Kerry for the league?

After a bad start kerry building up serious momentum in the league with practically their b team. Darren O'Sullivan in the form of his life and early contender for player of year. Donaghy playing great stuff in the middle and Aidan O'Mahony life a fine wine holding the defense together. Throw in young Brendan O'Sullivan as impact subs kerry are coming good at the right time. 7/2 very generous odds for Kingdom boys to win league

JimmyFloyd (Wexford) - Posts: 50 - 29/03/2016 21:52:32    1839097

Undoubtedly in with a big shout for league but I would suggest even more so for Championship. My favourites for 2016.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 30/03/2016 08:21:36    1839107

Dublin are unbeaten. They must be favourites. Kerry are good but indulge in a lot of gamesmanship and fouling. They were very cynical against Donegal. I think Cork could beat them next Sunday- if the Ref is a good one. Reason I say this is that Kieran Donaghy in particular seems to want to Referee every game Kerry play!
A good ref is needed for Cork against Kerry.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2519 - 30/03/2016 09:15:55    1839117

Yes Kerry are cynical but they are good at it .

Donaghy and O' Mahoney ref matches on their own but you know what : fair play to them.

I would love to have Donaghy in my side , think he is superb .

I think Kerry will take beating this year - they seem to have a nice balance . I cannot see beyond them and Dublin .

Kerry Dublin would be a great league final .

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 30/03/2016 13:47:20    1839240

Ah yes Galwayford, the usual stuff on here I see: the big bad Kerrymen terrorising the poor innocent lads who only want to play a bit of football...

We are the brutes and the rest are whiter than white.... Dublin, Donegal, Mayo, not an eye gouger, play-actor or cynic in sight!!!

Would you give over and by the way Kerry have been ridden by referee's up and down this country for the past decade.

Sure look at the Monaghan game on Sunday, two clear penalties not awarded for Kerry and not a black card in sight for the Monaghan goalie.

But sure we will ignore that won't we, why let facts get in the way of your fiction....

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 30/03/2016 14:11:59    1839253

Hermit - things are going nicely for you's though .

Complete contrasting league to ouselves . There's a better balance to your side this year .

What's the story on James O' D ?

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 30/03/2016 14:17:16    1839257

The Kerry victimhood on here is a bit sickening, isn't it?

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12116 - 30/03/2016 14:24:26    1839261

You can keep your trap shut as well Breffini, your well marked at this stage as another of the we hate Kerry brigade on here.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 30/03/2016 14:30:04    1839268

You can keep your trap shut as well Breffini, your well marked at this stage as another of the we hate Kerry brigade on here.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts:1190 - 30/03/2016 14:30:04

Boo hoo hoo, poor aul Kerry :(

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12116 - 30/03/2016 14:46:04    1839277

Yes Rightstuff, things are tipping along grand.

We have preserved our Division 1 status and unearthed a few new faces, so we might have a few more options for positions come the summer. That's all most people down here want out of a League campaign, although I would be of the viewpoint we should be going out to win it every few years just to make a statement. And if results fall our way next Sunday and we are in the last 4, I would be saying we should go for the title.

But getting even one more competitive match at this stage will be a bonus because there's an awful long gap between the end of the League and our first match in Munster.

JOD is due back in training in April I think, so you won't be seeing him till the Championship.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 30/03/2016 14:46:48    1839279

If we get to the final Kerry would be the perfect pre-championship game for us, win lose or draw!

KerryKillers (Dublin) - Posts: 711 - 30/03/2016 14:49:13    1839283

Ditto!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 30/03/2016 15:33:04    1839314

In fairness TheHermit none of that cute whoorness crap , just straight honest offence .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 30/03/2016 15:58:40    1839330

I think Kerry Dublin would be as close to a champo game as you could hope for .

Both these sides will walk their provinces ( and no Cork won't beat Kerry ) so it would be both counties last tough match before August ( really shows how stupid our championship is )

I think Kerry are developing a really nice mixture of defence / attack . Donaghy has to play every week as he's priceless IMO.

I'd have Dublin as one but I think Kerry are close . Mayo at full tilt just behind that and I still think we will have a long summer so I'd have us at four ( for now ) . Rossies et al cannot be judged until they take big scalps in the summer as all counties will be evenly prepared then .

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 30/03/2016 16:50:05    1839365

But getting even one more competitive match at this stage will be a bonus because there's an awful long gap between the end of the League and our first match in Munster.

You mean being ready for the 'challenge' of tipperary? I think that the only problem that kerry face in this department is the sitting around waiting would cause boredom among their players. But nothing else.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 30/03/2016 17:09:23    1839372

Kerry are the only team in the country able to give the dubs a game in a league final. I think it would be good for the competition if they met. Any other county and there is an issue with preparation.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 30/03/2016 17:10:43    1839373

I honestly believe Mayo or Donegal (if they come to play) will give us a better challenge I don't fear this Kerry team one bit, I can't see how their old guard could keep up with us that's my honest opinion.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 30/03/2016 17:20:37    1839379

Cork will put it up to Kerry next Sunday. Home advantage could tell for the Yellow and Green though. Also as I have stated I hope Aidan O Mahony or Kieran Donaghy in particular are not given the Refereeing job. It seems as though the bould Kieran (a great player) wants to be a Ref as well as a player.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2519 - 30/03/2016 18:21:17    1839397

Cork put it up to us, no reason why they can't put it up to Kerry too, big big game for the rebels!

KerryKillers (Dublin) - Posts: 711 - 30/03/2016 18:58:02    1839418

Clondalkin - I know what you mean but their old guard are still doing the business ie : Gooch , DOS , Donaghy and AOM.

I do agree though that a fully fit Donegal team wouldn't be that far away . Mayo will defo come good .

If Dublin go unbeaten this year then that would be one of the greatest feats ever in GAA .

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 30/03/2016 19:05:37    1839423