Can Dublin break the Back to Back hoodoo in 2016?

It's going to be very difficult - I agree with CC's comments

There's not much of gap between the top 3 teams

History has proven how difficult it is to put back to back winning campaigns in the modern era

Dublin going for back to back will drag them back, and take away the slight lead they currently hold

Dublin will also arguably have the tougher route to another AI final in 2016

The possibility of a huge game against Kerry looks like a solid bet - An AI Semi-Final with current form applied looks on the cards

So it's definitely an uphill battle to just even reach the final - never mind trying to secure a back to back title

I feel that Dublin will have to hope that certain key players don't retire, they avoid injuries, and on top of that they need to add more options to the current panel - especially in the forwards and midfield

The obvious two names being O'Gara (still recovering from injury) and Mannion

Then you have other lads capable of breaking into the first team like McHugh, Costello and Carty

This is what needs to happen to give Dublin a solid chance

IMO that's a lot to ask for and as such - A Back to Back title could prove to be very difficult indeed

Only time will tell and there will be a few counties feeling confident of stopping Dublin

Kerry will be in a good position with a lot to play for in 2016 - they have a cause to prove themselves again and that will act as motivation

They may lose players to retirement so that could have an impact

On current form IMO Mayo have a very good chance of reaching the 2016 Final - they will avoid both Dublin & Kerry on the way

The last year Mayo beat Dublin in the Championship was in 2012 with Dublin going for back to back titles and finding a more motivated and hungry Mayo team in their way

It proved to much for Dublin...

I wonder if history could repeat itself

What they might have in their favour is the experience they had in 2014 - I think Dublin learned a lot about themselves and perhaps Gavin is all the better for it. A better manger than he was in 2014. IMO he is all the better for it and Dublin know are a much more balanced outfit.

It will be interesting to see if Gavin looks to tweak tactics a wee bit - he'll not want to come back with the same again.

Only time will tell... but there's no doubt... the odds are stacked against Dublin but you never know... they might come back stronger.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 20/11/2015 17:39:44    1808754

I think a lot will depend on whether ye will have Cluxton and Denis bastick next year I'd assume Alan brogan will go and if the 3 go I think that sets Dublin back a little
Cluxton didn't have a great year but still Dublin style is very depandant on his kickouts will take a while I'd imagine for another keeper to take over
Even tho Fenton had a good year he's very young and bastick stood up when needed this year not many options for mf outside of bastick Fenton and mdm
Brogan is a great man to bring off the bench settled a lot of heads in the all Ireland final when he came on
So I'd say if them 3 lads go the task will be a lot tougher

rossy15 (Roscommon) - Posts: 616 - 21/11/2015 08:31:47    1808800

Dublin have a very good chance of doing a back to back. The only ambition in Leinster seems to be to get to a provincial final and then not get stuffed by Dublin. Dublin know they are going to be playing football in August and can peak for it. All of their big games are at home. They have a big panel of quality footballers. Skill wise there isn't a lot to choose between Dublin, Kerry and Mayo but athletically Dublin are better. Whilst everything seems to be in their favour an injury to one of their big players I.e. Cluxton or Bernard Brogan could seriously hamper their chances. Quarter finals could be a banana skin if they got caught cold by the likes of ourselves or Donegal. Last year the draw went in their favour and they got Fermanagh who came with a very positive attacking attitude.

I would be very interested to see tactically how Kerry would line up the next time. To me at this stage of his career Cooper should be close to the opposition goal and not chasing players near his own goal. If you had Cooper, O'Donoghue and Donaghy close to goal it would give the opposition something to think about and stop the Dublin backs marauding forward.

MB1 (Tyrone) - Posts: 360 - 21/11/2015 10:01:31    1808809

Dublin should have a good chance of two in a row. They should get through Leinster handly and like Kerry when they won back to back they will hardly meet the most difficult of opponents early on which can help them peak later. Unlike Ulster for instance where Donegal after winning the All-Ireland in 2012 had to play Tyrone in the PR of Ulster the next year in the middle of May. I also recall Tyrone facing local Derbies in May against Derry and Armagh after winning the All-Ireland's in 2005 & 2008.

Byanthon (Tyrone) - Posts: 1780 - 21/11/2015 10:52:55    1808813

Not a f@ucking chance Jimbo my friend...

Kerry are the only team that have managed that in 25 years and that Kerry team was a hell of a lot better than this Dublin team ;)

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 21/11/2015 12:55:30    1808837

TheHermit

Not a f@ucking chance Jimbo my friend...

