Professional referees

Would it really make a difference if they were professional?

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 19/07/2016 16:08:06    1886436

Replying To keeper7:  "Would it really make a difference if they were professional?"
There are two things needed to improve the standard of referring.
1.) More help from officials other than the Referee. He is only one man (or woman) and can't be expected to see everything. He has at least another 6 officials there, why can't they help him when necessary.
2.) They need to actually know and understand the rules. How many referees actually know that the black card can only be given for an intentional foul. If it's not intentional it's not a blackcard. Mattie Donnellys blackcard is a yellow under the rules as it is clumsy not intentional.

On a separate note am I the only person who would like to see former intercounty players take up the whistle. No one should understand the game better than them and should know the game inside out.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 19/07/2016 16:23:56    1886462

Would it really make a difference if they were professional?
keeper7 (Longford) - Posts:3056 - 19/07/2016 16:08:06
If the best referees were able to solely concentrate on the game, their game, their understanding of the rules, fitness to ref the game etc of course they would be better and it would make a difference

1.) More help from officials other than the Referee. He is only one man (or woman) and can't be expected to see everything. He has at least another 6 officials there, why can't they help him when necessary.
2.) They need to actually know and understand the rules. How many referees actually know that the black card can only be given for an intentional foul. If it's not intentional it's not a blackcard. Mattie Donnellys blackcard is a yellow under the rules as it is clumsy not intentional.
On a separate note am I the only person who would like to see former intercounty players take up the whistle. No one should understand the game better than them and should know the game inside out.
gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts:3217 - 19/07/2016 16:23:56
A good player doesn't make a good referee and you have to be able to enjoy it.
What would you do so that the other officials can help the referee more than they currently do.
How would you get referees to know rules better.. How would you change this
Deciding if something is intentional or not is very personal and everyone may have a different opinion on it. How do you define something is clumsy or intentional?

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 19/07/2016 18:35:33    1886563

Replying To ormondbannerman:  "Would it really make a difference if they were professional?
keeper7 (Longford) - Posts:3056 - 19/07/2016 16:08:06
If the best referees were able to solely concentrate on the game, their game, their understanding of the rules, fitness to ref the game etc of course they would be better and it would make a difference

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts:3217 - 19/07/2016 16:23:56
A good player doesn't make a good referee and you have to be able to enjoy it.
What would you do so that the other officials can help the referee more than they currently do.
How would you get referees to know rules better.. How would you change this
Deciding if something is intentional or not is very personal and everyone may have a different opinion on it. How do you define something is clumsy or intentional?"
I know a good player doesn't make a good referee but I don't think they could do much worse than the current batch. At least they would understand the game at the top level.

To get the refs to understand the rules better is quite simple Ormo. You test them. You're a student around Galway. How do your lecturers know that you understand a subject they are teaching you? They test you. If you fail the test you fail, same should be applicable here.
Did you seriously ask how to get the other officials to help the referees out? How many times do you see crap go on off the ball in front of a linesman or umpire? I see it every game I go to yet never is a ref made aware of this. It often continues throughout the game and boil over. I've often seen a ref give two yellows to an off the ball scuffle which takes place in full view of the umpire. An umpire could actually tell the ref what happened instead of letting him take the easy option out and produce two yellows.
Quite easy to spot if something is intentional or not. Sunday on first viewing I knew Mattie Donnelly was not intending to take Eoin McHugh out. His body language was an effective indicator of this. Anthony Thompsons was a blatant dive to pull a player down. How is that not intentional? If you went to a game you could see the difference in an intentional foul and a clumsy foul quite easily.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 19/07/2016 19:37:55    1886615

I know a good player doesn't make a good referee but I don't think they could do much worse than the current batch. At least they would understand the game at the top level.
To get the refs to understand the rules better is quite simple Ormond. You test them. You're a student around Galway. How do your lecturers know that you understand a subject they are teaching you? They test you. If you fail the test you fail, same should be applicable here.
Did you seriously ask how to get the other officials to help the referees out? How many times do you see crap go on off the ball in front of a linesman or umpire? I see it every game I go to yet never is a ref made aware of this. It often continues throughout the game and boil over. I've often seen a ref give two yellows to an off the ball scuffle which takes place in full view of the umpire. An umpire could actually tell the ref what happened instead of letting him take the easy option out and produce two yellows.
Quite easy to spot if something is intentional or not. Sunday on first viewing I knew Mattie Donnelly was not intending to take Eoin McHugh out. His body language was an effective indicator of this. Anthony Thompsons was a blatant dive to pull a player down. How is that not intentional? If you went to a game you could see the difference in an intentional foul and a clumsy foul quite easily.
gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts:3221 - 19/07/2016 19:37:55
Playing the game at the highest level doesn't mean much as just playing at that level doesn't mean you have the temperament to referee and its such a different thing to playing
Testing referees on the law is fine but speaking from experience the best way for a referee to improve is to go out and referee games. Ive refereed 30+ games a season for the past 2 seasons which is a good reason why ive improved so much.
But how do you get these officials to help the referee. Is there mechanisms for the linesmen to go to the referee. Is there procedures to follow.
Like in rugby if im a touch judge I stick my flag out if I see something out of hand and when the referee sees my flag pointing out he can stop play and ask me what I saw,

