Importance of Genes

To win olympics (swap for being considered a great Gaa player) athletes need dedication, hours of training and lots of perserverance, but they also require one vital ingredient they have no control over genes.
Several Studies have examined the connection , with genes, sporting ability and good diet .Genes appear to be about 50 to 70% , but even good genes guarantee nothing. Although having unfavourable genes , could mean no amount of trying and diet will make you a great athlete .
Surroundings and what kids are exposed to also make the difference.
India is good at cricket because that is what they are exposed to (Kilkenny) football (Kerry )
I believe Dublin now are using the gene in kids that makes them good sportspeople and focusing it on GAA.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 07/05/2016 10:41:37    1852696

I remember back in the 90's Wrangler and Lee Cooper were seen as quality gear, if you had them you were cool....
Nowadays, you can get them both for knock off prices in any Guineys or Heatons. Mad how it goes isnt it.
I once had a pair of Juice jeans with faux leather on the back and denim on the front, and dont get me started on the ol Xpose, Xworx, Xtreme, Pepe etc....
I was a right little Shaun Ryder back in the day!

Soonn I'm 30, I only went with your mother cos she's dirty.....

Yeeooww!!

..................hang on.......what...?? Genes......OH......Feck.......Genes!!!!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 07/05/2016 11:14:14    1852699

Why another thread on bloody genes?

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 07/05/2016 11:36:12    1852705

Liam Wrangler was never seen as quality gear and Dubs never wore wrangler it was a Culchie clothing please tell me you didn't let the Dubs down in limerick ?

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 07/05/2016 12:19:18    1852716

Seriously though that could be the solution to our problems here in Meath, we need to put the likes of Graham Geraghty, Trevor Giles and Mick Lyons out to stud...it'll take 20 years but by jaysus then we'll be back baby!!!!!

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 07/05/2016 12:28:18    1852718

Htaem I feel your pain. Wee need a few more Paddy Keenan's in Louth.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 07/05/2016 12:49:39    1852724

You could have very good genes and a pair of expensive jeans, however good organisation and good management is also required

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 07/05/2016 13:20:00    1852726

Seriously though that could be the solution to our problems here in Meath, we need to put the likes of Graham Geraghty, Trevor Giles and Mick Lyons out to stud...it'll take 20 years but by jaysus then we'll be back baby!!!!!

Htaem (Meath) - Posts:7102 - 07/05/2016 12:28:1
Sure it was the mayo genes that brought ye most of yer success. Thank god for rural resettlement

liner (Mayo) - Posts: 756 - 07/05/2016 21:07:39    1852876

Was it not Leitrim liner? :D

KerryKillers (Dublin) - Posts: 711 - 07/05/2016 21:32:57    1852891

liner

Sure it was the mayo genes that brought ye most of yer success. Thank god for rural resettlement

Aye some of our lads did have links to Mayo alright but they had to move to Meath to win an All-Ireland, so I'd say they were happy enough with their resettlement ;-)

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 08/05/2016 09:03:38    1852905

A Roscommon man who drinks in Ballyhaunis used to love telling us this story when our women's team was winning All Irelands.

"Imagine lads in 25 years time the Mayo mens team will be winning All Irelands. Supporters will be looking at some players and saying that they're mighty footballers. Their mates will reply "Sure why wouldn't he be a mighty footballer, wasn't his mother a mighty footballer"!

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7335 - 08/05/2016 11:57:34    1852936

If only the Rossies had even that to fall back on ;)

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 09/05/2016 12:58:07    1853250

Many a dub has Meath genes--mostly from me

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1790 - 10/05/2016 21:15:25    1853816