Crossmaglen Rangers

I would like to see what the rest of the country has to say about this Cross team, I'm bias cause i'm from Armagh but I think this cross team are the best club

team ever, After watching them yesterday again I cant help but think they are going to start a run and win more ulsters and maybe All Irelands! This is a new team

apart from Paul Hearty and i think another their is another year or 2 left in him. I would like to see what the rest of the Country thinks of this?

youngfella27 (Armagh) - Posts: 110 - 30/11/2015 10:30:25    1810515

Great great club who have had to overcome much down the years. Six All Ireland's speaks for itself. That said I hope Castlebar stuff em in the new year ;)

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 30/11/2015 10:43:22    1810521

They are quite an amazing side. Yet when I look at the Armagh team sheet, they have a poor number starting for Armagh which is disappointing as they are all capable footballers.

222 (UK) - Posts: 691 - 30/11/2015 11:03:44    1810525

Alot like Kerry, hard to take their success seriously because of how easy a passage they have to the All-Ireland semi final! If they had to come through a province like Munster where it's dog eat dog, the last 8 winners being from 5 different counties, then they would be lucky to have 2 club titles!
Not really, obviously a great club that has produced many great footballers.

Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 30/11/2015 11:06:06    1810526

great side but Scotstown with a bit more cuteness should have beaten them yesterday in normal time.

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1798 - 30/11/2015 11:15:42    1810529

Sama would you ever catch yourself on. The Munster championship? In the period of time since we starting winning All irelands in 1997 only 1 club from Munster has won an All ireland, Nemo in 2003. Connacht club football is by and far the best overall quality with 6 different clubs winning the All Ireland and this Castlebar Mitchells team that we have to face were very unlucky in 2014 after losing their main man Richie Feeney in the early minutes to a black card. People talk about Dublin teams as well but only Vincents and Crokes have made it through. In fact Ulster has produced 2 other winners apart from ourselves in ST Galls and Ballinderry and ST Galls push Salthill hard in another final. I have no doubt that there would have been other teams from Ulster with All irelands if we were not so dominant.

Castlebar will be very hard to beat but if we can get our lads through christmas and sort out their injuries then I think we have a strong chance to push on.

RangerDanger (Armagh) - Posts: 101 - 30/11/2015 11:26:46    1810534

This is where I have to come back and say the reason Munster clubs struggle outside Munster is because their provincial campaign has taken so much out of them! You need to keep up with the workings of HS Ranger!
The reason Crossmaglen are so successful is actually because they produce excellent teams with great footballers, in fact the exact same reason for why Kerry are so successful at intercounty level. I agree that Connacht club football is probably the strongest of all provinces overall as well.

Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 30/11/2015 11:52:27    1810542

The best club team I have ever seen was the Cross team of 1997-2000. This current team have a way to go yet to match that team .

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 30/11/2015 12:00:46    1810547

They look like a very strong team with no obvious weaknesses. There is a line of form that suggests the Castlebar game will be close, Castlebar beat last years champions and Scotstown beat the runners up
Yesterdays game will bring Cross on a lot (they could have lost to a good team in a very competitive match but didn't), they could go all the way and be around for a while. Pity goes to the other clubs in Armagh

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 30/11/2015 12:01:00    1810548

Lol Soma

Well played.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13705 - 30/11/2015 12:02:31    1810551

cross look good but should of been beaten yesterday... what an absolute moronic tackle by K.Hughes.. dont know how he'd show his head after that..

detruth (Monaghan) - Posts: 196 - 30/11/2015 12:06:28    1810552

If it takes so much out of them what are they doing for the 2 month break before an AI semi after winning the Munster???? Clonmel will enjoy the AI semi no doubt but the difference in class between the 2 games yesterday was distinctly evident.

RangerDanger (Armagh) - Posts: 101 - 30/11/2015 12:15:20    1810554

Like to keep a bit of balance on here Mesamis, what's good for the goose is good for the gander etc! Maybe you could look into Crossmaglens club lotto to see if the reasons for their success are down to finance - I remember seeing a club calendar for sale in the petrol station there one year, a type of merchandise expense beyond most small clubs I'd have thought:)

Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 30/11/2015 12:18:36    1810555

It's all about when you have to peak Ranger! Clonmel have to peak in November but Crossmaglen won't be peaking until February. There are many posters on here who will explain it better than me, they have been boring us all summer on it about Kerry! Ps, in case you are in any doubt, the reason Crossmaglen have 6 All-Irelands is because they were the best team in the country. Always felt sorry for the Dromintee side from around 15 years ago, alot like the Limerick county team who never won Munster.

Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 30/11/2015 12:26:43    1810560

I know we were the best team in the country, hopefully we will be again come March!!

RangerDanger (Armagh) - Posts: 101 - 30/11/2015 12:32:21    1810563

Soma

i have to disagree with you, Cross would win in Munster aswell in fact i would say that Scotstown would come close to winning it aswell, yesterdays match was class it had it all red cards great scores from both teams and hard hits... Now soma u said that Cross dont have to be at peak till February but Cross were beaten in Ulster by Omagh last year, Kilcoo the year before and Also very easily could have been beaten yesterday, so how can you say that they have to peak in February, they are an uneal team, i Play football in Armagh at senior level and they are something special and the brand of football they play is a credit to them cause the kick the ball more than fist pass.

youngfella27 (Armagh) - Posts: 110 - 30/11/2015 12:50:38    1810570

Jaysus youngfella I thought I had made it fairly clear that my posts were not entirely serious (except for where I said Crossmaglen are an outstanding club that has produced many great footballers) and instead I was just showing up how silly people are to dismiss Kerrys achievements. Tell me this though, if for some reason Crossmaglen were not in next years Armagh championship do you think your own club would have more lads training and more committed to the cause because ye would have a better chance of winning a county title?

Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 30/11/2015 13:12:52    1810576

What a load of bull!!!!

The Ulster Club Championship is not only the best attended but the most competitive....
Think of all the teams from Antrim, Down, Derry etc which have won the all- Ireland Club Champ...
Also who has got the closest to Crossmaglen.... Maghery in the Armagh County semi-final , lost by 3 points.

In Munster it has been a Cork- Kerry monopoly apart from Clare 2 , Tipp 1 and limerick 1 in nearly 50 yrs..

Well done Cross, hard luck Scotstown, and well done Clonmel...... but you cannot compare an inferior Munster Senior Football Championship with the Ulster Club Championship

cuchulainn35 (Armagh) - Posts: 1671 - 30/11/2015 13:13:13    1810577

Jaysus lads! Soma is taking the absolute mickey out of you boys.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4210 - 30/11/2015 13:16:37    1810581

Jaysus Cucuhlainn you have come in all guns blazing. I like your use of 'etc' - you could have just said Armagh! All-Ireland has been won by 3 Derry clubs, 1 Down club (twice) 1 Antrim club and Crossmaglen. Considering all summer we have to listen to people saying football is only taken seriously in 2 Munster counties isn't it great to see 5 of them have provincial winners in the last 8 years, and the sixth, Waterford, having their champions narrowly beaten in last year's final. Galways club hurling champions have to deal with the same rubbish when they win All-Irelands but let's face it, whether we are talking Kerry, Crossmaglen or Portumna it's all just jealousy.

Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 30/11/2015 13:36:27    1810590