Minor Hurling Championship Structure

The structure of this championship is beyond annoying. Cork beat Limerick last year, then get knocked out by Limerick in the semi-final. This year they beat Waterford, then a lay off of 8 or 9 weeks from April to the end of the Leaving Cert and then get beaten by Tipp. Tipp then destroy Limerick at home and Limerick are still in the championship.

Hurling needs teams at this age to have games and to develop. This structure is not benefiting counties trying to develop young players. I'm being selfish here for the benefit of Cork hurling. The camogie championship appears to be the best alternative to the current structure and should be trailed at minor or U17 level. The current structure is not helping Cork, Wexford, Offaly etc. to try at return to the top table.

The_Bull (Cork) - Posts: 248 - 11/07/2016 16:50:36    1881105

Getting a bit boring now the "help cork Wexford Offaly" when was there ever cries to help Westmeath Laois Carlow Kerry? It's ok to see them get hidings but if strong counies start to struggle we must change the structures to help them.

Yes do something to help cork Offaly and Wexford but make sure the something helps Antrim Derry down Armagh Meath Kildare Carl's Laois Kerry Mayo etc etc

Brianmac78 (Dublin) - Posts: 1168 - 11/07/2016 17:42:24    1881161

Re: Brianmac78 (Dublin)

A system where you win your 1st game and lose your 2nd game and you're out when you lose you're 1st game and win your next 2 and your into a Munster Final is crazy. One team is allowed to lose a game whereas another team who wins their 1st game but loses their 2nd game is out is ridiculous.

The_Bull (Cork) - Posts: 248 - 11/07/2016 18:29:41    1881203

as for the poor cork hurling cry for help. Cork hurling is in a poor state by Cork's standards. The management didn't help themselves this season dropping Shane O'Neill or Paudi Sullivan. The hiding Tipp dished out to Limerick yesterday proves Cork underage are not that far off the rest of the top minor teams. The minor championship needs to prove young players with more exposure to competitive games.

The_Bull (Cork) - Posts: 248 - 11/07/2016 18:32:12    1881207

The Munster minor structures are stupid.

6 teams 2 groups of 3, 1 home game each. Top 2 into semis, top in each group getting home advantage. Simple yet effective competition to ensure everyone gets 2 games.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4207 - 11/07/2016 18:41:03    1881214

The bull I agree with ye it's a mad system. But we seem rpto be happy to change or talk of changing systems to help counties that were once powerhouses. Look at senior divison 1b all we ever hear is Wexford and Limerick need to be getting games to help them. Grand but why dont we hear Antrim and Laois or Carlow or Kerry need games at a higher standard?

My gripe isn't cork or Wexford far from it, my gripe is we always seem in a hurry to help counties who have plenty but not those that have liitle.

Minor structures though are a joke

Brianmac78 (Dublin) - Posts: 1168 - 11/07/2016 19:18:44    1881245

The bull I agree with ye it's a mad system. But we seem rpto be happy to change or talk of changing systems to help counties that were once powerhouses. Look at senior divison 1b all we ever hear is Wexford and Limerick need to be getting games to help them. Grand but why dont we hear Antrim and Laois or Carlow or Kerry need games at a higher standard?

My gripe isn't cork or Wexford far from it, my gripe is we always seem in a hurry to help counties who have plenty but not those that have liitle.

Minor structures though are a joke

Brianmac78 (Dublin) - Posts: 1168 - 11/07/2016 19:19:51    1881246

Replying To The_Bull:  "Re: Brianmac78 (Dublin)

A system where you win your 1st game and lose your 2nd game and you're out when you lose you're 1st game and win your next 2 and your into a Munster Final is crazy. One team is allowed to lose a game whereas another team who wins their 1st game but loses their 2nd game is out is ridiculous."
Yeah it's a strange one alright. We benefitted from it this year but fell on the wrong side of it in 2013.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 11/07/2016 20:22:35    1881325

Replying To The_Bull:  "The structure of this championship is beyond annoying. Cork beat Limerick last year, then get knocked out by Limerick in the semi-final. This year they beat Waterford, then a lay off of 8 or 9 weeks from April to the end of the Leaving Cert and then get beaten by Tipp. Tipp then destroy Limerick at home and Limerick are still in the championship.

Hurling needs teams at this age to have games and to develop. This structure is not benefiting counties trying to develop young players. I'm being selfish here for the benefit of Cork hurling. The camogie championship appears to be the best alternative to the current structure and should be trailed at minor or U17 level. The current structure is not helping Cork, Wexford, Offaly etc. to try at return to the top table."
Well Limerick beat Clare and Waterford and remember Cork were beaten in the Munster Finals at senior level in 2004 and 2013 and got to the final each year when their Munster conquerors who each only lost one game did not. It works both ways.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4316 - 11/07/2016 20:55:02    1881352

Replying To The_Bull:  "The structure of this championship is beyond annoying. Cork beat Limerick last year, then get knocked out by Limerick in the semi-final. This year they beat Waterford, then a lay off of 8 or 9 weeks from April to the end of the Leaving Cert and then get beaten by Tipp. Tipp then destroy Limerick at home and Limerick are still in the championship.

