Death of Football ?- Donegal score 5-29 in 2 games

I think the old adage that Donegal are a one trick , rotten to watch team has to be consigned to the past & anyone still using it is just plain lazy and knows nowt about the game.
They still have imo opinion the best defensive unit in the country but now have a young quick dynamic forward play. Mchugh continuing where he left off last year and big Murphy with another 50 mtr boomer in atrocious conditions today. The future is bright, the future is yellow !!

bcfb (Donegal) - Posts: 18 - 07/02/2016 17:07:26    1823104

Great scoring from Donegal alright and super win for Roscommon, fair play to them, Kingdom in a little bit of bother right now!

KerryKillers (Dublin) - Posts: 711 - 07/02/2016 17:37:48    1823127

Donegal the front runner no doubt, great scoring!

Although Down look set to struggle- sorry Down lads

Donegal will have tougher games with Mayo up next and they should have Keegan and Higgins back, if they setup as ultra defensively as they did last night it'll be a hard slog of a game

Certainly good prep for Dublin with Dublin still set to play Monaghan, Donegal and Down

Anyway... All credit to Donegal - looking good and the most standout side we've seen to stop Dublins 4 in a row

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 07/02/2016 18:58:18    1823165

Great start all right. I would be happy but balanced at the same time. The aim would have been 4 points from these games, to take the pressure off going into the later games, or showing our hand to early. now we can use the players that have shown so well today again in fixtures that are no longer must win. I have to say the ball carrying abilities of Eoin McHugh and Ciaran Thompson are as good as Ryan, which is an incredible addition to our team this year. We were actually quite porous at the back at times today, so I think that there will be some work done in this department.

All in all, an exciting display today, against a Cork team who are probably timing their strong performances for home fixtures, and likewise shouldn't be too worried about the result today as we are excited.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 07/02/2016 19:32:56    1823187

Lets not get too carried away here Down were woeful and Cork had given up at HT with Cork you dunno what your gonna get. But it has been a positive start for Donegal the young lads have adapted well into the side and bringing serious competition to the squad. I heard Donegal recently described as Dads army and that always erks me. The you know who's in the media both on TV and in the printed media retiring players way before their time even the likes of Paul Durcan and Frank McGlynn who still in their prime yet never for other players of certain counties who are the darlings of the media. Donegal have started well but the true tests will come against ultra defensive sides later in the year plus I still think Donegal needs another inside forward of real quality. Donegal are far from finished like predicted in 2013 and again in 2015 and to those who do know there is alot of excellent young talent coming through in the years to come.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2781 - 07/02/2016 19:34:10    1823188

great to see Donegal putting up big scores. Unfortunately it could all be for nothing with these ridiculous playoffs that allow a team who don't lead the league table an opportunity to dismiss the whole league campaign in a knockout scenario!

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2385 - 07/02/2016 20:02:45    1823204

Good post SaffronDon

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 07/02/2016 20:37:53    1823229

Watching highlights of the games against Down and Cork, it is very clear that Donegal attack has improved significantly from 2015. They also have managed to retain their formidable defensive structure, but are for the first time since 2012 attacking with ease.

There are much stiffer tests still to come, but Donegal look fresh and hungry. Great start.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 07/02/2016 20:41:38    1823231

No point giving out about big scores meaning nothing

It's not a proper league structure anyway

I often see the usual rubbish about someone finishing top and they should win based on that

Again applying the logic of a proper league structure to our own

There's no home and away fixture against each team in our league

Meaning teams have an advantage over other teams by getting to play at home

So it's not a true league and shouldn't be compared to other league structures

Everyone knows how it works...

In our structure we have semi-finals because it's recognised that it's not a proper league in the traditional sense.

The aim is to acquire enough points to make a semi final

Then it turns into a knock out competition

For some reason this fact gets lost by some - every bloody year

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 07/02/2016 21:13:15    1823257

they should rename it then, The National 'League' is a bit misleading when its really an extended one leg round robin.

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2385 - 07/02/2016 21:51:20    1823286

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts:14789 - 07/02/2016 21:13:15

Very few teams actually take It seriously as an actual tournament or competition, unless they have a bit of squad depth. But even then, every team is really only looking to try out fringe talent and see if anybody steps up. So while the structure is unfair in terms of some teams having home advantage for four games, it doesn't matter too much in that most teams aren't arsed about it regardless.

