Longford......take a bow!

Well done Longford!

Ah sure isn't Leinster Football terrible!?

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 09/07/2016 20:07:48    1879312

Great result!

Admin, there 2 threads on this result (along with one on the game). Any chance they can be merged?

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 09/07/2016 20:16:29    1879326

cop on. last impact in leinster football was once in the late 60s.

this was a case of a defeated team set up and aiming to win their province against another knowing 100% that they would be in the back door early and prepped for that

DoireCityFC (Derry) - Posts: 1580 - 09/07/2016 20:33:27    1879353

Replying To DoireCityFC:  "cop on. last impact in leinster football was once in the late 60s.

this was a case of a defeated team set up and aiming to win their province against another knowing 100% that they would be in the back door early and prepped for that"
Yes. Dead right. They are used to be to being hammered by Dublin so they accept that as their lot. They have no such history against Monaghan so they prepare accordingly. Leinster football championship (like all the others) is still a pathetic waste of time competition and should be scrapped immediately.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 09/07/2016 20:44:09    1879373

Replying To DoireCityFC:  "cop on. last impact in leinster football was once in the late 60s.

this was a case of a defeated team set up and aiming to win their province against another knowing 100% that they would be in the back door early and prepped for that"
only four Ulster teams left tells it's own story so much for Ulster being so strong

cityman73 (Limerick) - Posts: 775 - 09/07/2016 20:50:22    1879389

Well done Longford football

liner (Mayo) - Posts: 756 - 09/07/2016 20:50:31    1879390

Replying To cityman73:  "only four Ulster teams left tells it's own story so much for Ulster being so strong"
I didn't mention anything about Ulster. I'm one of the few up here without a chip on my shoulder.

DoireCityFC (Derry) - Posts: 1580 - 09/07/2016 20:58:49    1879414

So going by Doire's logic Limerick or Waterford beating Mayo or Donegal wouldn't be a shock...ridiculous argument...beating Down was impressive but this is another level.

Monaghan had realistic aims of being in the All Ireland semi final, the quarters would been a minimum aim and for Longford to beat them away is a fantastic result....wouldn't fancy being drawn against them on Monday....

county man (Limerick) - Posts: 1102 - 09/07/2016 20:59:02    1879416

Replying To DoireCityFC:  "I didn't mention anything about Ulster. I'm one of the few up here without a chip on my shoulder."
Doire he's made a thread that opens "I'm not an Ulster hater but"
He's on this thread as well spreading the same message.

I think troll would be the nice way of saying it, I'd like to use harsher words though.
Back to the hurling and rugby there...g'led!!

Seansy48 (Tyrone) - Posts: 237 - 09/07/2016 21:02:05    1879424

Longford fans. this should make the win even sweeter...

https://mobile.twitter.com/Deensht/status/751855767116976128

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 09/07/2016 21:41:04    1879498

Well done Longford. Unfortunately that Monaghan had to play 3 games in 15 days. Surely the GAA can do better.

crikey (Australia) - Posts: 355 - 09/07/2016 21:43:28    1879501

Well done Longford. Unfortunate that Monaghan had to play 3 games in 15 days. Surely the GAA can do better.

crikey (Australia) - Posts: 355 - 09/07/2016 21:43:57    1879502

Congrats to Longford hungrier team without question. Our lads looked complacent and weren't at the races.

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1798 - 09/07/2016 21:46:53    1879514

I have to say congrats to Longford on the win as I'm sure most people thought Monaghan were gonna win with some to spare. In fairness though that is a big ask,to ask any team to go out and bust a gut 3 times in 2 weeks and go to work and train etc etc. it's too much in fairness.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 09/07/2016 21:55:25    1879533

"So going by Doire's logic Limerick or Waterford beating Mayo or Donegal wouldn't be a shock...ridiculous argument...beating Down was impressive but this is another level."

Very disrespectful to the longford, limerick and Waterford footballs are in one go. fine effort.

longford didn't go out to lose as neither would limerick to mayo or Waterford to Donegal. upsets happen every year in every sport and we all think its great and fair play to the lads bla bla bla. no one cares a week, month a year down the line. what have they achieved? what have they won? will the longford team go home tonight amist crowds lining the streets for their return or will they know this was only one game and they have to get ready for the next.

DoireCityFC (Derry) - Posts: 1580 - 09/07/2016 21:59:15    1879545

Replying To cityman73:  "only four Ulster teams left tells it's own story so much for Ulster being so strong"
Have you posted this nonsense on every page Cityman Limerick - as I have replied before if indeed you can read - the Ulster posters don't say they have the best teams they say their championship is the most competitive - as another poster stated earlier to you - how did your teams do today?

IrishGael3 (USA) - Posts: 1092 - 09/07/2016 22:07:16    1879562

Well done Longford. Super result!

David (Meath) - Posts: 567 - 09/07/2016 22:13:51    1879576

Replying To David:  "Well done Longford. Super result!"
And sorry yes well done to Longford today on what seemed to be great performance - I know Monaghan had 3 games in 15 days but they are still a mighty team and to take that scalp - hats off to you.

IrishGael3 (USA) - Posts: 1092 - 09/07/2016 22:16:30    1879584

Expected Monaghan to win but this is far from a shock.
They were very poor against donegal last week.

Longford have previous . .beating mayo in 2010 was it?

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5010 - 09/07/2016 22:17:26    1879585

Success is measured in different ways in different counties Doire...only 1 county can win an All Ireland.... a division 3 team beating two division 1 teams in a row is success and something for Longford to be proud of.

county man (Limerick) - Posts: 1102 - 09/07/2016 22:25:21    1879598