublin Region beat Westmeath. Clare and Tipperary finished above Westmeath in the league.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7842 - 24/07/2016 00:09:23    1888912

Replying To Killarney.87:  "You are being extremely disrespectful to Clare football. They are in the all Ireland quarter finals because the beat everything that was put in front of them in the qualifiers.

Why can't you give them and us our dues?

Clare beat Laois, Sligo (away) and Roscommon.

We beat Cork and Derry to get this far.

Neither team fluked their way to the quarter finals or got qualifiers against Division 4 teams. We had to beat good teams to get there.

What I am taking from this is that Dublin are scared of Kerry which is strange with the recent history between the teams."
I was on the tipp page before and after the munsterfinal and I was blagarding by saying ye were coming to the home of football and to leave the hurls at home but I was on ye'r forum after to commiserate with ye and to compliment ye on the football ye played in the Munster final and I also said ye be hard to beat.
Ye will give Galway enough of it next week and I won't be surprised if ye beat them and I will also predict that it will be the best game in the championship in 2016.

I won't be going home when our game is over.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 24/07/2016 01:48:06    1888934

Agreed. And leinster would actually be a healthy province if Dublin were replaced with a team that's not up in the stratosphere.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 24/07/2016 07:29:46    1888952

Clare and Tipperary are plotting a course that they hope will lead to challenging for provincial honours in the next few years. Their isn't much momentum behind Dublin Region's provincial rivals but that's not Dublin Region's problem, they can only play who's put in front of them.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7842 - 24/07/2016 09:36:51    1888976

Replying To Jack_Goff:  "Agreed. And leinster would actually be a healthy province if Dublin were replaced with a team that's not up in the stratosphere."
Leinster would still be terrible if Dublin were thrown out.

There would be no more excuses then and we'd see just how bad yous can be.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 24/07/2016 10:05:44    1888988

Replying To Killarney.87:  "Clare are division 2 and Tipp are division 3 next year. But I don't see what this has to do with championship? I thought they were separate competitions? Maybe I am missing something.

How many division 1 teams have Dublin beaten in this season's championship?"
The same amount as Kerry.

dubdec99 (Dublin) - Posts: 180 - 24/07/2016 10:20:08    1888997

Of course Kerry have had a handy run..how can you argue they havnt?, Kerry are in the top 3 teams in the country and they have had to play clare and tipp? to reach a semi final of the all-ireland?

Tyrone on the other hand to reach the same stage will have played, derry, cavan, cavan, donegal, cork or donegal (again).

The competition is a joke, if it was part of any other sport it would have been reassembled years ago.

Heres one for ye, its all hypothetical bull but food for thought, put Dublin in ulster and fermanagh in Leinster, Fermanagh would be one of the favourites to win leinster.........Thats not a compliment of how good fermanagh are but how bad leinster is...on the other hand theres no way Dublin would be winning 6 in a row in ulster.

kerry and dublin need tougher games... they are quality and will still be there come the end of the competition but its getting to be an absolute joke watching there cake walk to the end of the competition every year.

abitawit (Fermanagh) - Posts: 274 - 24/07/2016 11:05:26    1889020

Replying To abitawit:  "Of course Kerry have had a handy run..how can you argue they havnt?, Kerry are in the top 3 teams in the country and they have had to play clare and tipp? to reach a semi final of the all-ireland?

Tyrone on the other hand to reach the same stage will have played, derry, cavan, cavan, donegal, cork or donegal (again).

The competition is a joke, if it was part of any other sport it would have been reassembled years ago.

Heres one for ye, its all hypothetical bull but food for thought, put Dublin in ulster and fermanagh in Leinster, Fermanagh would be one of the favourites to win leinster.........Thats not a compliment of how good fermanagh are but how bad leinster is...on the other hand theres no way Dublin would be winning 6 in a row in ulster.

kerry and dublin need tougher games... they are quality and will still be there come the end of the competition but its getting to be an absolute joke watching there cake walk to the end of the competition every year."
If Derry and Cavan are so tough to beat how come Tipp came up to Ulster and beat them?

Simple quetion

KYTitletown (Kerry) - Posts: 816 - 24/07/2016 12:01:30    1889055

Replying To abitawit:  "Of course Kerry have had a handy run..how can you argue they havnt?, Kerry are in the top 3 teams in the country and they have had to play clare and tipp? to reach a semi final of the all-ireland?

kerry and dublin need tougher games... they are quality and will still be there come the end of the competition but its getting to be an absolute joke watching there cake walk to the end of the competition every year."
I think they should get rid of the qualifiers.

Play an open draw championship parallel to the provincials.