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 19/07/2016 21:45:56    1886687

Replying To ormondbannerman:  "I know a good player doesn't make a good referee but I don't think they could do much worse than the current batch. At least they would understand the game at the top level.
To get the refs to understand the rules better is quite simple Ormond. You test them. You're a student around Galway. How do your lecturers know that you understand a subject they are teaching you? They test you. If you fail the test you fail, same should be applicable here.
gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts:3221 - 19/07/2016 19:37:55
Playing the game at the highest level doesn't mean much as just playing at that level doesn't mean you have the temperament to referee and its such a different thing to playing
Testing referees on the law is fine but speaking from experience the best way for a referee to improve is to go out and referee games. Ive refereed 30+ games a season for the past 2 seasons which is a good reason why ive improved so much.
But how do you get these officials to help the referee. Is there mechanisms for the linesmen to go to the referee. Is there procedures to follow.
Like in rugby if im a touch judge I stick my flag out if I see something out of hand and when the referee sees my flag pointing out he can stop play and ask me what I saw,"
They are miked up to one another on the sidelines. It's quite easy, talk into the mic and tell the ref what is happening. When the next break in play comes the ref deals with it or if he deems it necessary deal with it there and then.

Yes I agree you will improve by doing something but if you don't know what you are supposed to be doing in the first place you shouldn't be there.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 19/07/2016 22:38:38    1886728

paying current refs wouldn't make them better but it might attract a better caliber candidate in the future but over all I wouldn't be in favour. I'd be pro black card and I can understand lads getting away sometimes ie if the ref is unsighted or not sure if the infraction was deliberate etc but a lot of cards are issued in the wrong and that's poor reffing plain and simple, if your not sure don't give it should be the motto. I'd also be in favour of limited use of whatever cameras are available to aid refs, things like was the player fouled inside or outside the box, did some one strike etc

lillyboy (Kildare) - Posts: 429 - 20/07/2016 00:04:03    1886765

Replying To keeper7:  "Would it really make a difference if they were professional?"
Correct me if I'm wrong but is the idea of paying the referees not expanding the level of professionalism that already exists within the gaa, I'm aware of players who are still waiting for their expenses, to me it's cart before the horse and all that, but the idea is good.

Cuhullain (Kildare) - Posts: 271 - 20/07/2016 09:25:05    1886809

paying current refs wouldn't make them better but it might attract a better caliber candidate in the future but over all I wouldn't be in favour. I'd be pro black card and I can understand lads getting away sometimes ie if the ref is unsighted or not sure if the infraction was deliberate etc but a lot of cards are issued in the wrong and that's poor reffing plain and simple, if your not sure don't give it should be the motto. I'd also be in favour of limited use of whatever cameras are available to aid refs, things like was the player fouled inside or outside the box, did some one strike etc
lillyboy (Kildare) - Posts:308 - 20/07/2016 00:04:03
I don't see if you paid referees that a better calibre of candidate would emerge. You need to change the culture around refereeing and that comes from the players, coaches and supporters as much as anyone involved in refereeing.
If referees got better respect and treated better then it would be easier for referees to improve.

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 20/07/2016 11:09:26    1886873

Replying To ormondbannerman:  "paying current refs wouldn't make them better but it might attract a better caliber candidate in the future but over all I wouldn't be in favour. I'd be pro black card and I can understand lads getting away sometimes ie if the ref is unsighted or not sure if the infraction was deliberate etc but a lot of cards are issued in the wrong and that's poor reffing plain and simple, if your not sure don't give it should be the motto. I'd also be in favour of limited use of whatever cameras are available to aid refs, things like was the player fouled inside or outside the box, did some one strike etc
lillyboy (Kildare) - Posts:308 - 20/07/2016 00:04:03
I don't see if you paid referees that a better calibre of candidate would emerge. You need to change the culture around refereeing and that comes from the players, coaches and supporters as much as anyone involved in refereeing.
If referees got better respect and treated better then it would be easier for referees to improve."
Respect has to be earned. You can say everything you want but until it is earned properly people wont give it.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 20/07/2016 14:25:16    1887020

Respect has to be earned. You can say everything you want but until it is earned properly people wont give it.
gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts:3229 - 20/07/2016 14:25:16
How can referees earn respect when no matter what they do they are hounded. The change has to primarily come from players, coaches who then lead the spectators in changing.
Referees have been earning and deserving of respect for years at all levels and are treated like dirt. That has to change. When it does or begins to change then its easier for improvements in standards to happen

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 20/07/2016 14:43:19    1887046

