Stephen Cluxton 2016

Posting this on the national forum as we spent the latter parts of last summer being told by many (and i will admit at times i was shaking in my faith too) that Stevo was fading away.....

With many on here telling us Clucko is past it, a weak link, even a liability, I thought this article by former Kerry MF Michael Quirke was decent and fair. We all know Kerrymen like to do the cute hoor when it comes to the Dubs, but I honestly would agree with everything the big fella says in this. Cluxton was back to his peerless best V Donegal, an ominous sign for the summer ahead
I have said it many many times, when he retires he will remembered by many as the best footballer Dublin ever produced

http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/mike-quirke-on-the-key-to-dublins-success-stephen-cluxton-392685.html

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 13/04/2016 12:49:47    1845110

The music from jaws goes through my head when I think about 2013.
Kerry kick a wide , Cluxton putting the ball down to get ready for a kickout. Myself and a few more standing up in the Cusack roaring at Tomas O Shea to get back on Connolly. Tomas running back and we there watching Cluxton's kickout sail over his head straight to Diarmuid Connolly's hands.
That for me was Cluxton at his best.
Cluxton is good enough to play until 40 and the good thing for him is that he doesnt have club championship to kill him outside of the inter county season

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 13/04/2016 16:22:18    1845267

I'm sorry but the term (and I'm quoting Quirke here) "sustained excellence" actually irks me when it comes to Cluxton, and that includes kick-outs.

He plays to Dublin's game plan, he doesn't dictate it. And it's very simple - whoever kicked the last score/wide, kick into the area they should be, there will be a free Dublin player there. If that fails, kick it high to the wing where Connolly/Flynn will have a 3/4 inch advantage over any modern wing-back.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 13/04/2016 16:23:02    1845268

When Jack O was over us we always had Cluxton figured out and he was pretty ineffectual.

I hope Eamonn finally has a plan to deal with Dublin's kick outs this year.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 13/04/2016 16:32:24    1845274

He plays to Dublin's game plan, he doesn't dictate it. And it's very simple - whoever kicked the last score/wide, kick into the area they should be, there will be a free Dublin player there. If that fails, kick it high to the wing where Connolly/Flynn will have a 3/4 inch advantage over any modern wing-back.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts:1444 - 13/04/2016 16:23:02

He completely dictates Dublin's game plan. It doesn't work with anyone else.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 13/04/2016 17:02:31    1845294

Jaysus Cavanman u really dont get it to you..........
he doesnt play to our game plan....he IS our gameplan!
Have u actually watched any of our games in the last say, 6 years?

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 13/04/2016 17:06:10    1845300

He was a liability last season, and almost cost Dublin the All-Ireland but for a brilliant goal-line block by John Small.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 13/04/2016 17:10:50    1845304

Stop cluxton and you stop dublin. heard this over and over and over. he was poor in last years all ireland, where credit is due to kerry and dublin still climbed the steps of the hogan stand at the end. his shot stopping is pretty average in fairness compared to other keepers but all his other attributes combined does make him the no.1 keeper at the moment. comparing him with keepers of other generations is silly but in this era he will go down as number 1.

superdub (Dublin) - Posts: 392 - 13/04/2016 17:45:02    1845324

There you are Meath, a blueprint of how to beat the Dubs. Just bring back the good oul days and lamp the goalie so he's stretchered off. Game plan gone!

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2385 - 13/04/2016 18:14:14    1845340

There you are Meath, a blueprint of how to beat the Dubs. Just bring back the good oul days and lamp the goalie so he's stretchered off. Game plan gone!

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2385 - 13/04/2016 18:14:14    1845341

Have u actually watched any of our games in the last say, 6 years?

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts:6571 - 13/04/2016 17:06:10 1845300

2010. . ."5 past cluxton"
2011. . .yes he kicked the winning point, not taking that from the man. But his kickouts didn't exactly destroy Kerry that day, and he had an armchair ride in the semi where Donegal gave Dublin possession.
2012. . .big lead blown against Mayo. Your "game plan" can't have been that great
2013. . .ye won Sam, but stevie getting caught in no-mans-land for Andy Moran's goal almost cost ye!
2014. . .lost ye the all Ireland!! What was he thinking challenging michael Murphy under the high ball!??
2015. . .as said above, he had a poor year.

and that's just the big games, in that time I think he's been sent off twice v mayo for petulance, his howler against down this year wasn't exactly befitting of "Dublin's greatest player" either.

When you respond, please tell me which of the above I have gotten wrong.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 13/04/2016 20:38:43    1845392

Stephen could hardly be blamed for our defensive capitulation that day.

2011. . .yes he kicked the winning point, not taking that from the man. But his kickouts didn't exactly destroy Kerry that day, and he had an armchair ride in the semi where Donegal gave Dublin possession.
He was brilliant all 2011. Kerry did well enough on his kickouts but we still won plenty of them. All-Star well deserved.

2012. . .big lead blown against Mayo. Your "game plan" can't have been that great

We blew no lead against Mayo in 2012 at all. In fact it was almost the opposite. Not sure you remember this game at all.