Play 3 rounds of that so that 4 teams remain.

If a team has won their province and gotten to the open draw final four they go into the semifinals automatically. The teams qualifying one way playoff for the remaining places.

In this system say Kerry win Munster but don't reach the open draw final four then they'll have to play a top team in the quarterfinals.

I'd also have the open draw in such a way that teams from the same province are roughly kept apart. A team in a relatively easy province will have a slightly harder Open draw run.

I think the open draw would have more interest for fans than the qualifiers, which can be seen as a losers competition.

The open draw can be better scheduled so teams are not waiting around so long for games.

I'd also engineer it such that if a team are playing at home in their first provincial match they play away in their open draw last 32 match.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4222 - 24/07/2016 12:04:52    1889057

While I dont think that Dublin should be moved to munster permanently, rotating 2 leinster counties down there every year and one to connaught on a roatation basis, as well as one from ulster to connaught on a rotation basis, could indeed make for a more interesting championship.

But you are first assuming that ulster is at a disadvantage by playing harder and more frequent matches that encroach on the later stages of the championship. I am not sure this is the case any more. Tipp and Clare are proving this and I have a feeling they are not a flash in the pan either.

I think the only rationale for moving the dubs to munster would be to give the tv networks something to build up and the public in munster likewise. A fixture involving dublin in either killarney or cork would surely liven up the provincial championship in may or june for the viewer or spectator, at least every 4 years.

Looking at the galway experience of moving to leinster in the hurling, anything like this could be worth considering.

In short, for the purposes of having more interesting competition earlier in the year it is a great idea. But for evening out the provincial standard, I think that this does not add up given the recent results in the back door.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 24/07/2016 12:52:26    1889081

Sure don't Derry beat Cavan And Tipperary beat Derry and Clare beat Roscommon Kerry must be good the hammered Clare by 12 points And Tipp by 10 they have beaten Fonegal the last 2 meetings and Tyrone consistently since 2008 so that leaves only Dublin ahead of Kerry on known form and they are very far ahead conclusion get Joe Nrolly to present Sam to Dublin now what further need of meaningless games come on ye boys in blue

37sowhat (Sligo) - Posts: 752 - 24/07/2016 13:24:42    1889097

Lads the hurling championship is just as bad.
The top teams will always be there and look some years like 2016 teams will make the break through.
If Derry and Roscommon had won yesterday people would still be whinging.
Fact of the matter is Dublin Kerry Tyrone Donegal Mayo Monaghan have been the most consistent teams in the championship last few years and then the rest well anyone can beat the other really.
Whether it b by fluke of the draw or other excuse Kerry would still b Munster Champions and Dublin Leinster Champions.
Both have so much talent at their disposal and that's not their own fault. Doesn't happen by magic or overnight stuff. Years of hard work underage.
Last year we were all crying out for miracles in the championship and we got two within hours of each other. Hard work does pay off.
Tipp or Clare may not win their QF or a Munster Championship soon but they should give the rest of the country some food for thought that no matter what is thrown against you,systems ,loss of players ,venues etc anything is possible.
I've nothing against Kerry or Dublin or Kilkenny in hurling for that matter these teams are great at what they do and the rest of us should shut up and get on with it.
Everytime these counties win it's all about handy draws etc are the rest of the country that bad to say we have to blame our championship draws?even if tweaked same counties will b in the same latter stages year on year.
Clare and Tipp proved a point yesterday and get just reward.
DARE TO DREAM!!!!

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 24/07/2016 13:25:58    1889099

Replying To Donegalman:  "While I dont think that Dublin should be moved to munster permanently, rotating 2 leinster counties down there every year and one to connaught on a roatation basis, as well as one from ulster to connaught on a rotation basis, could indeed make for a more interesting championship.

But you are first assuming that ulster is at a disadvantage by playing harder and more frequent matches that encroach on the later stages of the championship. I am not sure this is the case any more. Tipp and Clare are proving this and I have a feeling they are not a flash in the pan either.

I think the only rationale for moving the dubs to munster would be to give the tv networks something to build up and the public in munster likewise. A fixture involving dublin in either killarney or cork would surely liven up the provincial championship in may or june for the viewer or spectator, at least every 4 years.

Looking at the galway experience of moving to leinster in the hurling, anything like this could be worth considering.

In short, for the purposes of having more interesting competition earlier in the year it is a great idea. But for evening out the provincial standard, I think that this does not add up given the recent results in the back door."
The provincial championships have to be maintained as is or removed. There is 0 point in altering their participants it would make them meaningless.

They will be maintained and there is good reason why they should be.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4222 - 24/07/2016 13:41:02    1889108