Replying To ormondbannerman:  "Respect has to be earned. You can say everything you want but until it is earned properly people wont give it.
gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts:3229 - 20/07/2016 14:25:16
How can referees earn respect when no matter what they do they are hounded. The change has to primarily come from players, coaches who then lead the spectators in changing.
Referees have been earning and deserving of respect for years at all levels and are treated like dirt. That has to change. When it does or begins to change then its easier for improvements in standards to happen"
Please tell me what respect a certain referee deserved after he screwed a county of their first Leinster title in a lifetime through a refusal to consult with his other officials? He was asked to consult with them and refused. It's not just him. Refs should not be given a free ride just because they are wearing black. I don't think it should be given just for the sake of it, it has to be earned.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 20/07/2016 15:11:19    1887072

Please tell me what respect a certain referee deserved after he screwed a county of their first Leinster title in a lifetime through a refusal to consult with his other officials? He was asked to consult with them and refused. It's not just him. Refs should not be given a free ride just because they are wearing black. I don't think it should be given just for the sake of it, it has to be earned.
gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts:3236 - 20/07/2016 15:11:19
Yes respect has to be earned but if you want the game to progress more and more the officials need to be respected more than they currently are.
I would hate to have a GAA referee micced up at any level with the way a lot of players talk back. That needs to change. If players and coaches treat the match officials better than it is easier for the match officials to improve.
I am not and never have looked for referees and the other match officials to get a free ride but they deserve respect which they currently don't get in the slightest

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 21/07/2016 10:40:01    1887446

Though there may be benefits to having pro refs, I would personally be against it if the players were to remain amateur, as I believe that it's getting to the point in the GAA where almost everyone around the county set-ups and upper echelons of the GAA are getting paid except the players, who provide the spectacle. Surely there's something wrong with that situation?

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 21/07/2016 11:07:13    1887472

Thous shalt not speak any ill word of the GAA ref or if thy doth be prepared for the big red thumbs down Gotmilk - 1st Commandment of the GAA.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 21/07/2016 11:26:25    1887486

Replying To ormondbannerman:  "Please tell me what respect a certain referee deserved after he screwed a county of their first Leinster title in a lifetime through a refusal to consult with his other officials? He was asked to consult with them and refused. It's not just him. Refs should not be given a free ride just because they are wearing black. I don't think it should be given just for the sake of it, it has to be earned.
gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts:3236 - 20/07/2016 15:11:19
Yes respect has to be earned but if you want the game to progress more and more the officials need to be respected more than they currently are.
I would hate to have a GAA referee micced up at any level with the way a lot of players talk back. That needs to change. If players and coaches treat the match officials better than it is easier for the match officials to improve.
I am not and never have looked for referees and the other match officials to get a free ride but they deserve respect which they currently don't get in the slightest"
Respect is a two way thing, the referee call's it as he sees it, or in some cases as he doesn't see it, he has the final say and is apparently answerable to no one, players on the other hand are at the referees mercy. - - - it's been said "Contraversory" is what keeps it going, keeps the blood on the boil and all that.

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 2907 - 21/08/2016 22:46:23    1904216

Professional Referee's won't make a blind bit of difference if (for instance) the "tackle" is not very well defined, as it is for instance in ladies football which is similar. A lot of the rules are bolted on probably needs an overall - nothing really needs to change, just a lot more clarity

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4895 - 23/08/2016 11:37:02    1904804

Respect is a two way thing, the referee call's it as he sees it, or in some cases as he doesn't see it, he has the final say and is apparently answerable to no one, players on the other hand are at the referees mercy. - - - it's been said "Contraversory" is what keeps it going, keeps the blood on the boil and all that.
supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts:1452 - 21/08/2016 22:46:23
Respect is a two way thing but if you think how referees are currently treated is ok then you are deluded and referees have no shot at being helped to improve with how most treat them at/around games.
Referees do have the final say. Of course they do. Who should have it if they do not?

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 23/08/2016 15:49:38    1904938

No look at other sports where refs are Pro, what changes??

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 23/08/2016 17:19:32    1904982

again why dont ye all go out and try refereeing a game? at the end of the day lads and lasses NO REF NO GAME. time to get real here we watch a game on tele so we see slow mows and slower mows at least 10 times over especially when its controversial. the referee gets a milli second and more so than often they are correct. and please dont give me this shite they are there because they are supposed to be the best at their job that so everyone makes a mistake at some stage, how many on this site has actually tried being a ref and how many are still at it?? i could be the best referee tonight and the worst the tomorrow the joys of it even though you do everything the same but just because the result goes against your team the ref gets the blunt of it nothing about the team being poor or the sideline get thecalls wrong NO wait a minute the ref was against us gave us nothing during the game come on be honest who on here would continue to give up their time to do it??? Bet this wont get posted or even someone agreeing if it does

mrsme (USA) - Posts: 172 - 25/08/2016 22:25:06    1906125