Players opting out of County Panels

Ronan Daly leaves the Roscommon Panel. Are some players now seeing there more to life than just football...?

Mid Don (Donegal) - Posts: 70 - 03/06/2016 10:54:13    1861129

Replying To Mid Don:  "Ronan Daly leaves the Roscommon Panel. Are some players now seeing there more to life than just football...?"
Players have always opted out of panels, this is not a new phenomenon.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 03/06/2016 11:27:06    1861140

It depends on the circumstances. For example, some Wexford players have opted out for exam reasons, some because they would rather go out and drink pints, each to their own I guess. I would find it hard to sacrifice as much as they do only to get abuse off "supporters" after a bad performance.

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 03/06/2016 11:37:56    1861146

Gotmilk got in there before me.

Players have always opted out of county panels for various reasons over the years.

There is nothing new in this. In 30 years time there will be players opting out of panels too.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 03/06/2016 11:40:54    1861148

Players opting out, fun gone out of the game, not much fun is losing either and I doubt if Dublin/Kerry/Mayo are going to take their foot off the gas so this can all be rectified.

The writing is on the wall in permanent marker
"If you can't stand the heat..."

KerryKillers (Dublin) - Posts: 711 - 03/06/2016 12:05:29    1861160

Ronan Daly is only a young lad who decided to head to the States for the summer.remember these boys are not been paid to give up so much of thr life's to entertain us.if I was good enough to play county I don't think I'd have the dedication some county boys do.

dave1988 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1055 - 03/06/2016 12:33:53    1861180

Bottom line is the enjoyment appears far less than 20 years ago and I think this is the difference. Of course only 2 or 3 teams will dominate at any one time but the key difference is that unlike 20 years ago players do not have a life now with every move scrutinized. In fairness to players I am sure they do see it as a privilege to play for their county but the demands on their time in my view is so great that it mitigates against any reasonable enjoyment unless you are winning something.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 03/06/2016 13:20:28    1861208

Replying To kiloughter:  "Bottom line is the enjoyment appears far less than 20 years ago and I think this is the difference. Of course only 2 or 3 teams will dominate at any one time but the key difference is that unlike 20 years ago players do not have a life now with every move scrutinized. In fairness to players I am sure they do see it as a privilege to play for their county but the demands on their time in my view is so great that it mitigates against any reasonable enjoyment unless you are winning something."
Please back this up with facts, and not just spout Brolly attention getting nonsense.

How can anyone say football is less enjoyable for the guys who play??

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 03/06/2016 15:09:48    1861255

Occasionally we get players who opt-in!

bumpernut (Antrim) - Posts: 1852 - 03/06/2016 15:19:51    1861259

Replying To bumpernut:  "Occasionally we get players who opt-in!"
Ah witnof you don't need facts to back this up. 52 players in Galway over the last 18 months either not taking up the invite from Mgt or dropping out of the panel should be fact enough. It is plain to the naked eye. Am definitely not in the Brolly corner but in relation to this issue he does make some valid points. Added to this is the fact that Football is so tactical and structured that very few players play with abandon anymore. In our case we know we have been left behind (our own fault obviously) but if you are telling me football is more enjoyable for the average footballer I think there is no more to be said.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 03/06/2016 15:45:45    1861267

Lads are missing social events, like weddings, friends 21sts parties or even just the freedom of being able to enjoy a few pints at the weekends with their friends. The commitment is increasing more and more each year. Every second and every decision of your life is transfixed towards your county and being a county footballer. I see this commitment and dedication at first hand as my best friend is on the county panel, and the dedication is admirable to see what people do to play at the level. so you cant blame people for opting out, theres more to life than just training

ShortGrass_1 (Kildare) - Posts: 223 - 03/06/2016 16:04:48    1861272

There should be a flexibility within these teams that allows for players to attend weddings, parties or functions without major backlash. There is enough training sessions in the week to ensure players are still maintaining a high fitness rate.

If there was more of a life/football balance, I think less players would be taking time off. But if a players does want to travel or do something different for a year, then they should be supported and encouraged.

