Pete McGrath says "up the Dubs"

Anyone hear him on Off the ball! Ulsterman will have a hernia if he listens back to the podcast! To summarise - ulster funal was shocking stuff, rubbish football and he prays the Dubs win Sam for the sake of football! How i loved it and smiled! A boy Pete. Yp the Dubs

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 20/07/2016 20:34:24    1887245

I always liked him! :)

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 20/07/2016 20:44:17    1887254

It is the football played in the Ulster Final that Pete should in aspiring to with his native county! He is living a pipe dream if he thinks he can get Fermanagh anywhere near the level of Tyrone, Donegal, Monaghan or for that matter Dublin.

The money monsters that are Dublin, Kerry, Mayo, Tyrone etc will always be streets ahead of the now minor counties like Down - the only way to start getting back at these countries is to play defensive football.

It is exactly this unwillingness by Down to change with the times that leads to them becoming a joke like some Leinster team!

sam2008 (Tyrone) - Posts: 797 - 20/07/2016 20:49:56    1887260

To quote him - Dublin play by far the best football in the country and certainly they have my full support for the summer".......a gentleman and a scholar Pete

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 20/07/2016 21:16:23    1887271

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "To quote him - Dublin play by far the best football in the country and certainly they have my full support for the summer".......a gentleman and a scholar Pete"
Yes Dublin do play the best football- totally agree with him

But how on earth are teams supposed to beat them.

I agree that by playing 14 men behind the ball wont work but neither will going man to man,

Longford tried this and got murdered.

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 20/07/2016 21:25:24    1887279

Replying To sam2008:  "It is the football played in the Ulster Final that Pete should in aspiring to with his native county! He is living a pipe dream if he thinks he can get Fermanagh anywhere near the level of Tyrone, Donegal, Monaghan or for that matter Dublin.

The money monsters that are Dublin, Kerry, Mayo, Tyrone etc will always be streets ahead of the now minor counties like Down - the only way to start getting back at these countries is to play defensive football.

It is exactly this unwillingness by Down to change with the times that leads to them becoming a joke like some Leinster team!"
Well said Trapattoni...

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4624 - 20/07/2016 21:30:44    1887282

Most reasonable GAA followers would have to agree with him. Dublin play a very attractive brand of the game. Manly but very skillful. However they have a bigger pick than the rest of the counties and we just dont have the same depth of talent. So competing counties just have to devise a method of overcoming this wealth of talent. I have always said that if Mayo dont win I would like to see the Dubs continue their reign, their style is good for the game.

mod (Mayo) - Posts: 859 - 20/07/2016 21:56:41    1887294

Guess he and others didn't see the Tyrone v Cavan game were we scored 5-18. We play plenty open and attacking football when it suits. We can go down in the mire too when it's called for. Just cos we don't allow ourselves to be hammered out the gate like his native Down.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 20/07/2016 22:07:16    1887302

The man knows football and knows what is good for the game in the long term.
You can be sure that this rubbish will continue to be coached and played when and after Dublin have departed the scene.
All this rubbish about only playing this way because teams cannot compete man to man is a smoke screen to reduce everything to the lowest and least imaginative rubbish that is being coached into players who could do far better with their natural ability allowed to be expressed. Programming, I believe he called it.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 20/07/2016 22:13:10    1887305

1994 all Ireland final Down 1-12 -Dublin 0-13
2016 Ulster Final. Tyrone 0-13 Donegal 0-11
Nobody was breaking records in 1994 either when it came to high scoring man to man football. Was still a lot of hit and hope tactics,huge amount of turnovers and loss of possession that were we to see it in front of us now we'd be laughing at it.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 20/07/2016 22:19:33    1887306

I always find it interesting that the people who tell us winning is all that matters will be among the first to complain if they feel their own side don't get the credit they deserve for their good football. Thankfully the game is not just about winning but also how you do it, hopefully we are starting to see skillful football getting properly rewarded again.

Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 20/07/2016 22:21:00    1887308

Fair play for Pete for taking a chance, a shot in the dark, going out on a limb and backing underdogs Dublin. Brave man

DoireCityFC (Derry) - Posts: 1580 - 20/07/2016 22:25:44    1887311

When a GAA legend like Pete McGrath talks, people listen

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 20/07/2016 22:25:49    1887312

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "When a GAA legend like Pete McGrath talks, people listen"
Everybody except his own county who didn't want him. Doing a good job in Fermanagh in fairness to him.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 20/07/2016 22:46:52    1887321

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "To quote him - Dublin play by far the best football in the country and certainly they have my full support for the summer".......a gentleman and a scholar Pete"
Should be worth at least three or four points to your lads.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 20/07/2016 22:49:11    1887323

Replying To sam2008:  "It is the football played in the Ulster Final that Pete should in aspiring to with his native county! He is living a pipe dream if he thinks he can get Fermanagh anywhere near the level of Tyrone, Donegal, Monaghan or for that matter Dublin.

It is exactly this unwillingness by Down to change with the times that leads to them becoming a joke like some Leinster team!"
You tell him Sam. What right has he to hold an opinion on how the game should be played?

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 20/07/2016 22:52:21    1887325

If I could have an outside manager in Meath it would be Pete McGrath without question.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 20/07/2016 22:57:40    1887329

Replying To mod:  "Most reasonable GAA followers would have to agree with him. Dublin play a very attractive brand of the game. Manly but very skillful. However they have a bigger pick than the rest of the counties and we just dont have the same depth of talent. So competing counties just have to devise a method of overcoming this wealth of talent. I have always said that if Mayo dont win I would like to see the Dubs continue their reign, their style is good for the game."
Agree.
This current Dublin team play beautiful football. They have made a huge contribution to the positive image of Gaelic games.
Of course, I do hope that this will be Mayo's year but should it not, then I too will be cheering on the Dubs.

GormlaighG (Mayo) - Posts: 77 - 20/07/2016 23:20:23    1887343

If you are going to make an argument either make your own or use direct or accurate quotes
Don't make your own agenda points and attribute them to someone else.

There is context to the interview that you have missed whilst being busy creaming your own pie of swarminess

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 20/07/2016 23:40:53    1887348

It was a good interview and well set up by new stalk - the main takeaway being petes reaction to Aidan o Shea. Likewise the interview with Eamon McGee the night before was refreshing and honest as its unusual to get a non scripted or any view from a losing side. Meanwhile we have Jim Gavin defending common assault by his players as justified and not much more .

But you isolate one comment / did you listen to the entire thing or do you have some media watch on ' Dublin Are the saviours of football"after Leinster final attendances have declined 50 percent in last 10 years / he talked about Keith Barr not Johnny cooper FYI

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 21/07/2016 00:18:18    1887360