Kerry Mafia

What do people think of Kerry ex players tiresome mind games in the media?? Every week we have a ex Kerry player playing the poor mouth and bitterness insulting Dublin. Fizmaurice came out with nasty words after league final, Tomas O'Se came out with a few insults last week and now Darragh O'Se playing the money advantage card and Cluxton cranky speech in final last September. I never heard these excuses from 96-2010. It seems to me Kerry cant take their beating and produce a heap of excuses afterwards why they didn't win. It all seems to be stem from when Armagh and Tyrone beat them in noughties.??

Gael85 (Dublin) - Posts: 1433 - 18/05/2016 13:18:57    1855991

I do find it funny though how quick the Dubs are to jump down your throat when you suggest that being able to bring in big sponsorship money might just possibly be a help to them. Go on the Dublin GAA website and click on partners and you find that they have 13 official sponsors but you'd be careful about bringing them up around the Dubs.
Even Stephen Cluxton got cranky about it in his All-Ireland speech last year. You'd feel like asking them if money isn't a factor in their results, why are they putting such a big effort into going looking for it. There's no shame in acknowledging it has a role.
We should all be a bit more open about this. Dublin have a natural advantage over all other counties. Kerry have a natural advantage over nearly them all. It's not blackguarding either set-up to say that money plays a big part in keeping them at the top of the pile. It's just the way of the world.

I think you just proved his point. He's not having a go at the money but at how precious you lads are about it.
Why not acknowledge that it helps. Kerry access a shed load of money each year through different sources and the results back it up.
Donegal did likewise.
If you don't think it does, then you won't mind it getting pooled for the rest of the country to use. We will if you will.

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 18/05/2016 13:46:36    1856003

Jaysus never seen this before, a poster on the Hogan Stand putting up a topic to have a dig at Kerry.

I salute your unique contribution to this forum.

Keep up the good work.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 18/05/2016 13:55:46    1856013

They are like Liverpool in that half their ex players end up in the media!
BUT
Will people get over what Tomas said FFS...it was in no way insulting or mocking. It was a valid point and he owed nobody an apology for it
Some people just love to be offended
Tomas is very respectful of the Dubs and I would find himself and Jim McG to be excellent reads

As for Darragh O'Se, well, regardless of what the subject, I wouldnt be a fan.

Darragh O'Cinneide is an excellent broadcaster and I enjoy his work on TG4.
John O'Keefe is a very good writer and I always respect lads from Kerry who avoid the yerra yerra rubbish and say what they really think. O'Keefe is top notch.
Galvin - The Jury is out

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 18/05/2016 13:56:31    1856014

I'd like you to retract the word mafia please as it has extremely offensive connotations unless you have some evidence to back it up.

Re:Dara what did he say that upset you. money plays a huge role in modern inter-county football and Dublin by a significant margin are the most wealthy. Not exactly splitting the atom with that statement

KYTitletown (Kerry) - Posts: 816 - 18/05/2016 14:07:49    1856019

I'd like you to retract the word mafia please as it has extremely offensive connotations unless you have some evidence to back it up.

Agree. Can it be changed to Kerry Mob or Kerry Syndicate please. Personally I like Kerry Cosa Nostra but we're not in Italy so that would just be ridiculous.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 18/05/2016 14:30:03    1856033

There's one or two of them here too, gael.

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 18/05/2016 14:40:06    1856039

my point is every game Kerry lose there is an excuse players been victimised. I didnt hear Cork whinging from Nicholas Murphy got a broken jaw when targeted at throw in. Michael Donnellan taken in 2000 against Galway. Galway never said anything at time. John O'Mahony in his book reckoned Donnellan never recovered from that game. He was taken out 5 times in his first half. Michael Murphy man handled off the ball in 2014 final. Donegal didn't complain and took their beaten.

Gael85 (Dublin) - Posts: 1433 - 18/05/2016 14:58:24    1856051

off course money helps but at end of day if you dont have the players you win nothing. Take out Cluxton, O'Sullivan,Flynn and Brogan we would struggle. When Cluxton retires we will struggle for a few years. Kerry, Donegal, Tyrone and Mayo are catching up with us fast.

Gael85 (Dublin) - Posts: 1433 - 18/05/2016 15:09:57    1856060

What was inaccurate and/or offensive about Darragh O'Se's piece??? Could you point out the false statements?

Looks like he was right when he said he couldn't even broach the money topic for fear of being attacked by sensitive Dublin fans

KYTitletown (Kerry) - Posts: 816 - 18/05/2016 15:12:18    1856063

And I don't recall any Kerry player saying anything after last year's all Ireland as regards issues like Cluxton's time wasting or Philly McMahon's antics. The latter being one of the worst things I've ever seen done to a player in a final.

