Should RTE have a Championship Channel?

Free to air.
4/5 live games a weekend. Sunday Game, Monday Game (Remember that!), Saturday Game etc.....
Irish Language programme something similar to Seo Spoirt etc
Phone in show with Marty!! Imagine the craic! We have Tom Smith on from Cavan, whats your comment Tom...?...Tom Smith here Marty.....

I know the GAA want less games televised but as we know, throw a few bob at them and.........

We would get to see way more live GAA, plus you could have Mammoth highlights programmes showing the lot.
Show Minor, Senior, Ladies etc etc
Broadcast from May till September

Twouldnt cost them a whole pile, tis easily done.

Thoughts?

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 05/05/2016 10:15:24    1852179

Yeah, I could really do with seeing much more of Pat Spillane on my tele!

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 05/05/2016 11:33:59    1852225

i dunno about the rest of ye but for all the giving out we do about them, i love seeing Joe and Pat on the box
Great craic altogether

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 05/05/2016 11:42:58    1852230

Absolutely Liam , there should be a gaa channel with all you've said and more , all the league and championship action, then club action , phone in shows, gaa gold , Laochra Gael everything. I personally wouldn't leave the gaf I'd be glued to it all day.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 05/05/2016 11:59:59    1852235

would only run it in the summer tho CKD. Wouldnt be viable from October to May IMO

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 05/05/2016 12:15:51    1852245

Liam I think there is so much more potential for showing GAA games, so your bang on.

I mean they don't even show the U-21 football championship until the semi-finals! You had a brilliant Cork v Kerry Munster final that no one bar the 4-5,000 in Tralee that night saw.

Irish TV were showing the junior and intermediate clubs finals and I thought they did a fine job.

Look at the quality of players that are on show every year in the Fitzgibbon and Seirgson Cups and again no tv camera's present!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 05/05/2016 12:23:11    1852249

I love the 3 lads it wouldn't be the same without them, it's funny when would of them says something negative about your county you hate them for a week until there destroying some other county

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 05/05/2016 12:28:02    1852254

Why not Liam ? Club champo' sigerson O Byrne cup then league and your back into the summer again.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 05/05/2016 13:20:57    1852286

If that was to happen it would brilliant. But the problem is the Times of matches . If there was a channel it would need . Minors ,U-21 , Senior , Intermediate , Junior , in Mens Football , Ladies Football , Hurling , Camogie . There would need to be more Challange matches . That would need to show all competitions like . Championship , Leauge , All the pre season cups like the McKenna cup . Show all o fiach cup matches. And show a lot more club matches . They would need to show a bit of handball to. And show all highlights of all mathches . And also have Lochra Geal . And make much more documentaries. And have special interviews . And keep thank gaa it's Friday . And keep all the pundits they already have.

oakleafersir (Derry) - Posts: 808 - 05/05/2016 13:27:06    1852289

Fair play Liamo and CKD.I thought i was the only one who liked the three amigos ; Spillane,O Rourke and Brolly.Of course i'd be happy with more GAA coverage.I would like to have a radio phone-in show on a Friday night previewing all the weekends action and another on the Sunday night discussing all the results.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 05/05/2016 13:31:15    1852292

Fair play Liamo and CKD.I thought i was the only one who liked the three amigos ; Spillane,O Rourke and Brolly.Of course i'd be happy with more GAA coverage.I would like to have a radio phone-in show on a Friday night previewing all the weekends action and another on the Sunday night discussing all the results.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts:3896 - 05/05/2016 13:31:15

I love the boys for entertainment purposes too.
I'd love a TV channel dedicated to all things gaa but is it possible logicically? They can't even put a decent app together.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 05/05/2016 14:45:30    1852325

Great idea. In fairness though, TG4 give brilliant GAA coverage in my opinion, but there's definitely a place for a GAA channel.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1905 - 05/05/2016 14:47:16    1852327

Should RTE have a Championship Channel?
Free to air. 4/5 live games a weekend. Sunday Game, Monday Game (Remember that!), Saturday Game etc.....
Irish Language programme something similar to Seo Spoirt etc
Phone in show with Marty!! Imagine the craic! We have Tom Smith on from Cavan, whats your comment Tom...?...Tom Smith here Marty.....
I know the GAA want less games televised but as we know, throw a few bob at them and.........
We would get to see way more live GAA, plus you could have Mammoth highlights programmes showing the lot.
Show Minor, Senior, Ladies etc etc
Broadcast from May till September Twouldnt cost them a whole pile, tis easily done.
Thoughts?
Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts:6614 - 05/05/2016 10:15:24
Who funds this? Where does funding come from? Who broadcasts it? Is there really enough demand? What do you fill the week with in terms of programming? 4/5 games at weekend. A highlights programme but what else?
Where does the revenue come from to help run a full station 24/7?

