Tyrone v Cavan

well lads how will this one go?

brefnisam (Cavan) - Posts: 21 - 11/04/2016 10:40:22    1844178

Haven't beaten Tyrone at senior level in what? 20 years??

I think this is our best chance in a long long time. Looking forward to it.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 11/04/2016 10:59:21    1844183

tyrone by three after a freeflowing and entertaining game

coopersleftfoot (Kerry) - Posts: 91 - 11/04/2016 11:08:40    1844190

I think this has potential to be a really good game. Both teams are going well and will want to continue that in this one.
Would be good confidence booster for Cavan if they could pull of the win but I think Tyrone will be a little too strong.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 11/04/2016 11:21:19    1844195

Potential Ulster Semi-Final meeting may mean nothing is given away and we may be treated to a good game of football without the tension.

Byanthon (Tyrone) - Posts: 1780 - 11/04/2016 12:06:28    1844230

id say there will be some love in before and after this game with cavan and dublin fans. can anyone tell me why cavan people love the dubs so much? or is this changing around virginia,mullagh and baileoboro after the dubs have invaded yiz.

dickie10 (UK) - Posts: 687 - 12/04/2016 10:44:54    1844554

Many Cavan people went to Dublin for work and settled there. A lot bought pubs and businesses in time. They supported both Dublin and Cavan with sponsorship which is good business. There wasn't many other sports played in Cavan years ago bar Gaelic football either so the Cavan people in Dublin were drawn to the GAA.
I have a great time for the Dubs and support them when Cavan are out of the C/ship. They have great wit too just like the Cavan people.

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 12/04/2016 13:54:15    1844694

I think it will be a very close encounter.
Maybe im biast but i think cavan can just about
do enough to win!

brefnisam (Cavan) - Posts: 21 - 17/04/2016 11:56:07    1846355

A division 2 league final, personally I couldn't give a feck! Both Tyrone and Cavan are in Division one, and as far as I'm concerned that's job done on behalf of both counties.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 17/04/2016 18:50:46    1846479

What's the point of a div II 'final'? If you won it, would you not, out of decency, keep quiet about having 'won' it? If we have to go along with this, I'd give a few subs a run out. Promotion is all that matters.

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 17/04/2016 20:17:58    1846519

Essmac
Don't forget Jim MC Guinness used the Div two final ( Donegal v Laois) in 2011 as a stepping stone towards a fantastic 18 months, Ulster champions in 2011, Ulster and All Ireland champions in 2012. So I think it is important to win any final you are in in Croke park
I don't care what anyone says but the team that looses the Div two final will be disappointed ( same with Div1 ) and I'd rather prepare for the opening game of the championship with a win in Croke park next Sunday rather than entering the championship on the back of loosing the final
I have not seen Cavan play for a while so I take Tyrone's experience of Croke park to carry them through alough I think Cavan will test them.

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 17/04/2016 21:15:40    1846550

After meeting Tyrone in the first round of the league, I just want to see where we are now with a full league campaign under us. Tyrone are no world beaters at this time of the year but for a team like ourselves that considers ourselves on the rise this is where we need to be. A trophy on offer, in Croker, on front of a large crowd (if the dubs leave the pubs early enough, and the kerry crew dont stop foe tae and sambos) against a top team, this is where its at.

The bench will win it and we should not be afraid to make changes early enough. Both teams will empty the tank and the game could be quite open for the last 10-15 minutes. What happens if its a draw??

ponger (Cavan) - Posts: 540 - 18/04/2016 09:48:27    1846616

Essmac
Don't forget Jim MC Guinness used the Div two final ( Donegal v Laois) in 2011 as a stepping stone towards a fantastic 18 months, Ulster champions in 2011, Ulster and All Ireland champions in 2012. So I think it is important to win any final you are in in Croke park
I don't care what anyone says but the team that looses the Div two final will be disappointed ( same with Div1 ) and I'd rather prepare for the opening game of the championship with a win in Croke park next Sunday rather than entering the championship on the back of loosing the final
I have not seen Cavan play for a while so I take Tyrone's experience of Croke park to carry them through alough I think Cavan will test them.

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts:1003 - 17/04/2016 21:15:40 18465

How much emphasis did he place on the 2014 final against Monaghan? Very little it seemed.
A useful run out in Croker for some of the new comers, result not that important on Sunday.

benched (Tyrone) - Posts: 534 - 18/04/2016 10:19:10    1846645

As a game it is utterly irrelevant & has no place in the calendar in my opinion.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 18/04/2016 11:34:35    1846692

Losing to Kildare in the 2012 League Two final did not cause much concern in Tyrone. That said Tyrone went on to have a poor 2012 in the championship. However losing to Dublin by a point in the 2013 League Final was bitterly disappointing even though a good run in the championship followed. Tyrone and Cavan may be two teams to watch out for later in the year and this has all the feel of a glamorous friendly.

Byanthon (Tyrone) - Posts: 1780 - 18/04/2016 13:40:31    1846789

From looking at the neutral and most of the Tyrone comments on this game, it looks like it's viewed as a sort of also-ran fixture.

I'm not so sure we in Cavan are looking at it that way, and I think this team sees it as a real chance to gauge just where we're at ahead of the championship.

That said, i'd bite your arm off if you offered a defeat on Sunday for an Ulster Semi-Final victory in June.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 18/04/2016 15:10:01    1846873

Seems that tickets are flying out and we in Cavan will be travelling in numbers for this one. Since the transfer of McKiernan to centre forward and the return of Givney Johnston and Keating, all of a sidden we look like a team that is really going places. And now is when we need to deliver. The tlak of the U21 success is starting to ring in the ears of people in an annoying way and while it was a great period for us, we need to translate this into success at senior level. I don't think many of our players will be having their first outing on Croke Park and hopefully not their last this year.

Tyrone have a serious squad and in the end, maybe it will be down to impact coming off the bench. I would say that we have the strongest panel that I have seen in Cavan in my time going to games but there are no guarantees - it may not be good enough. One thing is for sure, we will come up and get behind the team and lets hope for a little bit of silverware to get the year going.

P.S. We might even spend a few quid too ;)

Reformation (Cavan) - Posts: 356 - 19/04/2016 14:03:05    1847213

Should be a good game ; i think i will forfeit the pre-game beverages to enjoy this Div 2 final.Fancy Cavan to upset the odds and sneak it by a score.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 19/04/2016 15:54:03    1847260

Benched
Would you not agree that Donegal were in a different place in 2014 compared to 2011
JMcG was just starting off with Donegal in 2011 and I am sure he wanted the team to win as we had suffered a severe beating at Corks hands in the same venue in 2009 and the biggest end of the team played in that game
Come 2014 the team had won quite a few big games in CP so IMO the final in 2014 would not have been as important as the one in 2011
So I think Sunday's game is important to both teams especially to Cavan as they try to make a breakthrough. And it might be easier for Cavan to win Sunday than win Ulster this year but I still take Tyrone , with their greater experiences of CP to prevail but only just
Plus seeing the occasion it is ( the GAA celebrating the 1916 rising after the games) it good to see a team from the 6 counties taking part in one of the finals.

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 20/04/2016 10:16:55    1847471

That's was the point I was trying to make Sam, I don't think the result is the be all and end all for Tyrone this weekend. They aren't in the place Donegal were in back in 2011 (i.e. new manager, some baggage from some poor results/performances on previous visits). Not to say that Tyrone are necessarily heading to where Donegal went in the following seasons.
I can see the importance that Cavan could attach to a victory on Sunday though.

benched (Tyrone) - Posts: 534 - 20/04/2016 11:39:32    1847549