Level of Donegal support

Something that struck me today at the game and I'm ashamed to say it was the real lack of travelling support for Donegal today.
In the past you could always rely on a roar from our fans to get the blood up in a tight situation but the numbers just were not there today and this group of players deserve better for what they have given for the jersey.....and this was Monaghan! If playing that lot does not stoke the interest I don't know what will.
I really hope those watching todays game at home realise there is life in this team yet and come out in numbers next Saturday.
From a positive point of view I was the happiest I've been in a while coming away from a game...we looked like we had a plan and the 2 McHughs were like greased lightning today. When we got in the last third we always looked like we had a goal in us and left at least 2 behind us. If Murph had of brought his shooting boots we would have been out of sight and Monaghan would have needed 16 mins added time instead of the 6 that the ref pulled out of his pay day for the GAA locker !!
The Chonaill Abu

bcfb (Donegal) - Posts: 18 - 25/06/2016 23:12:14    1872051

Aye cos 7pm on a Saturday is ideal. Where are you from? Yep let's hop in the car with the kids down to Cavan. We'll be down from West Donegal in half an hour sure.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9115 - 25/06/2016 23:48:33    1872061

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Aye cos 7pm on a Saturday is ideal. Where are you from? Yep let's hop in the car with the kids down to Cavan. We'll be down from West Donegal in half an hour sure."
Point taken lockjaw but would that account for the numbers. By my reckoning we were outnumbered 4 or 5 to 1 there today.

bcfb (Donegal) - Posts: 18 - 26/06/2016 00:13:03    1872069

And what about the disgraceful dive by your goalkeeper

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 26/06/2016 00:13:19    1872070

Replying To Dellboypolecat:  "And what about the disgraceful dive by your goalkeeper"
I won't have a Tyrone man on talking to me about disgraceful things in gaa when youse seem to be constantly in the eye of the storm yourselves.... "hairgate".... spitting at the then footballer of the year lacy in the stands.... I could go on..... I completely disagree with what the keeper did but at least it's not woven into the character of our football unlike some just a stones throw from the bridge at logged.

.....and regardless what about it??? I never mentioned it in my original post and never raised it for discussion.

bcfb (Donegal) - Posts: 18 - 26/06/2016 00:23:07    1872074

Replying To Dellboypolecat:  "And what about the disgraceful dive by your goalkeeper"
Do people actually understand how these discussion threads work. Completely off topic.

DL4SAM (Donegal) - Posts: 19 - 26/06/2016 00:32:21    1872076

Shouldn't have done it. Bad form. Game was in melting pot etc etc
What is it you want me to say? Defend him to the hilt?

Lets not start finger pointing. Young McGinley's hair do wouldn't be up to McCann's stylish coiffure.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9115 - 26/06/2016 00:43:30    1872080

I think the performances of the Donegal team in the league had a lot to do with the turnout yesterday. Our collective patience has been sorely tested over the past few months & many were sceptical about where Donegal were going.

I have to confess myself that having worked yesterday up until 3.00 I was having second thoughts myself but am really glad I went.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 26/06/2016 16:22:02    1872292

Come on give it a break Polecat - even if it's a wind up its not even funny.

IrishGael3 (USA) - Posts: 1092 - 26/06/2016 18:23:38    1872343

I agree bcfb although the time and distance would def have been a factor. But if it was an Ulster final our day out in Croker i doubt the time would not have been much of a factor or issue then.

We have always had fairly good travelling support in this County but the large crowds you speak of are I fear mosstly made up of bandwagon supporters who jumped on the countys recent success this past few number of years, I know many people who where never at a GAA game in their lifes who where sitting in Croke park on all Ireland finals whilst alot of real fans couldnt get tickets. I can even verify that during our success there were people not even of this County sitting in Inishowen bars with Donegal tops on during the big games.

Dont get me wrong I think the Countys recent success has been Great for GAA in this county and its great to see Familys getting invovled 'Bandwagons or not. As long as they are genuine Donegal Folk i have no issues.