Hurling needs teams at this age to have games and to develop. This structure is not benefiting counties trying to develop young players. I'm being selfish here for the benefit of Cork hurling. The camogie championship appears to be the best alternative to the current structure and should be trailed at minor or U17 level. The current structure is not helping Cork, Wexford, Offaly etc. to try at return to the top table."
For God sake your county has thirty senior All Ireland titles, a huge hurling population, a half a million people to draw from and you blame 'the system' because ye are down for a few years. Get real.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4316 - 11/07/2016 20:58:29    1881357

Agree. Stupid competition. They trained since last September and they get two games. They play loads of challenge games anyway. Each team should play each other once. That gets you four games. Top two get final spot. That might not be ideal either. It has to be better than a system where there is a knock out competition and a backdoor with 5,"teams

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 11/07/2016 23:10:39    1881460

Replying To bennybunny:  "Agree. Stupid competition. They trained since last September and they get two games. They play loads of challenge games anyway. Each team should play each other once. That gets you four games. Top two get final spot. That might not be ideal either. It has to be better than a system where there is a knock out competition and a backdoor with 5,"teams"
Lads
Whats all thus panic about the future of Hurling in Cork about, they always bounce back. From 1904 to 1919 they won no Ireland and none then to 26, then they won four in six years. They then went 10 years without an All Ireland as LK and KK ruled the roost, but they then won four in a row. again they went from 54 to 66 when they won out of the blue after a string of huge beatings by Tipp. Again in the nineties when they went five years without a single win in the Munster Championship, I remember JBM saying Cork would now face any opposition in Munster 'with trepidation' , yet a little over twelve months later they were All Ireland Champions.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4316 - 11/07/2016 23:29:26    1881472

Are you aware that tipp were beaten by Waterford? maybe you,re not and Limerick beat Waterford so don't see an issue here Limerick got beaten for the first time in the Munster final what's your argument?
When i saw this topic I was sure it was to highlight that Galway having played no match now play ANtrim to get in to a semi final whereas Limerick play Wexford to get into a semi final both team already after playing multiple games to get to their provincial finals.
This doesn't do Galway any good either by the way but coming on moaning that limk are still in the championship just because they got a trimming by tipp is unfair imo as limk got to the final by beating what was put in front of them

someday (Limerick) - Posts: 1104 - 11/07/2016 23:56:32    1881479

Don't think Wexford are looking for help, we have helped ourselves over the past 5-10 years when we licked our wounds, took our medicine and put our shoulder to the wheel. I know we still have a long way to go but we are definitely on an upward curve.

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 12/07/2016 08:44:45    1881522

Replying To Pinkie:  "Don't think Wexford are looking for help, we have helped ourselves over the past 5-10 years when we licked our wounds, took our medicine and put our shoulder to the wheel. I know we still have a long way to go but we are definitely on an upward curve."
Dead right and Clare never looked for special conditions, or did limerick either, despite not winning a Munster Minor title in 29 years. It seems to me there is only panic when there is a blip in one of the 'Three Kings'.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4316 - 12/07/2016 09:53:09    1881559

The minor championship is without doubt the worst in the GAA, even that is saying something - Counties are training 5 months for a few games, Tipp and Limerick will go until August/September while Clare were finished in April. Why not in Munster have the 5 counties play each other once - 4 games each - either top 2 into the final or top 1 into final and 2vs3 playoff, winner and finalist into All Ireland knockout.
Could have the same in Leinster or have two groups of 4 or 5 including Galway and Antrim. Have the B competition run under the same conditions and play A and B semis and finals at the same time.

73forever (Limerick) - Posts: 89 - 12/07/2016 12:28:44    1881711

Cork beat Limerick last year, then get knocked out by Limerick in the semi-final.
The_Bull (Cork) - Posts:206 - 11/07/2016 16:50:36 18811

Correct Bull and to further show your point Corks reward for beating limerick was a semi final against limerick -in limerick (due to home and away agreement) should have been in cork

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 12/07/2016 12:42:15    1881726

Bull Tipp then destroy Limerick at home and Limerick are still in the championship.
-Waterford lost two games in munster in 2013 and won the all ireland

73forevers suggestion is good - play the 5 munster teams against each other - 2 home 2 away -reverse the games the next year and have 1 v 2 in munster final

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 12/07/2016 12:43:54    1881728

Replying To janesboro:  "Bull Tipp then destroy Limerick at home and Limerick are still in the championship.
-Waterford lost two games in munster in 2013 and won the all ireland

73forevers suggestion is good - play the 5 munster teams against each other - 2 home 2 away -reverse the games the next year and have 1 v 2 in munster final"
You rightly say Tipp destroyed LK. That was the one bad game LK had in the past four seasons in Munster. Anyway Tipp were three points behind Cork who their fourteen men and beat them by five. If Cork had reversed the result last year and not us we would not be having this conversation. Do not worry about Cork Hurling it will be fine and anyway I never see any of them worrying about us when we losing minor games in the first round year in, year out for about twenty years.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4316 - 12/07/2016 15:47:49    1881932

Replying To janesboro:  "Cork beat Limerick last year, then get knocked out by Limerick in the semi-final.
The_Bull (Cork) - Posts:206 - 11/07/2016 16:50:36 18811

Correct Bull and to further show your point Corks reward for beating limerick was a semi final against limerick -in limerick (due to home and away agreement) should have been in cork"
They already had played Cork in the first round in Pairc Ui Rinn last year. How many home games do Cork need?

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4316 - 12/07/2016 16:31:44    1881958