Player power? Answer is Spectators to boycott games

Tomsmith here

I say to my fellow GAA followers that we must take action in the face of a terrible cancer that has befallen on our beautiful game ie players power.
I say ( leaving current county situation aside ) that we the spectators should impose our own sanctions on the players ie boycott games
Get organised and say let these prima donnas play behind closed doors and they would soon learn that ordinary people also can take these elitist people down to size

tomsmith (Cavan) - Posts: 3857 - 19/11/2015 11:12:07    1808404

Like I Said in another thread the GPA and players are destroying our game . GPA are only there for money

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 19/11/2015 12:13:26    1808421

It is quite possible that some GAA people close to Anthony Cunningham will not attend Galway games next year.I would be surprised if this was not the case.When things got very bitter and personnel during the last Cork strike,it caused a huge amount of anger and resentment,which can be felt to this day.I heard it first hand at the time that as long as D Og Cusack and S O Hailpin were togging out for Cork this man would not go to a Cork game.Player heaves and ugly strikes leave a legacy.They cut deep and leave a county bruised.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 19/11/2015 12:31:38    1808428

Good point cuderocket...did Cork's outing of Ger Mccarthy actually help anything. Donal Og is constantly sniping at the County Board. The Cork County Board made big mistakes and he was correct that with all the money been spent they could have made a hand at creating a centre of excellence but what himself , Sean Og etc achieved in getting rid of the current manager was minimal compared to the setback and bitterness it caused. they set Cork back as much as any County Board

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 19/11/2015 13:04:39    1808438

Dellboypolecat

1808421 Like I Said in another thread the GPA and players are destroying our game . GPA are only there for money

Dellboypolecat
Tomsmith here

While in the past I viewed a lot of your posts with scepticism and indeed bemused that the content would have passed scrutiny but having said that you are spot on about player power.
I just wonder where do the GPA stand on an anti manager stance being taken by County players.

tomsmith (Cavan) - Posts: 3857 - 19/11/2015 13:21:25    1808444

Player power, The GPA and the players are the problem, are people for real.

The problems with the GAA are the suits munching on biros at the top tables dictating from on high.

Have people checked out the average week for an Intercounty player. Unpaid volunteers who give up almost every aspect of their lives to fill the stadiums which earns the money for these fat cats in the suits.

Unpaid volunteers who some end up as victims of media spotlight and scrutiny with little support from the suits who earn their crust off the entertainment they provide. The men in suits who show scant regard for the average palyers in their organisation as they come up with ever changing new ways to get as much money as possible from the supporting public who go to support these unpaid volunteers.

Yeah the players are the problem!

What about the Galway County board who reappointed the manager without talking to all the players first, no its the players fault, heaven forbid the men in suits take a bit of the blame.

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1337 - 19/11/2015 14:59:34    1808485

tearintom
County: Wexford

1808485 Player power, The GPA and the players are the problem, are people for real.

The problems with the GAA are the suits munching on biros at the top tables dictating from on high.

Have people checked out the average week for an Intercounty player. Unpaid volunteers who give up almost every aspect of their lives to fill the stadiums which earns the money for these fat cats in the suits.

Unpaid volunteers who some end up as victims of media spotlight and scrutiny with little support from the suits who earn their crust off the entertainment they provide. The men in suits who show scant regard for the average palyers in their organisation as they come up with ever changing new ways to get as much money as possible from the supporting public who go to support these unpaid volunteers.

Yeah the players are the problem!

What about the Galway County board who reappointed the manager without talking to all the players first, no its the players fault, heaven forbid the men in suits take a bit of the blame.

Agree totally but just one correction, the county board knew exactly how the players felt but they decided to hide this from the delegates and lie blatenly to the clubs in order to plough this through.

onlyhurling (Galway) - Posts: 800 - 19/11/2015 15:16:53    1808495

If people think that 'player power' was invented recently then they are mad. Its always been the way. if the dressing room doesn't want you then you have to go. Often it is dressed up differently or fed to the media on a different plate but its the same thing.

What has been invented more recently is the culture of the all powerful manager. The main feature of this culture a manager who dictates to everyone including the county board, players, fixture makers etc.

County board must clear the way so the county team can train unperturbed by club fixtures, players must train 6 days a week (sometimes twice a day or before dawn) mustn't socialise, must pour their every fibre into a team who (90% of the time) have little or no chance of winning anything and for no monetary reward.

Why would players spend 9 months of the year training for a manager who they dont believe in? They tried to let him off quietly but as with the symptoms of an all powerful manager he STILL thought he knew what was best and tried to ram it down their throats.