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 05/05/2016 15:37:43    1852362

Bon as much as the idealists dont like to say it, the VAST majority dont have sufficient gaeilge to watxh TG4 in comfort
It can be very frustrating watching half time and not having a notion what is going on!!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 05/05/2016 15:42:23    1852365

Ormond, the same place the revenue comes from to fund RTE News now, Oireachtas TV and about 15 different RTE Kids channels!!
I am not saying it would be on 24/7, 7 days a week
just at relevant times
Look at the way BBC have BBC3 and BBC4. Runs for 4-5 hours a day. No reason atall RTE couldnt fill that time during the championship, plus Live games at weekends

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 05/05/2016 15:45:37    1852368

I certainly think there is a space for an RTE Irish sports channel as in home/local sports not just international sports you'd certainly fill it up and of course the GAA sports would eb a big part of it. Would there be an audience? I think could take the sports from RTE/TG4 and combine them as well as add more to it.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4896 - 05/05/2016 16:40:49    1852388

Bon as much as the idealists dont like to say it, the VAST majority dont have sufficient gaeilge to watxh TG4 in comfort
It can be very frustrating watching half time and not having a notion what is going on!!
Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts:6617 - 05/05/2016 15:42:23
But for the most part how many need or want to watch a match for the commentary etc?

Ormond, the same place the revenue comes from to fund RTE News now, Oireachtas TV and about 15 different RTE Kids channels!!
just at relevant times
Look at the way BBC have BBC3 and BBC4. Runs for 4-5 hours a day. No reason atall RTE couldnt fill that time during the championship, plus Live games at weekends
Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts:6617 - 05/05/2016 15:45:37
BBC has operating expenditure of well over 4 billion. RTE has operating expenditure of a couple of hundred million. That BBC can have channels BBC3/4 run for that period doesn't mean RTE can have a sports only channel. BBC 3 and BBC 4 cater for a very wide audience that a 1/2 sports only channel would never be catering to. Talking about a GAA only channel is delusional. If you talked about a general sports channel then maybe but even then in Ireland the market is too limited.

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 05/05/2016 17:42:43    1852405

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts:6617 - 05/05/2016 15:42:23
But for the most part how many need or want to watch a match for the commentary etc?

just at relevant times
Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts:6617 - 05/05/2016 15:45:37
BBC has operating expenditure of well over 4 billion. RTE has operating expenditure of a couple of hundred million. That BBC can have channels BBC3/4 run for that period doesn't mean RTE can have a sports only channel. BBC 3 and BBC 4 cater for a very wide audience that a 1/2 sports only channel would never be catering to. Talking about a GAA only channel is delusional. If you talked about a general sports channel then maybe but even then in Ireland the market is too limited.

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 05/05/2016 17:42:55    1852406

Nah I dont fancy watching countless programmes and phone in shows praising the dubs for the next 5 years.

Wait til they are in steady decline and then we would be safe to start a GAA channel.

KY4SAM2015 (Kerry) - Posts: 898 - 05/05/2016 18:39:35    1852422

While we're waiting for a dedicated GAA TV Channel (let's call it TV Gaalore) there's some excellent club radio coverage on teamtalkmag.com. On Tuesday last they provided full live coverage of a terrific Tyrone Division 1 game between Carrickmore (0-16) and Clonoe (1-14). The game highlighted the amazing skills of Conor McAliskey who scored 1-2 in about 3 minutes and the old war horse Conor Gormley who scored 0-7 including an injury time equaliser before a massive winning score for Clonoe into the Nally Stand end. The referee was Martin Sludden (remember him). Compulsive listening. Given the technological advances in recent years both radio and television channels are now feasible. Derry, Armagh and Dublin are already providing excellent broadcast quality video coverage of games. Where there's a will.

mediaman (Antrim) - Posts: 355 - 05/05/2016 19:28:25    1852430