The only way it will ever become relevant is if it runs over the summer alongside the Provincial Championships and All Ireland Championships, and maybe attract more money.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 08/02/2016 13:37:33    1823480

Its early days, very early days yet for Donegal,
Huge challenges ahead with all four provincial champions to play and only one (Mayo) at home .. seem to recall Donegal being away to Kerry and Dublin last year as well !
Two wins out of two takes a lot of pressure off and the panel can now enjoy some warm weather training during the break,
Their regular players seem to be rejuvenated while Eoin McHugh looks to be the most impressive of their newcomers, brings pace and awareness,
Yes indeed bcfb, you dont score 5-29 in two matches from being ultra-defensive .. they must be doing something right !

Curlew66 (Roscommon) - Posts: 506 - 08/02/2016 20:40:34    1823718

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts:14789 - 07/02/2016 21:13:15

Very few teams actually take It seriously as an actual tournament or competition, unless they have a bit of squad depth. But even then, every team is really only looking to try out fringe talent and see if anybody steps up. So while the structure is unfair in terms of some teams having home advantage for four games, it doesn't matter too much in that most teams aren't bothered about it regardless.

The only way it will ever become relevant is if it runs over the summer alongside the Provincial Championships and All Ireland Championships, and maybe attract more money.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts:2137 - 08/02/2016 13:37:33 1

I can never get my head round this. yet counties take a competition seriously that you might only get one game in. utterly bewildering. The league should be the most important competition the championship should be recognised for what it is. a knockout competition. Why not have a proper league and a proper knockout competition.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 09/02/2016 10:50:25    1823819

Its just tradition. The famous All-Ireland final, where every young boy dreams of being on the 3rd Sunday of September - thats the mantra for generations and everything is geared towards it. Its the same in club football - the championship is the one people want to win. Its the danger and romanticism of knockout football.

benjyyy (Donegal) - Posts: 1422 - 09/02/2016 12:26:20    1823891

I can never get my head round this. yet counties take a competition seriously that you might only get one game in. utterly bewildering. The league should be the most important competition the championship should be recognised for what it is. a knockout competition. Why not have a proper league and a proper knockout competition.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts:3958 - 09/02/2016 10:50:25

Yep Championship football is what draws the crowds, and that is clearly reflected in the attitude of all counties. I heard some pundits comment on how Dublin take the National league seriously, but I still think that is more because they have a massive squad and want to try them all out and push them.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 09/02/2016 12:55:27    1823913

Donegal are a fine side with natural ability everywhere . Our backs are as comfortable in front of goal as most other counties forwards.

We ran out of steam last year as we played four dog fights to simply win the province. Not saying we will be lifting Sam but I can guarantee that we will be close ....... very close .

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 09/02/2016 13:48:18    1823944

Donegal are a team that perfected the groundwork and can now play many types of games. Top class players too with Michael Murphy being one of the best around in the GAA today. Pity about Cassidy being dropped years ago by McGuinness, I thought he had a lot to add to the game at the time.

kerrykerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1779 - 09/02/2016 15:32:50    1824027

Donegal are an excellent side and will be in the shake-up come August and September, should they avoid injuries and suspensions. It's surprising that they have come flying out of the blocks this term given that they haven't taken the league so seriously since they last won it in 2007. On present form, it seems unlikely that we'll be taking two points west in our next league encounter.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 09/02/2016 15:41:45    1824035

Tyrone / Donegal are going to have a big say

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 09/02/2016 16:07:21    1824053

Donegal are an excellent side and will be in the shake-up come August and September, should they avoid injuries and suspensions. It's surprising that they have come flying out of the blocks this term given that they haven't taken the league so seriously since they last won it in 2007. On present form, it seems unlikely that we'll be taking two points west in our next league encounter.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts:607 - 09/02/2016 15:41:45 1

I expect to see Mayo drastically improve in the coming games, especially with big names returning and training advancing. I think Dublin, Donegal, Mayo, Kerry and Tyrone will be the 5 to watch this coming summer, which is little change from the past 5 years really. In my opinion, those are the only 5 teams right now who realistically can win the All Ireland in 2016. Dublin are a formidable team, and have pushed out in front of the rest in 2015, but I still think they can be caught.
I think Mayo will probably reach the League Semi finals this season, I just think they will pick up a lot of points from their remaining fixtures, specifically against Roscommon, Monaghan, Kerry and possibly Down too.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 09/02/2016 16:24:48    1824061