Hip Hip Hurray!

In fairness folks......is there anything more cringey than the "Hip hip" in an acceptance speech?

14KY37 (Kerry) - Posts: 30 - 13/04/2016 15:01:53    1845213

No the

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 13/04/2016 15:05:36    1845215

No there's not and no right thinking captain should ever use it, long past its sell by date.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 13/04/2016 15:06:23    1845216

there is!! ......the "presidential salute" mini anthem in rugby before we play the other three!!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 13/04/2016 15:06:37    1845217

I often feel speeches are kind past their sell by date. The policy other sports have, such as runners up and winners medals works a treat along the celebrations on the podium on the pitch

222 (UK) - Posts: 691 - 13/04/2016 15:32:53    1845229

If it were Colm Boyle, Keith Higgins or any of their fellow county men giving the speech what they say wouldn't bother me. I'd probably be half way to the M50 with a big happy head on me. Get your point though.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 13/04/2016 15:57:08    1845247

I have proposed the doing away of winning speeches on here a few times.Cringe fest.Roaring like banshees as all the captain is short of thanking is the primary school principle that introduced him to the game 20 years ago.Room 101 is the best place for the maniacal GAA speech.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 13/04/2016 15:59:13    1845249

there is!! ......the "presidential salute" mini anthem in rugby before we play the other three!!

Ah, so that's not just a shorter version of the Anthem for a shorter President? Next thing you 'll be telling me the D doesn't stand for Dwarf!

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 13/04/2016 16:19:38    1845263

ah lads, but there have been some good ones. I'm not from Galway but I remember choking up at this.

url=http://www.balls.ie/gaa/joe-connollys-epic-captains-speech-from-galways-1980-all-ireland-hurling-final-victory/58778

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 13/04/2016 16:41:51    1845280

It is hollow and has no comfort for the loosing team or supporters. I think Cluxton was the only one i can remember v us in 2014 not saying it but rather said something along the lines "There is nothing I can say to Mayo but lads keep trying, I know how it feels and your day will come" which was much better than hip hip horray rubbish...

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 13/04/2016 16:57:36    1845290

There have been some great speeches alright and they are worth keeping for the odd gem that we get. At the end of the day, you are free to leave the stadium when the game is over. I was on the field when Clare won the Munster championship in 1995 and that memory will stay with me forever. It was unique and is unique to our association. It is true that 90% are mundane and it is kind of embarrassing to watch KK captains accept a Leinster championship trophy when the stadium is completely empty. However, it is nice to acknowledge those involved.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 14/04/2016 21:09:25    1845783

Not what you want to hear after loosing an AI.
I'd imagine it's the worst 5 minutes of the day and the best five minutes of the day for both teams.
You would just want to be out of there rather than waiting around to hear that stuff.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 14/04/2016 21:24:08    1845789

I like the tradition that we have of speeches. Most of them are harmless and don't detract from the day but every now and again one really adds to the occasion. I've always loved Seán Óg Ó hAilpín's speech - Is fada an turas ó Fiji go Corcaigh agus is fada an turas ó Corcaigh go Páirc an Chrócaigh!

Brilliant stuff.

It's different and unique.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13704 - 14/04/2016 21:38:14    1845797

Most of the speeches are thanking back room staff etc which can be a little boring and repetitive but obviously those people deserve a mention if its got their team up the steps in September. Its usually only one liners from those speeches that most people remember. I'll be honest I haven't really took an interest in listening to them too often but "welcome back to Leeside Liam McCarthy we've missed you a lot" and "well Cormac, you now have two" always stick out as great moments. I have to admit the Jimmy's winning matches sing song was absolute cringe though! sorry Donegal lads.

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2385 - 15/04/2016 09:11:40    1845819

Saffron,why can't the captains thank whoever they like at the teams function later that night.Why do they feel the need to tell all GAA fans from all 32 counties about thanking the butcher,baker and candlestick maker?Waffling on for ten minutes,boring people to death.I know its unique to our games,but i just don't like it.I've never hung around to listen to Cluxton's speeches.Plenty of time for all that at the team function or dressing room post game.
Mes,fair enough pal,your obviously fluent in Irish,but for the many of us who haven't used it since we left school - in my case over 20 years - S O Hailpins speech as gaeilge went right over my head.I hadn't a clue what he was on about.Maybe me and my pals are diffefent,but neither did any of them.I love irish history,politics and sport,but i just don't have any irish.Cupla focal ,thats it.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 15/04/2016 09:44:36    1845827

I wish it was just September Saffron.All provincial finals we have a speech ; i'd say the Kilkenny hurling ones are great.Underage captains get to rattle off a speech ; the Kierans College captain could hardly string a few words together a few weeks back and was plainly uncomfortable with the situation.
I had to make one myself as a 13 year old in Charleville,Cork where we won some tournament many moons ago.Many that has scarred me for life but i dont remember enjoying it.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 15/04/2016 09:50:44    1845828

Mes,fair enough pal,your obviously fluent in Irish,but for the many of us who haven't used it since we left school - in my case over 20 years - S O Hailpins speech as gaeilge went right over my head.I hadn't a clue what he was on about.Maybe me and my pals are diffefent,but neither did any of them.I love irish history,politics and sport,but i just don't have any irish.Cupla focal ,thats it.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts:3802 - 15/04/2016 09:44:36

I've the cúpla focail alright but It wasn't necessarily because that speech was in Irish that I liked it, I just liked that line - it's a long journey from Fiji to Cork and it's a long journey from Cork to Croke Park. I thought it was a memorable line.

Anto Daly's "We're no longer the Whipping Boys of Munster" speech was also memorable in 1997.

I wouldn't be for getting rid of them just because most of them are boring. They're doing no harm as they are and occasionally they can be great.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13704 - 15/04/2016 10:07:38    1845840

Oh so thats what O HAilpin said (: I hope i'm not coming across as a killjoy because i love the craic as much as the next man,and yes some speeches have been memorable,but the vast majority are mundane.Its no big deal all the same ; those who like them listen to them,those who dont just tune out.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 15/04/2016 10:32:21    1845855

Uggghh, those speeches are horrible, lift the trophy high in the sky and lets party :D

KerryKillers (Dublin) - Posts: 711 - 15/04/2016 12:25:42    1845909

I can't argue with that cue, its had its day.

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2385 - 15/04/2016 14:37:34    1845943