Your not going to get the best out of somebody by constantly making them unhappy, telling a fella he is dropped for having a pint at a wedding or something. Not when that fella is busting himself a few days a week with little or no financial gain in sight.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 03/06/2016 16:57:15    1861288

Replying To Pinkie:  "It depends on the circumstances. For example, some Wexford players have opted out for exam reasons, some because they would rather go out and drink pints, each to their own I guess. I would find it hard to sacrifice as much as they do only to get abuse off "supporters" after a bad performance."
Totally agree Pinkie. I can only speak for my own county but it seems to me that the criticism of county players oftentimes goes way overboard. I really wonder sometimes why anybody would put their life on hold, train intensely for most of the year, to receive the level of criticism and abuse that can be hurled their way by so called supporters. An outsider looking at it would think they must be on professional wages to ship the kind of criticism they get when performances don't match expectations. The contrast with rugby players couldn't be more stark -- I know they are subject to criticism too but they are getting well paid for it and overall they are held in high esteem by rugby supporters. You never hear of that kind of abuse levelled at rugby players like I hear was levelled at Wexford hurlers and management after their recent loss to Dublin.

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1903 - 03/06/2016 17:57:56    1861301

It's shocking if the GAA is denying players the opportunity to drink.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 03/06/2016 19:29:45    1861326

The inter county game is increasingly just for eternal students and teachers.

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4624 - 03/06/2016 19:52:58    1861331

Replying To neverright:  "It's shocking if the GAA is denying players the opportunity to drink."
Although your joking it does raise a general point of the stereotypical drunk paddy. There is nothing stopping the players going to functions ie wedding,parties etc. They just don't have to go and drink 15 pints and act the maggot. Shock horror they can go and not drink alcohol.....who would off thought. I know of many occasions where county players have had a wedding and had a championship game the next day and they still went and enjoyed themselves.
Look committing to county football is time consuming. There are many other hobbies/sports that take up just as much time and effort and you don't get any of the benefits that these players get. They are treated extremely well financially for an amateur sport.....every piece of gear under the sun,physios,doctors,masseurs etc. Its a man or women's choice to commit to county football.....if they feel they are not up for it so be it. There will be other players to take your place.....go play for your club....become a referee. Players have a choice. I respect every single county player out there but they are there because they choose to be there.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 03/06/2016 21:14:27    1861354

Replying To The_Fridge:  "Although your joking it does raise a general point of the stereotypical drunk paddy. There is nothing stopping the players going to functions ie wedding,parties etc. They just don't have to go and drink 15 pints and act the maggot. Shock horror they can go and not drink alcohol.....who would off thought. I know of many occasions where county players have had a wedding and had a championship game the next day and they still went and enjoyed themselves.
Look committing to county football is time consuming. There are many other hobbies/sports that take up just as much time and effort and you don't get any of the benefits that these players get. They are treated extremely well financially for an amateur sport.....every piece of gear under the sun,physios,doctors,masseurs etc. Its a man or women's choice to commit to county football.....if they feel they are not up for it so be it. There will be other players to take your place.....go play for your club....become a referee. Players have a choice. I respect every single county player out there but they are there because they choose to be there."
Dead right man, alcohol is only a legal narcotic because it poses as a normal vessel to mouth social pastime just like you would tea or coffee. If we had to smoke or inject it to sample it's delights it my not be so PC.
And the obvious culture based element is hard to ignore. But it doesn't have to remain our culture.

KerryKillers (Dublin) - Posts: 711 - 03/06/2016 21:45:59    1861370

They are not professionals they are expected to behave like them - for nothing! A lot are actually saying "to hell with my county" and staying with their club and having a life as well. Look at the average ages of Inter-county teams if your over 24 your time is limited. It is now a very very young mans game.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4896 - 03/06/2016 22:26:39    1861380

The damage is that it is the players from the weaker and middle ranking Football counties who are opting out in large numbers . This means an ever widening gap between the top 4/5 counties and the rest which will be very difficult to ever close. Previously players from the likes of Limerick, Down etc wouldnt opt out because the commitment was not so ridiculous that they could also have a life outside football. But the reality is players now will not sacrifice so much just for 2 or 3 matches in the summer.

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4624 - 08/06/2016 21:28:25    1863891

Then you have guys like Sean Cavanagh,Dick Clerkin,Colm Mc Fadden who are still giving all they can after many years hard slog already.It has to be something they love and want to do for them to keep at it.Same for Gooch and Colm O neill coming back after bad injuries to give it another lash,O Neill for a 3rd time! Ye have to love it lads.Simple as that.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 09/06/2016 07:45:44    1863993