So many people routinely slate county boards for all of the problems within a county but now they are the saviours, the knights of honesty and virtue who have been shafted by the players? Ah come on now... we are a fickle bunch

SmellyBadger (Limerick) - Posts: 32 - 19/11/2015 15:25:31    1808498

Posted this on another thread but think it is the way forward on this matter:

1 - The process to select a new manager has to be transparent
2 - Players of course should have an input
3 - No Manager should have more than a 2 year term without the opportunity for other Managers to be put forward and a democratic election to take place.
4 - At the end of year 1, there should be provision for a review but only under strict criteria should consideration be given to a Manager stepping down, or being relieved of their duties
5 - Once in place, the Manager, players and all county boards officials should agree to work towards the success of the county team. The Manager needs to have the final call in all team matters.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 19/11/2015 15:49:25    1808514

GoodPoint smellybadger and onlyhurling

These 'player-power' heaves are often exacerbated by county boards. I cannot speak for what happened in Galway but nobody in Cork wanted to put Gerald McCarthy through anything. He was a pawn in a much bigger argument and it would have all ended very quickly and amicably had it not been for the county board who forced him to keep a job that he never wanted so that some people would be 'taught a lesson'. He got stuck in a middle of nasty,petty, bitter fight. This was unfortunate.

There were some reforms (academies were set up, the 50-60% of clubs that were not allowed to attend county board meetings were allowed after that) after all of that but not in terms of the senior intercounty set up. The old methods of choosing intecounty managers continues down here as was evident just a month or so back. Donal Og and Sean Og are well gone. There is no stomach for those battles anymore here so we just accept mediocrity.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 19/11/2015 20:49:48    1808595

Playing top level hurling or football is all encompassing these days, it dictates every aspect of players lives, their diet, their sleep, holidays, social lives and careers. Given this if they are under a manager that the overwhelming majority of them are unhappy with they are more than entitled to speak out.

Maybe Anthony Cunningham has grated with those players for 4 years, maybe he is an awful manager who has being holding them back, maybe they heve achieved what they have inspite of him instead of because of him. I am not saying he is but unless you are inside the camp you can't make a call on how good or bad he is one way or another. If I was an intercounty player I wouldn't fancy signing my life away for another 12 months to play for a manager I had no faith in. If 90% of my colleagues felt the same I would feel justified or even obligated to make my feelings known.

Anyway, agree with the players stance or not, non attendance will hurt the GAA and county boards crippling their finances, this will affect GAA clubs around the country. The inter county players will probably be least affected.

dahayeser (Cork) - Posts: 337 - 20/11/2015 09:31:19    1808625

Player power, The GPA and the players are the problem, are people for real. The problems with the GAA are the suits munching on biros at the top tables dictating from on high. Have people checked out the average week for an Intercounty player. Unpaid volunteers who give up almost every aspect of their lives to fill the stadiums which earns the money for these fat cats in the suits. Unpaid volunteers who some end up as victims of media spotlight and scrutiny with little support from the suits who earn their crust off the entertainment they provide. The men in suits who show scant regard for the average palyers in their organisation as they come up with ever changing new ways to get as much money as possible from the supporting public who go to support these unpaid volunteers. Yeah the players are the problem! What about the Galway County board who reappointed the manager without talking to all the players first, no its the players fault, heaven forbid the men in suits take a bit of the blame.

This argument is a load of BS. First off its the players who are on the pitch not the manager, county board etc So yes if they don't preform it's their own fault and no one elses.

Why should the players be asked? Does that happen in soccer or any other sports? Why do GAA players feel they're better than other sports?

The biggest load of BS is this idea of them getting nothing for playing. The ring leaders of most of these strikes get a lot of playing with their county's, free cars, jobs, money from advertising etc A lot of players getting handy media jobs when they finish playing. Yes they get nothing....

costm (Laois) - Posts: 92 - 20/11/2015 10:06:26    1808631

This argument is a load of BS. First off its the players who are on the pitch not the manager, county board etc So yes if they don't preform it's their own fault and no one elses.

Why should the players be asked? Does that happen in soccer or any other sports? Why do GAA players feel they're better than other sports?

The biggest load of BS is this idea of them getting nothing for playing. The ring leaders of most of these strikes get a lot of playing with their county's, free cars, jobs, money from advertising etc A lot of players getting handy media jobs when they finish playing. Yes they get nothing....

So if the players dont perform because of the tactics employed by the manager they should still get the flack? Lar Corbett made a fool of himself and opened himself up for ridicule against Kilkenny following orders but its his fault. Every aspect of a players life is controlled, what to have for breaksfast, where to have it, where to go on their free time, social life

And yes players in others sports are asked for their opinions, however the sport you mention such as soccer the players get paid, they are employees doing a job unlike the GAA where the time devoted is their free time, their time with family, friends etc.

How many hurlers from Antrim, Carlow or Wicklow get free cars, jobs, money from advertising and handy media jobs. How many footballers from Leitrim, Wexford, Waterford get all that. I have a neighbour on the Wexford football panel and they were told every player to a man needs to raise €500 for the season ahead, he is in college and struggling. I must ask him did he not get a free car?

Yes the GAA is good to the few, but a lot like the suits themselves your post ignores the many!

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1337 - 20/11/2015 10:54:25    1808652

tearintom
County: Wexford

So if the players dont perform because of the tactics employed by the manager they should still get the flack? Lar Corbett made a fool of himself and opened himself up for ridicule against Kilkenny following orders but its his fault. Every aspect of a players life is controlled, what to have for breaksfast, where to have it, where to go on their free time, social life

And yes players in others sports are asked for their opinions, however the sport you mention such as soccer the players get paid, they are employees doing a job unlike the GAA where the time devoted is their free time, their time with family, friends etc.

