Mayo Antics

I always support mayo when laois exit the championship but i wont be after today. Worst display of cheating ive seen in ages. Diving throughout the game.

Malonemagic (Laois) - Posts: 766 - 09/07/2016 17:02:50    1878965

Cillian O Connor worst exponent of this since he came on the scene. Hopefully it'll come back to haunt them as refs should now be clued in to their cheating.

HEREBENJI (Donegal) - Posts: 421 - 09/07/2016 17:23:46    1879027

Ah here...

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 09/07/2016 17:29:41    1879040

Replying To HEREBENJI:  "Cillian O Connor worst exponent of this since he came on the scene. Hopefully it'll come back to haunt them as refs should now be clued in to their cheating."
Dont count on it.
tyrone have been at it since harte took over and nothing has been done about it yet.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 09/07/2016 17:32:07    1879048

What makes the decision particularly bad is that o se was going away from goal. No goal chance. Common sense dictates that even if it turned out to be a foul it would easily be forgiven for not giving it. It wouldnt have denied mayo a goal. Terrible decision

Malonemagic (Laois) - Posts: 766 - 09/07/2016 17:43:22    1879076

Replying To Malonemagic:  "What makes the decision particularly bad is that o se was going away from goal. No goal chance. Common sense dictates that even if it turned out to be a foul it would easily be forgiven for not giving it. It wouldnt have denied mayo a goal. Terrible decision"
In fairness.... Doesn't matter what way the player is facing. If its a foul, then its a foul.

The only reason this penalty should not have been given, is cause it wasn't a foul.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 09/07/2016 17:47:33    1879086

So a penalty shouldn't be a penalty if the player is facing away from goal? Where is that rule in the gaa?

Listen he went to ground easy but quigley fouled keane for the fermanagh goal too. In the end, mayo won by 5 so it disnt make as much difference as people are making out.

One thing i didnt like was the way rte played a replay to pete mcgrath to get a reaction out of him. It was a bit tacky and he deserves beter

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 09/07/2016 17:59:06    1879110

Just home and no it was not a penalty. Anyone agree cillian should have had one in first half ? Thigh the ref was against us big time in first half. He tried to even it out I reckon

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11231 - 09/07/2016 17:59:49    1879114

Replying To yew_tree:  "Just home and no it was not a penalty. Anyone agree cillian should have had one in first half ? Thigh the ref was against us big time in first half. He tried to even it out I reckon"
They shouldn't be trying to "even things out"... Every decision should be judged on its own merits, not whats gone on before. But fair play for agreeing it wasn't a penalty.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 09/07/2016 18:06:13    1879124

Evidence , not that it will make a jot of difference that the other officials need to have more say and be given responsibility to make call to ref on this sort of carry on. Those suggesting it didn't make the difference are missing the point.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 09/07/2016 18:07:55    1879131

Replying To TheMaster:  "So a penalty shouldn't be a penalty if the player is facing away from goal? Where is that rule in the gaa?

Listen he went to ground easy but quigley fouled keane for the fermanagh goal too. In the end, mayo won by 5 so it disnt make as much difference as people are making out.

One thing i didnt like was the way rte played a replay to pete mcgrath to get a reaction out of him. It was a bit tacky and he deserves beter"
The penalty changed the game, Mayo may have won or drawn Fermanagh could have tapped over points instead of having to go for goal. He dived!!

theduke66 (Dublin) - Posts: 334 - 09/07/2016 18:08:01    1879133

Replying To TheMaster:  "So a penalty shouldn't be a penalty if the player is facing away from goal? Where is that rule in the gaa?

One thing i didnt like was the way rte played a replay to pete mcgrath to get a reaction out of him. It was a bit tacky and he deserves beter"
I think Pete McGrath kept his composure pretty well. It must be very hard for a manager to do that after such disappointment.

The game was still in the balance when the penalty was given. Mayo were on top but they were a point down and Fermanagh has just steadied the ship with a point.

It was a massive factor in the outcome of the game.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4225 - 09/07/2016 18:16:24    1879146

I have a lot of sympathy for Fermanagh but I don't begrudge Mayo. They've been on the end of their fair share of rough calls over the years. Shame they caught this break against Fermanagh and not Kerry or Dublin.

As for O Shea. Ye all need to lay of the melodramatic statements deriding him.

First off ike most GAA players at this level he's an amateur that trains professionally so labelling him scum as he has been on social media is disgraceful. And yes of course the Fermanagh lads put in the same and deserve better but that's an issue for PAID administrators to sort out.

He takes more physical abuse without reward than any player in the country barring maybe Michael Murphy. If he went down a bit easy so what? How frustrating must it be for him being hauled all over the place with often no reward. How many penalties has he won in championship? I'd guess 1.

roundball (Tipperary) - Posts: 2514 - 09/07/2016 18:17:24    1879148

Replying To waynoI:  "In fairness.... Doesn't matter what way the player is facing. If its a foul, then its a foul.

The only reason this penalty should not have been given, is cause it wasn't a foul."
Waynol i think you missed my point. Either mcquillan was trying to screw fermanagh which i dont believe , or he guessed . And if youre going to make a guess at least do it in a goal scoring situation. Dont be proactively awarding penalties.

Malonemagic (Laois) - Posts: 766 - 09/07/2016 18:17:33    1879149

Yes Pete Mc Grath is a man with class & compared to Rochford who failed to call it as it was. What does Rochford work at again.

moc.dna (Galway) - Posts: 1212 - 09/07/2016 18:25:41    1879165

Quit with the BS. It was a dive, there is nothing else to say about it.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 09/07/2016 18:38:35    1879177

Quit with the BS. It was a dive, there is nothing else to say about it.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 09/07/2016 18:38:36    1879178

Replying To waynoI:  "They shouldn't be trying to "even things out"... Every decision should be judged on its own merits, not whats gone on before. But fair play for agreeing it wasn't a penalty."
No it's not right to even it up...but that's what they do. Look Aidan was totally wrong in what he done. I hate diving and I don't want to see him or any Mayo player do it. The fact he has been hard done by in the past should not come into it but maybe in a players mind it does?

Wayno would agree cillian should have had a penalty? I thought we were very hard done by. Fermanagh only scored 2 points in second and were time wasting until Mayo hit the front...it was all Mayo in the second half.

That said there a serious problems in our play and I can't see us winning any all Ireland this year. We live to fight another day I suppose. Positives were colm Boyle, Keith, big Barry when he came on and old realisble Dillon...worrying however that we need to keep going back to the older guys.

PS. Great Fermanagh people near me and I just saw Pete McGraths interview after and he is an absolute gentleman. I wish him and Fermanagh well in the future. We know how it feels to feel let down and hard done by after a defeat.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11231 - 09/07/2016 18:41:20    1879182

Replying To gotmilk:  "Quit with the BS. It was a dive, there is nothing else to say about it."
It definitely was. Not feeling too proud about it but happy to go through to the next round.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7345 - 09/07/2016 18:43:55    1879186

Really Mayo should just keep quite about penelty instead of sending senior members out to argue what is blantly obvious also. Also AOS may have got the call today but don't expect mayo to get many 50/50 calls from now on.

theduke66 (Dublin) - Posts: 334 - 09/07/2016 18:44:33    1879188