Tyrone send on player to get man sent off?

But of course, Tyrone management has never endorsed such things...

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 12/01/2016 16:52:39    1816107

This message was posted as a new thread but moved to here:

shaggylegend
Monaghan 12/01/2016 17:59 Tyrone at it again I see Tyrone where at their usual antics on Sunday and yet again the referee bought it. Even in a McKenna cup game they can't contain themselves. McCarron going on to get a man sent off and then the referee taking the easy option of going and giving two yellows instead of booking the culprit only. Also according the reports diving and getting soft frees again. Hopefully the referees clamp down hard on this behaviour in the year ahead.

Administrator (None) - Posts: 2274 - 12/01/2016 18:02:26    1816129

just read that story. Far as I am concerned the Derry lad should do one of 2 things

1. Tell us what McCarron did/said and shame the life out of him and Tyrone
2. if your not going to say, then shut up and say nothing about it.

This craic of "he said something mean, he did something bold", but refusing to tell what it was is a load of shite. Twas the same with our own Kevin O'Brien a few years back.
If you are going to go to the bother of telling people there was an issue, then either tell us what happened, or say nothing,

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 12/01/2016 18:08:28    1816135

Before the annual anti Tyrone witchhunt begins this is the opinion of ONE Derry player and they lost the game by a point so there's bound to be a bit of disappointment and maybe sour grapes going on from the Derry camp. There was a hell of a lot of worse stuff that went on last year in the Dublin/Mayo games that went unpunished so a bit of perspective before the Tyrone bearbaiting commences. If however Tyrone did this as a tactic I would ask why? Tyrone seem to be a far more effective side and get better results when they stick to the football.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9697 - 12/01/2016 18:14:39    1816138

Typical , sure they are just continuing on from where they left off , they are doing it year in and year out

topdownfan (Down) - Posts: 555 - 12/01/2016 18:53:43    1816149

Typical , sure they are just continuing on from where they left off , they are doing it year in and year out

topdownfan (Down) - Posts: 555 - 12/01/2016 18:55:56    1816151

Sure they didn't send an U21 team to do that to Tipp. Didn't send out a minor team to mouth off at Donegal last year. Or send a man out to play no part in the game whatsoever but to stop Murphy

EP (Donegal) - Posts: 77 - 12/01/2016 19:21:57    1816157

I'd say if the posters saw the Derry player's antics for the first booking the sympathy would disappear. I think there is a bit gamesmanship going on from Derry.

MB1 (Tyrone) - Posts: 360 - 12/01/2016 19:40:30    1816162

Here we go again.

Yawn...

Wally (Tyrone) - Posts: 912 - 12/01/2016 19:42:46    1816163

Please keep using Tyrone as the fall guys of the Gaa, it's just a distraction from your own teams issues/ problems and we don't care.

therapy (Tyrone) - Posts: 24 - 12/01/2016 19:50:22    1816165

Sure they didn't send an U21 team to do that to Tipp. Didn't send out a minor team to mouth off at Donegal last year. Or send a man out to play no part in the game whatsoever but to stop Murphy

EP (Donegal) - Posts: 77 - 12/01/2016 20:02:43    1816173

Therapy ,,,, we only telling the truth, also Tyrone bring it on themselves

topdownfan (Down) - Posts: 555 - 12/01/2016 20:16:18    1816176

If anyone on this forum seriously thinks Cathal McCarron said anything to another player or 'sledged', I seriously consider the stop posting on this forum until the penny drops....he will be the last person in Ireland to 'sledge'...considering.

If he hit the Derry player a slap or not is another thing.

