Mayo v Dublin

Looking forward to heading to Castlebar always a good town for the craic, and always a good game hard game of football , Mayo missing a lot of players this weekend so we should win but it's Mayo at home and that's never easy. Thoughts?

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 04/02/2016 14:17:37    1822229

Ye'll win easily enough Clondalkin. Check out Westport for a night. Great town any time of year.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7343 - 04/02/2016 14:36:45    1822237

I expect Mayo to put up a good show,even if they are down a few players.After their drubbing to Cork,they will want to make ammends in front of their own.
However,if Dublin go in with the right attitude,i fully expect we will have to much for the home side.Apart from last year Castlebar is usually a daunting place for any Dublin team to go,but maybe its the Mayo lads that will feel under a lot of pressure on Saturday.Dubs by 5+.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 04/02/2016 14:38:43    1822239

I think Dublin are in the humour for keeping their foot on the throat of their main rivals, in that respect and with Mayo's weakened side I expect us to win, but Mayo are a proud county so you never know for sure!

KerryKillers (Dublin) - Posts: 711 - 04/02/2016 15:01:54    1822248

I like Westport but it's a bit small for my liking Castlebar has a lot more pubs to visit and it's a crazy town that I like. Anyway I'm only interested in the match I'll worry about pints after.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 04/02/2016 15:44:36    1822270

Was supposed to stay in Westport meself on Saturday and climb Croagh Patrick on Sunday mornin with me Dad.Dont ask lads its a ling story.Anyway i had to cancel as i injured my ankle in gym;its soooo sore lads (

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 04/02/2016 16:00:01    1822281

I am excepting Dublin to win. I do want to see the lads that do line out for us make a fight of it and show pride. If a lax performance is shown again like in Cork then that is not acceptable. Anyway yew_tree will be watching from Jones Road as my club are in action in Croker....club comes first and all that. I hope all ye Dubs heading over enjoy the weekend in Castlebar/Westport or wherever ye are staying.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11229 - 04/02/2016 16:40:32    1822295

We should see a reaction from Mayo but it still won't be enough to beat a Dublin team that worryingly for everybody else is still only getting better. Jim Gavin in my view is the next Brian Cody and Dublin are in the empire building business under him.

JamesH (Mayo) - Posts: 465 - 04/02/2016 17:02:31    1822309

Should be a good game.I'd imaging Mayo will come out all guns blazing as another loss would be a bit of a worry after last week's result in Cork.Crowd will be egging them in big schtyle. Dublin will be expected to win however.

SLLY (Dublin) - Posts: 463 - 04/02/2016 19:03:24    1822356

Dublin should win this easy enough, they are a few weeks ahead of Mayo in training, it would be nice to see a good game last year was a mess in Castlebar but its only the 1st week in February and All Ireland's aren't won in February, we are heading to the game in hope rather than expecting a win but if a Mayo win happens we won't refuse it

riverboys (Mayo) - Posts: 1389 - 04/02/2016 19:22:26    1822369

I don't think Mayo will have enough in the tank for this Dublin outfit. Keegan will be a loss and with the firepower up front that Dublin have it bodes well for another assault on the league. Mayo will stay up I'd say just about but could go down to the wire .

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 04/02/2016 20:12:44    1822392

The Dubs will be too strong for us at the moment but still hoping to see a few positives from the game. Think we'll be strong enough in the later rounds to stay up and improve as the championship progresses. Will be a big attendance on Sat and the fact that there's no parking on N5 is going to make it a nightmare for traffic around town. Hoping to see a good crowd from Dublin and hope ye enjoy the weekend and get back home safe.

ponga (Mayo) - Posts: 649 - 04/02/2016 20:53:55    1822404

Dublin will win handy. It's an unfortunate formality. Castlebar is your only place for pints if you're a GAA man. Will be a good buzz around town after the match. Mick Byrnes, Prendergast's, The Cobweb and Johnny McHales are all worth a look.

pdempsey (Mayo) - Posts: 1313 - 04/02/2016 20:59:54    1822406

After the respective performances of both teams last week can only see one outcome to this match and that is an easy Dublin win. Could very well be by a similar margin to last year's 14 point thumping. That said I suppose there are worse ways to spend a Saturday evening in February, especially if the Dubs will be in full flight and playing some good fast attacking football. But of course I hope Mayo put up more of a fight compared to last week and don't let them have it all their own way.

Trooper_Thorn (Mayo) - Posts: 19 - 04/02/2016 21:25:32    1822416

I'd take a win by a single point right now

Hope it's a good game looking forward to it

Mayo are a top 3 team when fully loaded - but they aren't a top 3 team as they currently stand

With the high calibre of player currently unavailable, it would be a significant win for them against a far more complete Dublin team

As such it's hard enough to see a Mayo win... IMO it'll be Dublin by +4

But sport has a way of catching you out... lets hope for a good close game that'll do both panels some good at this time of year

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 05/02/2016 09:48:27    1822444

Also were playing on th worst pitch in Ireland against the proudest county in Ireland that will not lie down no matter who there missing this will be a tough one for the Dubs.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 05/02/2016 10:21:10    1822462

Sport can be funny and despite missing lots of top players sometimes the "underdog" comes out on top when their backs are against the wall, but in saying that, I think Dublin will come out on top over the 70 minutes to win by 6. Looking forward to the trip down to Castlebar tomorrow and the night out afterwards win, lose or draw ;)

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 05/02/2016 10:28:14    1822467

Also were playing on th worst pitch in Ireland against the proudest county in Ireland that will not lie down no matter who there missing this will be a tough one for the Dubs.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts:7005 - 05/02/2016 10:21:10 1822462

Worst pitch in Ireland?

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7887 - 05/02/2016 11:09:03    1822493

Proudest County in Ireland? Mayo?
Explain that one please Clondalkin.If you said 'most deluded' I'ld have no issue.

Condorman (Dublin) - Posts: 983 - 05/02/2016 12:09:14    1822523

"Worst pitch in Ireland"? I played on that pitch for six years and it was always grand. Suppose ye know better up in Dublin...

Can't see a Mayo win as we're missing too many regulars in key positions. I'd be happy with a fighting performance and for some of the lesser known players to show well after last week's debacle down in Cork.

Hopefully the travelling Dubs enjoy the local hospitality; God knows, the area could use a bit of a lift.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 05/02/2016 12:36:20    1822539