How many hurlers from Antrim, Carlow or Wicklow get free cars, jobs, money from advertising and handy media jobs. How many footballers from Leitrim, Wexford, Waterford get all that. I have a neighbour on the Wexford football panel and they were told every player to a man needs to raise €500 for the season ahead, he is in college and struggling. I must ask him did he not get a free car?

Yes the GAA is good to the few, but a lot like the suits themselves your post ignores the many!

More BS. If players dont do it on the pitch they and no one else is to blame. If they cant play to a managers tactics after months of training using them whos to blame for that?

More BS again. Yes soccer players are paid. so what? If Galway players aren't happy then why keep playing? Couldn't have anything to do with the profile they have from playing....

At the time of the Cork strikes Donal Og emailed every county player asking them for their support. He was by a Waterford footballer ''If you dont like playing for your county then retire'' Seems to me all of that does not bother them. Its only the Joe Cannings of this world who feel they're entitled to everything. That Wexford footballer is obviously happy to do it to get to play. By the way where are the GPA when it comes to the counties you've said?

costm (Laois) - Posts: 92 - 20/11/2015 11:14:04    1808656

costm

If players trains since since they were kids to make it to the top of their sport you think they should just accept it if the some one is put in charge of a team that is going to prevent them from doing so and retire? I have no problem with players not getting paid but if you begrudge them a bit of a profile in this day and age the GAA may as well pack up it's tent and let them all go play rugby and soccer.

dahayeser (Cork) - Posts: 337 - 20/11/2015 12:16:52    1808678

Funny to see posters outside of Cavan genuinely taking Tom seriously.

Skelling (USA) - Posts: 289 - 20/11/2015 12:20:30    1808681

Fair play costm ye have a very simple outlook on things, id love to be like ye!

If ye cant see how a players performance can be somewhat influenced by the tactics employed and the training invoked im not sure what to say, its is a team game after all, a forwards job is to score for example if a forward doesnt get ball should he be ridiculed for non performance, you side stepped the Lar Corbett example, still the butt of manys a joke following instructions and tactics, who was to blame for that? Lar Corbett?

On the second point in not sure what part is bs as you put it, soccer players are paid and yes they are asked in regards to potential new managers etc. Im sure the Galway players keep playing cos they want to win, they're the ones who work with the trainers and managers every day, if they think their chances are better with another person in charge should they keep their mouth shut and rely on the opinions of the county board who do how many training sessions a year with the manager?? Rely on couple of auld fellas opinions who look on from the stands a dozen or so times a year or the players at the coal face.

And lastly im not sure what your on about, my point is a minority are looked after very well but the majority are not. Its a case of pay to play, do you not see an issue with that? My point is that 90% of county players dont get cars, jobs, etc and your answer was, where was the GPA in all of this?

Are they expected to go get jobs and free cars for all players in every County?

Your answer seems to be if the players dont like whats going on with their county teams then they should just walk away. Its a very simplistic approach to be honest. If we all took that approach to life what sort of world would we live in?

Personally i admire those who put their heads above the parapet and fight to improve things rather than those who either follow meekly like sheep or just turn their backs but each to their own. We are on a small island where we compete on a sporting front with global games such as soccer and rugby for example, surely we should look to make things better rather than "if your not happy then walk away"

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1337 - 20/11/2015 12:31:08    1808686

dahayeser

costm

If players trains since since they were kids to make it to the top of their sport you think they should just accept it if the some one is put in charge of a team that is going to prevent them from doing so and retire? I have no problem with players not getting paid but if you begrudge them a bit of a profile in this day and age the GAA may as well pack up it's tent and let them all go play rugby and soccer.

You see this is it. People always go on about how they do it for nothing etc and how great that is, but then say its fine for them to get money etc because of their profile. What is it? Are they getting something or not?

costm (Laois) - Posts: 92 - 20/11/2015 12:36:36    1808690

costm

Some of them are getting something from sponsorship some of them aren't. Best of luck to them if they are they are more than entitled to it. Nobody is really denying they may be making a few quid off their names opening a few shops or whatever in this day and age. In most cases it is pitence and the GAA has no problem with it.

What I can tell you is a few years back Donal Og Cusack came to our club to present a few medals to the juveniles. Hes stayed to the end or the night, made time for all the kids. When we tried to give him a few bob in an envelop at the end of the night as we do for the medal presenter every year, under no circumstances would he take a cent. Wouldn't even hear of travel expenses. I paraphrase here but his comments were "its hard enough to keep a juvenile club going with out wasting money on the likes of me"

dahayeser (Cork) - Posts: 337 - 20/11/2015 13:13:59    1808698

Here's a mad idea Tom.

Maybe supporters aren't bothered by player power and think it's a good thing that players have a say in managerial appointments.

uibhfhaili1986 (Offaly) - Posts: 1296 - 21/11/2015 15:11:43    1808871