GetOverTheBar (Tyrone) - Posts: 1388 - 12/01/2016 20:28:01    1816179

Topdownfan " bring it on themselves " , all that tells me is that you don't and never have been a fan of Tyrone no matter what way they play. You obviously remember 2003 when down were 9 points clear and still couldn't get over the line. Now Derry were 9 points clear on Sunday ! So maybe you could give them advice on how not to cope with that type of defeat.

therapy (Tyrone) - Posts: 24 - 12/01/2016 20:37:45    1816182

Ah what a way to start the year. The GAA calendar always has it's fair share of anticipation and excitement, especially All real hard core GAA fans cannot wait and lose sleep over seeing their team line out once again since the long wait of the championship. There's always the things we dream of - beating our closest rivals, retaining league status, winning a bit of silverware...then there's the realities of football....a Tyrone controversy!

Before every Tyrone fan points out, yes I am well aware that Down are not performing well, however, this is not a reason for me not to comment on this and is pretty pathetic ammunition to throw back.

Instead of criticising Tyrone, I just want to say that if this is true then it's very disappointing and embarrassing on Tyrone's behalf because definitely takes away from their win and does not inkeep with the ethos or spirit of the GAA. Perhaps a win is simply not enough for Tyrone? Maybe Tyrone fans can help me out here? Do you lads and lassies crave someone more than the average victory? Is this why Tyrone create controversy? To stand out? Fair play like, it's thinking outside the box...plus it beats diving about and cynical play, at least this is a little more of a subtle way to cause controversy.

They say start as you mean to go on - so I have to say, ladies and gentlemen, fasten your seatbelts because for the coming year we're going to be boarding the paranoid poor Tyrone train! Choo choo!

MissDownFanatic (Down) - Posts: 411 - 12/01/2016 20:43:51    1816186

Here therapy boyo, really Tyrone only got 6 points back from playing football that day in '03...the other three came from a spectacular dive from Canavan!

MissDownFanatic (Down) - Posts: 411 - 12/01/2016 20:45:18    1816187

MissDown, considering the mass overreaction on "Hairgate" last year with the Tyrone player and the virtual silence on incidents involving other counties you can understand the Tyrone camp's attitude. There's no doubt they have become a convenient whipping boy for elements who are automatically hostile to them and Ulster football in general but who NEVER criticise the Dublins and Kerrys if this world. I mean we are still waiting on criticism and negative reaction of the Kerry/Mayo and Dublin/Mayo games which were as cynical and dirty as anything seen in Ulster over the past decade. Having said all this in my opinon Tyrone should concentrate their game on positive attacking and scoring because they have the players now INSTEAD of stopping other teams and winding them up.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9697 - 12/01/2016 20:53:33    1816189

Hello missdownfan I threw that fishing line out far and you got hooked lol. Like yourself I agree that slagging off another team is not too mature but having lived in down over 30 years my experience is that down fans never liked Tyrone to much and when the going got tough then " we have 5 all Ireland's " was the retort and still is. However after the first game in 2003 then in the replay wee Peter upset yous again lol.

therapy (Tyrone) - Posts: 24 - 12/01/2016 21:02:39    1816190

Well therapy, as I alluded to, this isn't a case of down v Tyrone. It's a case of Tyrone being controversial...again...it just seems that whenever Tyrone are playing, we seldom get just a normal game without something causing dispute. I'm not saying that doesn't happen with every team...but it seems to happen with Tyrone 99.9% of the time, which is no coincidence. It's not because it's Tyrone, i'd say the same about any county if i felt it was accurate to say so but I think in this instance, as topdownfan stated, Tyrone bring a lot of bad, unneccesary attention on themselves

MissDownFanatic (Down) - Posts: 411 - 12/01/2016 21:19:43    1816192

Missdownfan to say 99.9% is folly but that's your opinion , good constructive criticism is good but generalisation is a poor argument. If I see things that are plainly wrong I will call it but I wasn't at the game on Sunday as most of the posters here weren't. For a player to complain in the paper doesn't seem a wise move as it seems he can be easily distracted. Good luck for the season as down have always been my 22nd favourite team xxx

therapy (Tyrone) - Posts: 24 - 12/01/2016 21:42:36    1816199