Kevin Reilly retires

folks,when you see thread Rory OCarroll the greatest. Well he wasnt in same league as Kevin Reilly and its travesty Reilly never all ireland or leinster medal. I remem Reilly full back in league game years against and cleaned Colm Oeill completely. Bernard Brogan never scored much off him. In the same league as Darren Fay and Mick Lyons

HughHunt24 (Cork) - Posts: 841 - 13/10/2015 12:59:50    1798328

Hugh Hunt, entitled to your opinion but not in the same class as those two ex meath full backs albeit he is playing on a team well off the mark of those meath teams of the late 80s and 90s. He actually always struggled on Brogan so not sure where that came from. A decent player for his county like so many others but never in top echelon of footballers, Fast tracked into the international rules by Boylan and think it gave people a distorted few of him. As I said a decent inter-county footballer notwithstanding that he suffered a lot of injuries.

Adamski (Dublin) - Posts: 339 - 13/10/2015 13:11:37    1798339

Ah stop it now jaysis good player n all but not in The ROC's league.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 13/10/2015 13:20:22    1798343

Adamski

Hugh Hunt, entitled to your opinion but not in the same class as those two ex meath full backs albeit he is playing on a team well off the mark of those meath teams of the late 80s and 90s. He actually always struggled on Brogan so not sure where that came from. A decent player for his county like so many others but never in top echelon of footballers, Fast tracked into the international rules by Boylan and think it gave people a distorted few of him. As I said a decent inter-county footballer notwithstanding that he suffered a lot of injuries.

Have to say I fully agree. Maybe down to injuries but he was regularly destroyed against the better opposition imo.

Good luck in his retirement and hopefully the injuries clear.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 13/10/2015 13:23:01    1798347

Kevin was a fantastic full back and I would disagree that he was fast tracked anywhere, even though crippled with injury this year he contributed massively and his appearance against Tyrone in what turned out to be his final game was awesome. A big loss to Meath not just for his play but his presence and experience, he can rightly be regarded as one of our most important and impressive footballers. Best wishes Kevin.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 13/10/2015 13:25:33    1798349

Wait till RD sees what you wrote adamski? You will be in trouble!!!

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 13/10/2015 13:47:57    1798363

Ah stop it now jaysis good player n all but not in The ROC's league.

Give it a rest, just for one day just give it a rest and maybe even wish a dedicated player all the best in his enforced retirement

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 13/10/2015 13:49:29    1798366

Agree with Clondalkin

Anyone who thinks he is fit to lace Rorys boots need a trip to their local GP.

That said, good luck to him in his retirement. Nice fella. Shame he had to retire cause of injuries.

Not a shame he hasn't got more medals than the one tainted Leinster though. Cause if he did have more itd be at Dublins expense. Over my dead body and all that.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 13/10/2015 13:55:41    1798368

All the best in your enforced retirement Kevin and fair play to you for all the dedication you gave to your County down through the years.

But I believe he was overrated.

tommyt (Wexford) - Posts: 77 - 13/10/2015 13:56:20    1798371

It's sad to see any player have to call it quits at 29. It must be a serious injury as he was a serious footballer in an otherwise average Meath team for several years. Happy retirement if there is such a thing at that age...

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2385 - 13/10/2015 14:05:00    1798375

13/10/2015 13:55:41
waynoI

Agree with Clondalkin

That said, good luck to him in his retirement. Nice fella. Shame he had to retire cause of injuries.

Not a shame he hasn't got more medals than the one tainted Leinster though. Cause if he did have more itd be at Dublins expense. Over my dead body and all that.

Thanks for that Wayne, another great showing of humility and respect whether it's tongue in cheek or not the self serving of some of ye about here is really becoming tiresome

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 13/10/2015 14:31:53    1798388

waynoI

1798368 Agree with Clondalkin

Every chance it's same as yours

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12115 - 13/10/2015 14:32:32    1798390

Very sad to see a player being forced to retire at 29. Unfortunately the way the modern game is going in terms of training and injuries sustained we are going to see more players having to do so with the average inter county player's career being shortened considerably compared to say 20 years ago or even 10 years ago. Somewhat ironic in view of the scientific emphasis on preparation in the modern game.

lilywhite1 (Kildare) - Posts: 2987 - 13/10/2015 14:39:36    1798395

HughHunt24

folks,when you see thread Rory OCarroll the greatest. Well he wasnt in same league as Kevin Reilly and its travesty Reilly never all ireland or leinster medal. I remem Reilly full back in league game years against and cleaned Colm Oeill completely. Bernard Brogan never scored much off him. In the same league as Darren Fay and Mick Lyons

Hugh he has a Leinster medal. Anyway all the best to Reilly. He was a brilliant footballer.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 13/10/2015 15:22:13    1798415

Had the opportunity to interview him many years ago for the college paper and he came across as an utter gent. Sad to hear this news.

He probably played during a fallow period for Meath football, but still has a lovely haul of medals: Hogan Cup, Sigerson, Leinster Senior Championship, Railway Cup, selected for Ireland at international rules.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 13/10/2015 15:36:24    1798422

Is there not another thread already about ROC.
Jaysus that is some injury list, enough for a complete team. Just goes to show the toll the modern game can have on a young man especially if injury prone
Wish him well, was my type of footballer (brave, hard, no-nonsense but fair with no shortage of skill too). Still think he is young enough to take a year out

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 13/10/2015 16:19:23    1798451

There wasn't a better full back in the country than Kevin Reilly while fit.His list of injuries was unbelievable. Meath have now lost two of their experienced players and Menton will not be available next year.I would be concerned that our oldest player will be 26..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 13/10/2015 16:39:56    1798461

Id agree not in same class as roc, a average player with a above average side, Kevin was a above average player with a average side
But that is some injuries list, and i cant understand how he was allowed to play that second half in last years final, he had physio on during first half, his hip was virtually braking and chipping away, perhaps playing on added to his enforced early retirement, some man to keep playing with it but he should not have been let.
That said a gentleman in every sense, best wishes for the future kev and thanks for going above and beyond the call of duty. "hero"

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 13/10/2015 17:03:56    1798481

HughHunt24

He has a Leinster medal 10 brains.

SLLY (Dublin) - Posts: 463 - 13/10/2015 17:07:46    1798482

Big loss to Meath, Kevin was an excellent player for us and proper gentleman, sadly he's been plagued with injuries for a number of years now and while he is a big loss to us I think he's made the right the decision and not a particularly surprising one either. Your health always has to come first, so thanks for all the service Kevin and best of luck in retirement.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 13/10/2015 17:10:12    1798483