Famous Meath man, DAVID BOWIE!?!?

http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=248986

I am sorry lads, but this, is hilarious!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 13/01/2016 16:43:49    1816389

I couldn't see him having been much use under a high ball in a cold, wet February game in Navan.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 13/01/2016 16:53:34    1816394

I've got to say that cheered me up no end, hilarious. But David bowie was a icon to me growing up in 70s and 80s, so I am all for it. Think the guy reading it out was a little too sensitive.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 13/01/2016 17:32:22    1816405

Meath football
Ashes to ashes...

KerryKillers (Dublin) - Posts: 711 - 13/01/2016 18:34:22    1816421

Maybe Ziggy who does be on here is a relation ;)

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 13/01/2016 21:33:34    1816459

It was discussed on off the ball last night. Even the discussion was funny.

The thing is nobody should mock the dead, but the lad who put in the note was taking the p*** out of the top table, not Mr. Bowie.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 14/01/2016 08:39:52    1816477

was it slayer!!! Feck..the one time i miss it
did they appreciate it or were they all Holy Joe on it?
Honestly lads i thought it was brilliant. the image in me head of some gaa delegate saying the name back to himself amid ripples of laughter, realising what he has just said and then proceeding to scald the bold class of children :)

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 14/01/2016 09:55:38    1816492

He did play in slane before

begining (UK) - Posts: 300 - 14/01/2016 11:03:31    1816523

begining

Ye sure he played for Slane Gaa :-)

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 14/01/2016 11:20:04    1816536

begining (UK) - Posts:46 - 14/01/2016 11:03:31 1

In light of that fact, I wonder then, did they express sympathy with The Mercury Family in London on the death of Freddy back in '91

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 14/01/2016 11:42:43    1816549

begining (UK) - Posts:46 - 14/01/2016 11:03:31 1

In light of that fact, I wonder then, did they express sympathy with The Mercury Family in London on the death of Freddy back in '91

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts:3877 - 14/01/2016 11:42:43

That would be the Zanzibar Mercury's Goldrick, not the London Mercurys :)

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 14/01/2016 11:51:20    1816556

begining (UK) - Posts:46 - 14/01/2016 11:03:31

He scored 2 points from midfield for Kells alongside Xabi Alonso in a county final.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12116 - 14/01/2016 12:10:39    1816563

i did tthink it was funny but then someone pointed out what about the other names called out of people who had actually passed away, most of the people in the room would have known them and I can completely see why they wouldn't like how it'd been turned into a joke.

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1678 - 14/01/2016 12:19:56    1816565

Also apparently the Bowie song "Boy's Keep Swinging" was a major influence on the Meath squad in 1996. Colm Coyle was particularly fond of the song and it became a kind of unofficial anthem.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12116 - 14/01/2016 12:19:58    1816566

Also apparently the Bowie song "Boy's Keep Swinging" was a major influence on the Meath squad in 1996. Colm Coyle was particularly fond of the song and it became a kind of unofficial anthem.

Breffni39 (Cavan) - Posts:10038 - 14/01/2016 12:19:58

ha ha brilliant.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 14/01/2016 13:13:22    1816582

Meath GAA certainly needs some Changes.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 14/01/2016 15:03:09    1816630

begining (UK) - Posts:46 - 14/01/2016 11:03:31

I suppose you could say , He was a lad in Slane.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 14/01/2016 19:04:49    1816719

Will the Clare County Board be expressing similar sympathies to the Rickman family? He was Dev after all!!!

RIP to another great talent, I've a Die Hard/Michael Collins/Galaxy Quest marathon lined up for tonight

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 15/01/2016 11:57:42    1816821