I think alot of these people cant Comprehend and cant differench between league and Championship games. Example ' I heard a woman on Highland radio on the Shaun Doherty Show after the league Final proclaiming she would never be at another Donegal game ever again because of the performance...Imagine that..After all this Team has giving to our county to turn around and come out with a statement like that. And she was not alone with many others texting in with similiar comments.

Wait to see if we get to another Ulster Final and pssibly even further' they will soon come out of the woodwork again.

Muckross,

You are a poster I very much respect on here and Your posts are note worthy and I am in no way Questioning your loyalty or Questioning you as a Donegal fan ' as its clear to all you are. But I think your post somehow backs up what I am saying. I know and respect the fact that many lead busy lifes an have genuine reasons for not attending games that they usually would if they could. And in this instance many could be forgiving for not making the trip due to young kids,work ect... In my own case I made the trip with children and did not arrive home till after midnight and the family went to bed..I then watched the repeat of the game on sky and went to bed well after 3 am and was back up at 9 and went about my chores and other bussiness and then came back and got the pan on and made a fry up for the late sunday risers.

But bandwagoners and genuine reasons aside I think it would be shameful for anybody who would take that approch you mention' about being sceptical about performances. Basically what you are saying is..' Alot of people thought we would be beaten so therefore thought whats the point in going..! I thought that was only the attitude of the likes of Derry supporters "Genuine/loyal Derry supporters aside of course"... It would be a terrible shame if this is whats creeping into our support for a team that has given us so much Joy.

So i would urge any Donegal fan reading this who did not attend for the sole reason of thinking we would be beat..To get there ass's down the Road next Saturday afternoon and Roar on this fine Team On to another Ulster Final.

And fair play to you Muckross for making the effort to get on the road after work..My tickets for the replay are already ordered and although its a **** of a drive to Cavan'.. A team of wild horses wouldnt stop me going.

Remember what JIM said to his players..THIS IS DONEGAL..THATS ARE OUR PEOPLE OUT THERE...!

And Il say to all DL fans this is our TEAM lets get behind them and show our support for the effort they are putting in. No point sitting in the house hoping they reach the final..The team wont hear us sitting in the house shouting at a TV Screen.

Lets Go Donegal..This teams far from being washed up..Pull on that Jersey,get you flags out and get the tank filled up and get on the road and Cheer this Fine team on to more Glory.

InishowenMan (Donegal) - Posts: 216 - 27/06/2016 18:59:48    1872985

Over the years I have seen Donegal play in Wembley(1973) Ruislip and the old Hendon FC ground ( challenge v Mayo I think 1992)
I have spent a lot of money following Donegal as most of the time I have to travell back from Brittain
And I must say some of the greatest moments of my life came from following the COUNTY when I'm home at Xmas I usually go to a McKenna cup game.
But i never thought about us getting beat as a reason for not going to a match and in a lot of cases over the years the odds were stacked against us. I hope supporters don't take that view , I saw enough from Donegal on Easter Saturday night in Croke park to still think we will suprise a lot of people this year. We have some great players , young talent coming through and to me the FUTHER is bright.
Over the years I have got to know a lot of Donegal people and Iv got to know them through following the county. I know we have a hardcore of fantastic supporters , always at games and if I live and when I retire I since rally hope Donegal have a good team as I will have plenty of time to follow them.
So hope we win the replay and hope we have another big day in Clones with both teams.

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 27/06/2016 21:01:53    1873034

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Aye cos 7pm on a Saturday is ideal. Where are you from? Yep let's hop in the car with the kids down to Cavan. We'll be down from West Donegal in half an hour sure."
i had my kids with me?

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1595 - 27/06/2016 22:35:03    1873066

seriously now??? what about "hairgate last year"???

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1595 - 27/06/2016 22:35:47    1873069

Replying To eunans4ever:  "i had my kids with me?"
Good man.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9115 - 28/06/2016 13:21:11    1873262

@InishowenMan

I dont see your issue with 'bandwagon' fans, or people who only have a fleeting interest, coming to support the team on bigger games. Just look at the Irish support being heralded over in France, I doubt many of them have went to a LOI game and probably dont attend many games in the Aviva. Back to Donegal, would you rather just have 2-3000 of the hardcore fans who go to mckenna cup and league games attend big championship games? I'll never forget the sight of 40,000+ in Donegal colours like we seen for the Cork semi final in 2012 even though for 50% of the crowd it would have been their first game of the season. Would you rather that level support or us just to have 2-3000 at an All Ireland semi final? The more the merrier I say.

