Dermo Connolly different class

Dermo Connolly is playing at a totally different level to everyone else right now , ok it's club football but I've watched all the games on tg4 and no one is doing what Connolly is doing right now the man is different class. His point taking right now is ridiculous no one else in Gaelic football is on this man level and I mean no one. Here's only a little clip of what he's doing in every game for

http://www.dublingaa.ie/news/dubstv-highlights-st-vincents-v-na-fianna

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 27/10/2015 11:48:48    1802196

Not even Rory O'Carroll?

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 27/10/2015 12:16:55    1802215

Hahaha ah The Master I love it I honestly didn't think you had a sense of humour great to see I was wrong.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 27/10/2015 12:21:02    1802217

Agree, but doesn't this belong in the Dublin forum?

flack (Dublin) - Posts: 1054 - 27/10/2015 12:27:20    1802221

yea at club level when you play teams that would be lucky to have 2 or 3 county level players in their ranks.

As for county level, yes he is in an elite shortlist of top players but given his performances in the two Mayo games this year when the heat was really on he certainly didn't prove he was anywhere near a level above anyone else out there. Nor did he in 2013 or two semi finals against Donegal. A quality player yes but above everyone else...nope.

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2385 - 27/10/2015 12:48:18    1802230

How when I'm saying he's on a different level to every other player in Ireland?

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 27/10/2015 12:51:51    1802233

Dublin Forum +1

GetOverTheBar (Tyrone) - Posts: 1388 - 27/10/2015 12:52:15    1802234

I still think he has a way to go to be able to take the sort of scores that Muiris Gavin did for Limerick in 2003.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 27/10/2015 13:01:37    1802237

GetOverTheBar

1802234 Dublin Forum +1

+2 for Dublin Forum , honestly couldn't care less how fellas from other counties are playing for there clubs , nor sure who gives a toss about Dermo and how hes playing for vinnies , theres dubs fans even that aren't bothered

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 27/10/2015 13:41:40    1802259

How is Conor McHugh getting on. Showed a nice bit of trickery there to set up the goal. Will he pushing for the Dublin team or will Mannion back in ahead of him in the pecking order. Yes, those points from Connolly are very top drawer ok.

Steelfixer (USA) - Posts: 41 - 27/10/2015 14:26:08    1802281

If he was on a different level, then he would be the runaway favourite for POTY. He isn't, nor has he been on a single occasion in the past.

The only thing he does that nobody else seems to be able to is repeatedly get off being banned for getting himself sent off.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 27/10/2015 14:29:42    1802286

Great player.

Would love to see him play for a weaker club or county so that he would always be under pressure to be a matchwinner. He can coast so many games with the brilliant teams he plays on.

His performances in the all ireland semi and final were actually quite disappointing given what he can do.

realman2 (Kildare) - Posts: 464 - 27/10/2015 14:37:00    1802290

I was there watching it

Loved the left foot flick up to himself

Showed on his left, made the space and swung it over on the right

Unreal balance the chap has...

Fair play to the Na Fianna defender - read it best he could and even tried to get the block in...

Sometimes there's nothing that can be done

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 27/10/2015 14:58:05    1802306

The only thing he does that nobody else seems to be able to is repeatedly get off being banned for getting himself sent off.

Yes that's all he does

Once again - you sure don't buy BS aye....

But speaking it... well

see above

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 27/10/2015 15:00:30    1802309

realman2

1802290 Great player.

Would love to see him play for a weaker club or county so that he would always be under pressure to be a matchwinner. He can coast so many games with the brilliant teams he plays on.

His performances in the all ireland semi and final were actually quite disappointing given what he can do.

_______

Very interesting point.. never looked at it that way

Listen he's just one player

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 27/10/2015 15:01:54    1802311

It's a while since Dermo scored that much from play for club or county I suppose it's only right he's hyped to the hills again...

Mr_Pundit (UK) - Posts: 677 - 27/10/2015 15:12:43    1802321

Yawn @TheMaster

Wow, you don't like a Dublin player. Did Dublin pay for Connolly to get good at football. Maybe if we split him in half, or give his future earnings to the Mayo to give them a chance at success you'll like us more.

I won't hold my breath.

The fact Connolly was cleared of the charges incident and a high court judge sitting on the DRA panel felt he had the right to defend himself against two attackers, whilst commenting he never got a fair hearing at the other two hearings....... Kinda makes me smile at the sending off comments.

Do you know what Connolly is guilty of? Picking up 3 All Ireland medals.

A modern great, and a guy any team would want to line out for them. Like Murphy from Donegal, just oozes class. With lads trying to get them sent off punching and dragging them all the time, they still manage to dominate games. Classy

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 27/10/2015 15:22:25    1802331

D.Connolly has not only three All-Ireland medals, also two All-Ireland club medals, a very good collection, indeed.

fainleog (Limerick) - Posts: 598 - 27/10/2015 15:39:41    1802341

JayP
Do you know what Connolly is guilty of? Picking up 3 All Ireland medals.

That about sums it up

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4895 - 29/10/2015 08:37:10    1802749

But he isn't the only guy to have 3 all Ireland medals, how does that set him apart? If players are measured on their medals then pat spillane was more than twice the player he is.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 29/10/2015 10:24:39    1802769