Expectations for 2016 Season

So with the new GAA inter-county season officially up and running what is everyone's expectations of how the new year will pan out for your counties hurlers and footballers?

As ever in Kerry, nothing less than All Ireland glory in September will be seen as good enough as far as the footballers are concerned. I see no reason at the moment why we won't be there or there about in 9 months time. We are also going for a 4 in a row in Munster, a lot will depend on how Cork fair under their new management set up.

I'm really expecting us to start taking the League a bit more seriously this year and give it a good rattle, its been 7 years since our last title.

As for the hurlers its going to be, perhaps, the biggest year in their modern history.

Survival in Division 1b would be an incredible achievement and if we manage to take a scalp or two in the round robin of the Leinster Championship it would be a brilliant stepping stone for them.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 06/01/2016 12:38:36    1814839

Really hard to know. Would love another shot at getting to All-Ireland Semi. This could be our last shot with current crop!!

Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 06/01/2016 12:49:55    1814843

Stay in division 2 and a decent run in the championship. An Ulster title would be the stuff of dreams though.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 06/01/2016 12:52:41    1814844

Tyrone with an injection of new players need promotion from an Ulster dominated Division 2 and a first Ulster Championship since 2010 to make progress on last year.

Byanthon (Tyrone) - Posts: 1780 - 06/01/2016 13:07:44    1814848

Looking forward to the start of the league,where we get to pit our wits against other top teams from up & down the country.The standard is getting better every year.It would be an excellent achievement to defend our title and win 4-in-row.I would be a little disappointed if we didn't,at least,reach another All Ireland final.Yes,lofty expectations i know,but we have the talent and squad depth to do it.
I'm a little worried about our hurlers.We cannot afford to lose a player of D Sutcliffe's quality.One of our two best forwards.Remaining in an ultra-competetive Nat League Div 1 would be a good start to the year but i fear we will drop down a division.As for the championship,i don't expect us to reach the lofty heights of a few years ago.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 06/01/2016 13:17:23    1814851

Hurling - All-Ireland winners. Munster champions, promotion from 1B to 1A.

Football - Round 3 of the qualifiers. No change in league division.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 06/01/2016 13:17:35    1814852

Get out of Div 4 and beat Fermanagh in the championship for the footballers. Hurlers get back to the Liam McCarthy table with a Christy Ring in the cabinet and bring a bit of feel good back to the county.

the_watcher (Antrim) - Posts: 128 - 06/01/2016 13:39:55    1814856

Promotion to Division 1 and an Ulster Title, unearth a midfielder and 2 elite scoring forwards

redhanddefender (Tyrone) - Posts: 913 - 06/01/2016 13:40:12    1814857

Was initially hoping for promotion from div 2 with our footballers but with a lot of recent injuries and player emigration I now think we will struggle and as for the championship another defeat to Mayo looms after that who knows. Big Kevin has a massive job to lift morale in the county.
As for the hurlers after mid season shenanigans nothing less than an All Ireland will do..

Belclare1 (Galway) - Posts: 1626 - 06/01/2016 13:56:10    1814863

Football: Really hard to know as we have a new management team. The evidence over the last few years is that we could get a big result but possibility of a flop (by flop I mean taking a hammering not just a defeat) is ever present and statistically probably more likely. This makes it impossible to predict to how the season will go. I hope we go for the league and I hope we get to an All-Ireland semi final. This would be progress and it is achievable.

Hurling. Cork won't win the All-Ireland. I don't care really as my once favourite sport (hurling) is something that I can barely stomach at intercounty level. There are 6/7 teams that play each other ad nauseum from January to April (Walsh Cup, League etc) in games that amount to no more than shadow boxing. The same teams then play each other sporadically over the next 4 months in mainly dull unexciting games. Many of the skills (pulling on the ground, overhead striking, batting) and the thrall (when was the last time there was a contested clash of the ash in a game?) of hurling are extinct at intercounty level. In my opinion, the game is riddled with cynical, ugly fouling, packed defences, constant rucks etc. Cork are as guilty (but not more guilty) as anybody of the above (I am not pointing fingers). When hurling review committees come up with something that strengthens hurling and saves it from its current mire (rather than protecting the elite-of which Cork are part) then I, and others that I know, might tune back in. until then there are lower levels of hurling that still have some excitement.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 06/01/2016 14:00:21    1814864

impossible for a Dub to comment on this thread. If we say we hope to make a final, we are accused of being cute hoors playing the game. If we say we think we will win sam, we are typical arrogant jackeens

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 06/01/2016 14:02:30    1814865

Gotta be honest, this is lowest expectations I've had for Meath football in 10 years, which is on par with lowest I've ever had. Injuries, retirements and some lads possibly taking time out have depleted our already limited squad, plus there's a shocking level of fitness and attitude and an unfortunate lack of talent.

I'd imagine we'll struggle to avoid relegation and then we'll have 3-4 championship games, crashing out in the qualifiers.

Still I wouldn't mind another 5 past Cluxton in a Leinster semi, a lad can dream!

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 06/01/2016 14:03:48    1814866

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts:2661 - 06/01/2016 12:52:41
Stay in division 2 and a decent run in the championship. An Ulster title would be the stuff of dreams though.

It really is incredible that Fermanagh have never won an ulster title. I would love to see yis do it before they abolish the provincial system.

For my own county I would like to see us retain div 2 status and win a few championship games. a run out in croke park would be good.
now that Keating and Givney are back to strengthen the panel we should be capable of upping our scoring rate.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 06/01/2016 14:09:20    1814868

Ulster title and after that who knows?

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9116 - 06/01/2016 14:22:03    1814872

Hurling: All Ireland Champions.
Football: couldn't care less

onlyhurling (Galway) - Posts: 800 - 06/01/2016 15:44:54    1814886

slayer - I love that attitude. We will not win anything without.
I would also hope our Footballers get a bit of momentum going.

Southsham (Limerick) - Posts: 738 - 06/01/2016 17:24:18    1814914

The league for us this year should be 100% about fixing the Rory problem and wh

KerryKillers (Dublin) - Posts: 711 - 06/01/2016 17:27:23    1814917

Feckin iPhone
I expect us to win the AI, Mayo being our main threat, Kerry not good enough, yet!

KerryKillers (Dublin) - Posts: 711 - 06/01/2016 17:29:23    1814918

I am confident we will retain Sam in the Capital.Expect Kerry & Tyrone to be our main threat.
In hurling I agree with what bennybunny says about the state of the game.Its not the game I grew up watching and loved.
I expect Cody's team to win it again but hope somebody else does.

Condorman (Dublin) - Posts: 983 - 06/01/2016 19:14:39    1814948

Hopefully stay in Div 1, but we need to start the campaign well. We will still be very hard to beat in Ulster and expect to make the final. We should have a good minor team this year and expect them to be competing for the Ulster title
I predict the end of the big 4 as we know it with at least six teams competing for second place, if Dublin are committed enough they will win again

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 06/01/2016 21:50:31    1814999