Antifa (Donegal) - Posts: 143 - 29/06/2016 16:36:12    1873908

@Antifa

I Strongly Suggest you reread my post and try and digest and fathom what i have put and you Should come away with the fact that i actually agree with what you have put.!

InishowenMan (Donegal) - Posts: 216 - 29/06/2016 20:42:12    1874008

I think Donegal does have a few thousand loyal supporters who go to most matches, even the McKenna cup games. I know from being a season ticket holder that you soon start to recognize familiar faces at games. You will always get people who will only go if they think their team is going to win, I have no problem with that & every county has that. However we all know people who never were at a match in their life and are there on All-Ireland final day, that would drive me mad.

One other factor might be that the media were fascinated with JMcG and to some extent that might have got people talking about the matches more. This hype could have resulted in more supporters going.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1873 - 30/06/2016 09:56:03    1874126

Replying To Green_Gold:  "I think Donegal does have a few thousand loyal supporters who go to most matches, even the McKenna cup games. I know from being a season ticket holder that you soon start to recognize familiar faces at games. You will always get people who will only go if they think their team is going to win, I have no problem with that & every county has that. However we all know people who never were at a match in their life and are there on All-Ireland final day, that would drive me mad.

One other factor might be that the media were fascinated with JMcG and to some extent that might have got people talking about the matches more. This hype could have resulted in more supporters going."
Green_Gold you have hit the nail on the head. I have no doubt that Donegal have a hardcore like most counties but this is inflated with success and the JMcG factor certainly heightened interest in your case. I lived in Donegal 1997-2001 (the yrs when we were going well) and went to a number of Donegal league and championship games in Ballybofey. While support then was nothing like it is now I knew there was a hardcore who would go to any Donegal match. Same here in Galway where there will always be a fickle element. People give out about bandwagoners and while it is annoying come all-Ireland day (if one's county is fortunate to be there) the more the merrier for any match up that point.

As a neutral I would not be too hard on the Donegal support last Sat. Distance, time etc is a factor and also once success is achieved some peole will pick and choose the matches they will attend depending on opposition, stage of championship etc. Still it is better than having no success and the county team barely factoring in the hearts and minds of the general populace.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 30/06/2016 10:48:52    1874149

Have to hand it to you lads, you're a credit to the G.A.A such passion for the game, such massive desire for Donegal to do well and for them to have as much support as possible.
It sounds very much like some of you lads and ladies(?) may as well tog out with the lads when they take to the field.

You're right too the McCann dive was horrendous, I was so embarrased. Can't be defended to me. Worst part is he's a quality player but that'll be the book on him from here on in.

Seansy48 (Tyrone) - Posts: 237 - 30/06/2016 22:09:44    1874480

Fair play to all the Support who travelled down on Saturday. Was very noticable that there was more DL Vehicles on the road on the way Down and Up.

Watched the game in the company of an Elderly Couple from Donegal town who had just got back from Holidays and the Auld Fella was a great character and enjoyed his Craic. Had some friendly banter with a big Monaghan man in front of us and also a very nice young lady.

There was a Monahgan Man/fan a few rows down who was letting the whole occasion get the better of him..And turned around to me when the penalty was giving and shouted up something about a black card and whe McManus converted he turned and gave me a fist pump with what looked like nearly tears in his eyes...O' how vociferous I became from then on and he never turned around once after that..Shook hands with the Fine Monaghan people directly in Front after the final whistle. And there was some dose way up behind who never shut his trap the whole match giving out tripe about the ref and the previous match.

Had a nice chat with some very nice men from Aodh Ruadh back at the Cars. And what a nightmare getting out of Cavan..The traffic didnt move for the best part of an Hour and it was 1am before we crossed the border back into Gods County.

Im sure we will be out in big Numbers for the Ulster final.

InishowenMan (Donegal) - Posts: 216 - 04/07/2016 16:26:56    1876205