When Your First Love Calls

Its early January, you see the call and your heart sinks and leaps in the same moment. You swore when it ended in heartache last year that never again. Never again would you put yourself through that hurt when all that hope and promise faded to nothing in a second, leaving you devastated.

But deep inside something flickers, you know nothing stirs that passion in you more than this. Maybe it's the memory of those endless summers of joy, those journeys together, those shared dreams and so much more, that has ingrained in you this strange impulse of duty.
Sure there were times when you questioned your sanity as to why you sacrifice so much but then those unique moments of elation seemed to forge bonds between you that would last a life time and made all that effort seem worthwhile. Everything seemed possible after those days, they had you walking on air and a deep sense of satisfaction in you took hold. Finally the pieces' were coming together and this would be your year. Yet time after time you've let yourself be fooled and it ended in broken dreams.
You know deep in your heart she will let you down again and again. False promises that she will amend her time keeping ways and won't keep you waiting on long summer days. Her ridiculous schedule never allowed you to plan your life and yet you held on in there. Even worse if you give her all the commitment she demands you still are not sure she will pick you.
Yet to this lonely impulse you wish to return to.
It's your first love, it's the GAA, it's a new season, answer the call.

ODR (Cork) - Posts: 1 - 18/01/2016 13:10:16    1817353

Hello!Is it me you're looking for?

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 18/01/2016 13:18:35    1817356

What a load of baloney.

Oddball (Roscommon) - Posts: 888 - 18/01/2016 13:28:13    1817358

Christ almighty.

wd45 (Westmeath) - Posts: 211 - 18/01/2016 13:30:04    1817360

Jesus wept !

SLLY (Dublin) - Posts: 463 - 18/01/2016 13:39:58    1817364

You need to download Tinder mate.

supermon (Monaghan) - Posts: 1073 - 18/01/2016 13:50:07    1817368

Is there someone feeling lonely?

Or is lonely feeling you ?

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7342 - 18/01/2016 13:54:47    1817369

Deactivate your account. There's no future for that username on here after that post.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12116 - 18/01/2016 13:57:17    1817370

Your not really Cheddar

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 18/01/2016 14:22:49    1817382

Jay-sus.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 18/01/2016 14:23:24    1817383

Christ youse are harsh - a man opens up his heart about his feelings with his first post and he gets crucified. I for one say go for it, let it all out and never mind the begrudgers. Oh, and welcome to the board.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 18/01/2016 14:33:40    1817390

I may as well finish my last post.Your not really Cheddar Plunkett are you,because that is one cheesy post pal!I think your Hogan Stand career is over in record time.1 post and out! (:

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 18/01/2016 14:50:10    1817395

First and last post hopefully.

Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 18/01/2016 15:05:21    1817406

dear me some harsh lads on here none of you ever been jilted ???????????
Leave the girl alone

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 18/01/2016 15:40:43    1817413

Nah, The only bad publicity is seeing your name in the obituary column. ODR could become a Hoganstand legend, never mind the begrudgers pal, keep posting, it's just a bit of fun. If you have something to say just say it.
Getting slagged is better than getting ignored, you sparked a bit of a reaction so well done on that.

corkcelt (Cork) - Posts: 4388 - 18/01/2016 17:37:40    1817448

Welcome to the Jungle .

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 18/01/2016 18:32:49    1817463

Christ lads, what

KerryKillers (Dublin) - Posts: 711 - 18/01/2016 18:33:49    1817465

Jaysus lads leave it out
You're no Con Houlihans yourselves

KerryKillers (Dublin) - Posts: 711 - 18/01/2016 18:57:46    1817475

Jim?

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3685 - 18/01/2016 19:00:32    1817477

Do you subscribe to Irelands Own by any chance?

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 18/01/2016 20:08:39    1817493