New Layout

What do ye think?

gaillimh4sam (Galway) - Posts: 14 - 11/12/2015 10:40:22    1812606

Nobody likes change!!! I'm agin it!!!

Nah, it'll take awhile to get used to I'm sure!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13704 - 11/12/2015 11:21:30    1812618

Tis grand

RoyalBadger (Meath) - Posts: 571 - 11/12/2015 11:31:16    1812622

Looks good!

commercials1 (Limerick) - Posts: 115 - 11/12/2015 11:34:47    1812627

You can't beat a bit of progress.

Roger (Meath) - Posts: 470 - 11/12/2015 12:01:07    1812644

Looks good

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 11/12/2015 12:36:39    1812648

Better than what was there before.
Would prefer a site that had all features of a modern forum but this is an improvement on the previous version of the site

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 11/12/2015 12:46:48    1812650

We need a general talk forum badly. I set one up a while back under "other sports" but tiz hard to keep a good topic going on the one thread.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 11/12/2015 12:53:46    1812651

as always with these things it will take a while to get used to but then it will be fine. what we need now, though is better admin to 1) stop wind-up-merchants and 20 to allow genuine posts . Basically we need administrators with the intelligence to distinguish between proper debate and pure nonsence.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 11/12/2015 13:35:42    1812655

I agree with Yew Tree.

Why can't the main forum also have items of a general nature or of rugby or soccer. You could also have a filter system where you saw only GAA topics if you wanted.

I used be on An Fear Rua before it closed down and I came here and it was a great thing on that website to be able to chat to people about music, books, food, movies etc. It added a lot to the place especially at times of the year like this when the GAA is pretty dormant.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 11/12/2015 13:48:38    1812660

Can ye put a direct link to the other fora at the top of the other sports and elevenaside pages similar to the links on the main forum please?

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12115 - 11/12/2015 14:19:32    1812666

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts:7058 - 11/12/2015 12:53:46
We need a general talk forum badly. I set one up a while back under "other sports" but tiz hard to keep a good topic going on the one thread.
The forum administrators and moderators closed the previous general forum as it was causing too much hassle for them due to too many idiotic nonsensical posts.

s goldrick (Cavan)
as always with these things it will take a while to get used to but then it will be fine. what we need now, though is better admin to 1) stop wind-up-merchants and 20 to allow genuine posts . Basically we need administrators with the intelligence to distinguish between proper debate and pure nonsence.
Why shouldn't we be allowed post without moderation though? Works elsewhere so why not here? Though at same time id prefer an upgrade to the forum even though this is just new and an upgrade to something like vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Who would you have in mind to be a moderator "with the intelligence to distinguish between proper debate and pure nonsence"(sic)

TheHermit (Kerry)
I agree with Yew Tree.
Why can't the main forum also have items of a general nature or of rugby or soccer. You could also have a filter system where you saw only GAA topics if you wanted.
I used be on An Fear Rua before it closed down and I came here and it was a great thing on that website to be able to chat to people about music, books, food, movies etc. It added a lot to the place especially at times of the year like this when the GAA is pretty dormant.
There is an entire other forum for discussing rugby/soccer and other issues. You can discuss on this forum about music/books/food/movies just in one thread or if discussing sport in any thread you like.

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 11/12/2015 14:27:23    1812669

It will take a while to get used to it. It's a pity that the latest posts is not on top of the page rather than scrolling through the posts to the bottom.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 11/12/2015 14:32:54    1812671

ormondbannerman
County: Clare

Though at same time id prefer an upgrade to the forum even though this is just new and an upgrade to something like vBulletin® Version 4.2.3

Is that much of an upgrade on Version 4.1.12 ?

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3685 - 11/12/2015 14:47:08    1812675

Looks good. Fair play.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7335 - 11/12/2015 15:20:27    1812680

I like it.

Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 11/12/2015 15:31:35    1812686

I think the forum should be kept purely for GAA, rather than polluting it with other topics. If you want to discuss something else, go to the forums designed for that.

commercials1 (Limerick) - Posts: 115 - 12/12/2015 12:17:59    1812737

11/12/2015 14:47:08
if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts:3073 -
Is that much of an upgrade on Version 4.1.12 ?
Do you use other forums? Do you realise how this is miles behind most?
12/12/2015 12:17:59 commercials1 (Limerick)
I think the forum should be kept purely for GAA, rather than polluting it with other topics. If you want to discuss something else, go to the forums designed for that.
Why keep it just to a limited area of discussion? Yes its a GAA site but why shouldn't talk of all other topics be discussed here? Having other discussion doesn't impact on the GAA discussion? Why limit the forum in that way?

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 12/12/2015 12:41:46    1812738

ormondbannerman
Clare

Do you use other forums? Do you realise how this is miles behind most?

I do. But I don't think any of them run Version 4.2.3 of vBulletin, the latest one I'm sure I'm using is 4.1.12.

Hence my question.

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3685 - 12/12/2015 14:53:27    1812745

The change has not improved it. It was perfectly all right the way it was.

Midleton (Cork) - Posts: 643 - 12/12/2015 15:03:19    1812746