2013. . .ye won Sam, but stevie getting caught in no-mans-land for Andy Moran's goal almost cost ye!

Stephen destroyed Mayo's midfield that day. He was simply magnificent. His finest hour. 2 Dubs competing for one ball caused the goal.

2014. . .lost ye the all Ireland!! What was he thinking challenging michael Murphy under the high ball!??

He went up with Murphy and the ball broke directly into a Dublin man's hands, who lost it to McFadden (I think) who passed to Mchugh to finish. He almost always comes out and challenges for the ball like that. It's high risk/reward strategy and since 2001 that's the only time it didn't work in a big game to my memory(not 100% sure). Not bad in 15 years! Although maybe your standards are higher than mine ;)

Was nowhere near his best but overall he did more good than bad. In his worst ever year we still won the All-Ireland with him playing an integral part.

There's a cohort of people who don't rate Cluxton and look to apportion blame to him all the time. He has been the most important player for Dublin in our three All-Ireland successes. Of that there is no doubt. Dublin would not have won any of those three All-Ireland's without him. He's had bad days, just like all the great players, but he has far more good than bad.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 13/04/2016 21:21:09    1845400

Cavanman i logged on to educate u but i see mes beat me to it. A systematic ripping apart of everything u said. Bravo Mes! Cavanman your ignorance is almost admirable!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 13/04/2016 21:43:17    1845405

Excellent post mes.Cluxton is a damn legend.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 13/04/2016 21:45:20    1845406

Bravo Mes....and to add to that fine post....one howler in all those years....well we can forgive him that!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 13/04/2016 21:58:40    1845409

Don't know if Id completely agree with all of that mesamis. Here is why:

Stephen could hardly be blamed for our defensive capitulation that day.

Are you trying to suggest a goalkeeper who conceded 5 goals is blameless in conceding them?

2011. . .He was brilliant all 2011. Kerry did well enough on his kickouts but we still won plenty of them. All-Star well deserved.

Kicked the point I accept that. But he wasn't particularly outstanding generally. Average enough year. Had mcmanaman not got the goal, the Kerry goalie would probably have gotten the all star, so I wouldn't put much faith in that.

We blew no lead against Mayo in 2012 at all. In fact it was almost the opposite. Not sure you remember this game at all.

Blew no lead but that doesn't change the fact that he was poor in that game. He cost you a couple of vital scores with some puzzling kickout decisions. Far from his finest hour.

Stephen destroyed Mayo's midfield that day. He was simply magnificent. His finest hour. 2 Dubs competing for one ball caused the goal.

He was good that day. The goal was soft but he was very good besides.

He went up with Murphy and the ball broke directly into a Dublin man's hands, who lost it to McFadden (I think) who passed to Mchugh to finish. He almost always comes out and challenges for the ball like that. It's high risk/reward strategy and since 2001 that's the only time it didn't work in a big game to my memory(not 100% sure). Not bad in 15 years! Although maybe your standards are higher than mine ;)

It was the same error hennelly made for mayo against yourselves. The only difference was the luck of where the ball dropped. Hennelly was deservedly criticised for that, so you cant give cluxton a pass. It is hypocritical.

Was nowhere near his best but overall he did more good than bad. In his worst ever year we still won the All-Ireland with him playing an integral part

Doesn't justify the poor year though in terms of individual performance.

I think the truth is somewhere in between the two of you.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 14/04/2016 11:34:12    1845450

Cheers Master. .

Seems to be a player who divides opinion, i may have sounded like I was completely running him down, but that's not the case - I think the marvel with which he is held, particularly by RTE and the Dublin fans is overstated and can grind on people eventually.

One thing the greats all do is they do the simple things consistently well - think Tomas O'Shea, JJ Delaney, etc.
Cluxton doesn't, that's where the shortfall is IMO.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 14/04/2016 11:58:58    1845473

Its a unique position and one that is probably easier to pick holes in and highlight than any other.If an outfield player makes an error he has ample help to redeem the situation and usually a lot more time. This generally is not something afforded to a goalie. Cluxton has consistently anchored the side and while he may not always have been perfect I am glad we have him.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 14/04/2016 12:15:56    1845484

Cheers Master. . Seems to be a player who divides opinion

cavanman47 (Cavan) - 14/04/2016 11:58:58

Divides opinion?? Ok, some people like youself dont rate him as highly as others. I accept that.

But divides opinion??? I guarantee you if you put up a thread asking who you think is the best goalkeeper of all time the vast majority will say Cluxton. Ive been on HS many years and I have seen that thread pop up a few times and each time the overwhelming majority of posters pick Cluxton.

ConnollyDub (Dublin) - Posts: 2007 - 14/04/2016 12:25:14    1845491

Who covers the keeper ?
If T O Se has a poor game there are others who can compensate , If Brogan fails to score and Connolly does we move on and all is forgotten .
Do you not think it peculiar that every mistake he's made over the last few years was easily remembered and rhymed off .
I will guarantee you one thing pick a position from 2-15 and any player any county and there poor play over same period of time, few could scrutinise as easily .
Goalkeeper like referring mistakes are always remembered

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 14/04/2016 12:34:09    1845498