Kerry are the only team that have managed that in 25 years and that Kerry team was a hell of a lot better than this Dublin team ;)

Two opinions on the subject , one from the great Gooch its articulated well thought out with valid points , then from the other end of the gene pool theres the above .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 21/11/2015 13:21:48    1808842

Can they yes , will they ? much harder to answer , the one thing everyone talks about is hunger , well this panel is hungry and thats not going to be the issue , coaches are far to good at there jobs to let hunger get in the way , its controlable
However the one commodity that you need is luck and thats at the behest of the gods
I think of many occasions during our run were things fell right , ball spilled here or there and we made the most of it , thats not allways the case , and when it happens the hindsight police are out in full riot gear , that bit of luck here or there can be massive in lifting Sam when teams with very little between them meet .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 21/11/2015 13:34:10    1808848

Damo will you stop being such a prima donna...

I'm only have a laugh....

Jaysus some of ye Dubs are well able to give it, but not take it...

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 21/11/2015 13:51:50    1808855

The Hermit

Had another look at what you posted NO you werent having a laugh , no humour whatsoever , plenty of arrogance , maybe thats what passes for having a laugh in Kerry these days .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 21/11/2015 14:06:20    1808859

Good luck lad, I'll let you at it...

Snuf, Jimbo anything to be said for starting our own forum - reserved for people who can give and take a bit of slagging

This main forum is getting ridiculously sour these days

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 21/11/2015 14:31:56    1808864

I fancy Dublin to win the two-in-a-row.This panel embraces a challenge and will want to emulate the great Kerry team that last achieved it.We may lose A Brogan and Bastick,but hopefully will see Mannion and O Gara return,along with a greater contribution from young Costelloe.It certainly wont be easy and i see Kerry as our main threat.Maybe its a bit early for Kerry to blood some of the back-to-back minor winning teams,but they will do all within their power to knock us off our fu*@ing perch.With the calm,reassuring presence of Jim Gavin on the sideline,i think it will be four All Irelands in six years next September.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 21/11/2015 14:57:17    1808868

I think Dublin are well capable of the back-to-back this time around. Talking to some of the players, the hunger for this is big in the camp at the moment, they realise that this would set them in stone as a great team!!!

KerryKillers (Dublin) - Posts: 711 - 21/11/2015 21:10:02    1808924

not a chance,Wicklow will hammer them :P

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 22/11/2015 09:14:53    1808936

The last 'back to back' was Cork!.....simple as!
If Dublin are beaten in Leinster and go on to win SAM you wont see it raise much of a cheer from me and I certainly won't be calling it a 'back to back'. It would just stick in my craw!!!
Having to come at it via the back door is *astrix territory as 'a team has already proven to be your master'!!!!

You cannot be champions whilst someone has your number!!!......it is tarnished and sullied!!!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 22/11/2015 20:13:23    1809083

Damothedub

The Hermit

Had another look at what you posted NO you werent having a laugh , no humour whatsoever , plenty of arrogance , maybe thats what passes for having a laugh in Kerry these days .

He 100% was joking around.

Dublin definitely favourites but probably less so than last year because of their semi-final draw. Mayo probably second favourites. Tyrone are dark horses for an All-Ireland final appearance.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4210 - 22/11/2015 20:43:48    1809091

Dubs have all that's needed to retain the AI. It looks like a Dublin v Kerry AISF. That will push on Kerry over the winter, but I think they have a lot to make up. They definitely need their top players - Gouch, JOD to be in top form for that match. It's obviously a huge push to retain and a lot of top teams have failed to do it. If they are to win it they'll be put to the pin of their collar ar some stage. I think they've shown over the last five years that they're able to deal with those situations.

theduke66 (Dublin) - Posts: 334 - 22/11/2015 20:44:27    1809092

I think Dublin will reach the final, but Sligo will beat them there and then.

farmer2 (Sligo) - Posts: 442 - 22/11/2015 21:06:35    1809098

The last 25 years have shown that putting 2 perfect years back to back is extremely difficult. Only the Kerry team of the 00s managed it and they were an exceptional bunch. Also the draw suited them that year in that their semi-final and final opponents weren't as strong as in other years.

I feel the Dubs would need something akin to Kerry's run and draw in 2007 to make it 2 in a row.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13705 - 23/11/2015 10:40:09    1809166

I assume that rant was at Kerry's expense Snuff.

When Dublin manage to make it to a final for 2 years running, then you can talk.

I'm sure the Tyrone posters on here will also agree with you that they really have only 1 All Ireland's because the others came through the back door!!!!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 23/11/2015 10:40:41    1809168

Back door.Front door.Sliding doors.Trap door.Who bloody cares what way a team wins it?The best team will be hoisting Sam aloft on the steps of the Hogan Stand next September.Like they do every year.I would like to slam the door shut on those that think otherwise!

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 23/11/2015 11:14:48    1809181