So what point are you trying to make?

Do you think your boys are whiter than snow Gael???

In fact did you even read Dara's article, because judging by your first post I can't see how you could have taken anything from it to justify your first post.

As another Kerry poster said above you are just proving the man's point is actually correct.

Go off an enjoy the success your team are having and stop cluttering up the place with this guff...

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 18/05/2016 15:13:41    1856065

my point is every game Kerry lose there is an excuse players been victimised. I didnt hear Cork whinging from Nicholas Murphy got a broken jaw when targeted at throw in. Michael Donnellan taken in 2000 against Galway. Galway never said anything at time. John O'Mahony in his book reckoned Donnellan never recovered from that game. He was taken out 5 times in his first half. Michael Murphy man handled off the ball in 2014 final. Donegal didn't complain and took their beaten.

Gael85 (Dublin) - Posts:1166 - 18/05/2016 14:58:24 18

Where in Darragh's article is he complaining?

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 18/05/2016 15:19:41    1856070

Kerry, Donegal, Tyrone and Mayo are catching up with us fast.

Kerry - Don't make me laugh (or cry)

Donegal - Like ourselves two many 30+ players, in transition mode and about 5 years from challenging again

Mayo - Once the likes of the great Keith Higgins and Andy Moran depart the IC scene Mayo (i doubt) will have the same level of talent coming down the line to be able to replace them. This is a generational type team for Mayo, definitely the strongest since 51'. I don't think they will be as strong as they currently are in 4/5 years. Of course I could be wrong, any Mayo posters (who know the scene) who think so feel free to disagree with me.

Tyrone - In my eyes they are vying for 3rd place with ourselves and I know they feel they could and should have beaten us last year. They were very impressive in Div 2 this year and certainly have a lot of young talented players in the 21-23 bracket but to coin a phrase that Brendan Cummins used in the Sunday Times when you enter the 'death zone' it's the ultimate test in terms of decision making and ability to keep running at full power. And until they experience the 'death zone' vs Dublin in the last 15/20 minutes you cant really expect them to overcome that extreme challenge.

KYTitletown (Kerry) - Posts: 816 - 18/05/2016 15:27:59    1856075

Gael85 you must be deaf and blind if you think Cork people didnt frown, complain , object, abuse ...after they lost the 2009 final!

They had a right to complain after the tackle...and they duly did :-)

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 18/05/2016 15:36:17    1856077

Anthony "The Ant" O Mahony,Colm Gooch Gambino,James "Lucky" O Donoghue and Kieran "Skyskraper" Donaghy.Yerra,mafia to the core boy (:

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 18/05/2016 16:11:58    1856090

its a bit like the kilkenny minors when you lose soemthing presious permanently you moan and whinge and whinge and moan, then after a while you come to terms with it and you go off and cry
After some time you accept you will never be what you were and you try to start again
after a long time you admit dublin are awesum and you accept defeat
come september realisation will sink in in kilarney and the press will stop asking you why and youll find the press in tryone or mayo instead

heresam (Dublin) - Posts: 156 - 18/05/2016 16:29:36    1856098

its a bit like the kilkenny minors when you lose soemthing presious permanently you moan and whinge and whinge and moan, then after a while you come to terms with it and you go off and cry
After some time you accept you will never be what you were and you try to start again
after a long time you admit dublin are awesum and you accept defeat
come september realisation will sink in in kilarney and the press will stop asking you why and youll find the press in tryone or mayo instead

heresam (Dublin) - Posts:103 - 18/05/2016 16:29:36

Maybe if I try reading that in an italian mafia accent it'll make sense

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 18/05/2016 17:10:19    1856116

Cue, i have a better name for Anthony O'Mahony.....Aidan ;)

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 18/05/2016 17:16:44    1856120

I'm afraid heresam I couldn't understand your past as there are number of spelling errors and grammatically it's a;ll over the place.

The gist I got is we will only realise and accept that Dublin are the best in September which is hogwash as we know our football here and it is blindingly obvious ye are ahead of the rest by a minimum of 6 points and have been for quite a while now.

I'm not sure what you are getting at when you mention Kilkenny, Tyrone & Mayo? Kilkenny don't play football, Mayo are the second best team in the country and Tyrone are the fastest rising team in the country. I'm not sure what relevance those facts have to the rest of your post?

KYTitletown (Kerry) - Posts: 816 - 18/05/2016 17:20:07    1856122

Oops,i should have said Aidan O Mahony.To ye gangster afficionados i mixed him up with Anthony "The Ant " Spillotro(think Casino and the grissly end in the desert).The Kerry mobs ending will just as bad this year.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 18/05/2016 17:24:32    1856125