Dublin worthy winners of Sam.

Dublin showed great character in seeing off a determined Mayo team and outplaying a Kerry team in every way bar the scoreboard. In Diarmuid Connolly and co. they have the best half forward line in the country and to see them click is a joy to watch.To what extent are their performances linked to their perceived advantages? Stephed Cluxton alluded to the fact that money has nothing to do with it in his speech. Interesting that he would point this out after winning 3 out of the last five All-Irelands. Dublin received a total of 4 million from AIG in 2013. The second closest deal to this is Chill insurance which is 1 million also received in 2013. Other counties are receiving buttons in comparison. Could Dublin win the next 3 all-Ireland's in a row with a Kerry team in transition and a mentally exhausted Mayo team in their wake. There are undeniably no other contenders.

Jimin10 (Meath) - Posts: 783 - 24/09/2015 16:06:21    1791909

Did Dublin not receive big sponsorship deals in the noughties when they werent sucessfull? Why do we keep hearing about it now?
They were the best team in 2015 no matter what excuses other counties have.

KY4SAM2015 (Kerry) - Posts: 898 - 24/09/2015 16:45:44    1791937

Jimin10

4 million over 4 years

Not 4 million a year up front to spend on our senior footballers....

Sure Kerry have 6 million to spend on a centre of excellence...

All top counties spend big.. the more successful you are the higher the costs

Sure look at Meath - ran up massive debt by spending big compared to what they are able to take in

Just look at other successful counties that have won Sam in recent years - all would have spent very large sums of money on their winning AI team

We have teams competing at every level in both codes to a high level

It doesn't come cheap and that AIG money has to be spread around

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 24/09/2015 16:50:11    1791941

Let it all out, Jimin, we're here to help.

Gavvygavgav (Dublin) - Posts: 382 - 24/09/2015 16:50:21    1791942

KY4SAM2015

1791937 Did Dublin not receive big sponsorship deals in the noughties when they werent sucessfull? Why do we keep hearing about it now?

______

We did... we had multiple sponsors

Money is great when you can spend it on great players.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 24/09/2015 16:51:16    1791943

Dublin received a total of 4 million from AIG in 2013.

To be divided between the following over a 3 year period: I'll let you do the maths yourself.

Senior Footballers
Senior Hurlers
Ladies Footballers
Camogie
U21 Footballers
U21 Hurlers
Minor Footballers
Minor Hurlers

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 24/09/2015 16:54:31    1791949

James Horan spoke on Newstalk last week and said that after the drawn game between the sides, Dublin's players went for very expensive treatment designed to speed up recovery from injuries ten times faster, while Mayo's players went back West on a Bus. He also went on to say if Mayo could have done the same (while he was manager) then they would.

If all counties had Dublin's resources they'd use them. But it is one thing to use them it is another to use them wisely and it looks like a huge amount of Dublin's success is down to hard work. That is the key ingredient for most success.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 24/09/2015 17:03:03    1791955

Jimin10
4 million over 4 years
Not 4 million a year up front to spend on our senior footballers....
Sure Kerry have 6 million to spend on a centre of excellence...

That 4 million isn't their only income though, or even their only sponsorship income. Kerry raised a lot of that money themselves, bit of a difference there. You seem at pains to misrepresent your sponsorship and the monies of other counties. Bit disingenuous really.

You aren't fooling people anyway, we all know Dublin get way more, why not just talk about it openly instead of going into this deception routine?

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 24/09/2015 17:04:06    1791957

Give us your facts and figures for all Dublin's income, then Master, and the breakdown of exactly where it goes, who it funds, which level it funds and how it is spread throughout.

Then do the same for Mayo.

If you can't do that, then please be quiet because you're not dealing in facts, you're peddling rumour and fluff, tailored to suit you own particular viewpoint. As per usual.

Gavvygavgav (Dublin) - Posts: 382 - 24/09/2015 17:12:38    1791964

Themaster

Poor mouth Meath and Mayo lads..

Running up gigantic debt chasing glory... with zero to show for it.

You'd swear you weren't spending way above your own means... while also being in huge debt.

We're entitled to attract who we want, and spend our own money on what we want.

There's always someone on top... it wasn't an issue when we were rubbish...

Mayo have the ability to spend more than most counties... and would easily be in the top 4 or 5 counties

Sure you spent close to what was it.. 700,000 on your senior footballers last year... ONE TEAM

But that's grand.. sure you're allowed spend above almost everyone else but no one can be above you... right?

Your logic ids ridiculous...

We've always had the money - but it's feck all use without the players to spend it on.

As proved from 1996-2011

Same old tired argument themaster

Same old answer... you're not good enough... you keep on kicking the ball wide... every year.

I'd put my house on you boys spending more on your panel in 2015, than anyone else you beat this year in the championship

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 24/09/2015 17:24:43    1791974

Re the title of this topic Dublin worthy winners. Absolutely!!! and as a Mayo man living in Dublin I am delighted they won when Mayo didn't. They play a very attractive brand of football and are clearly a talented group of players.I don't subscribe to the naysayers who expect Dublin to dominate for the next few years. Its hard to keep up the enthusiasm for that length of time when you have a few All Ireland medals in your back pocket.

mod (Mayo) - Posts: 859 - 24/09/2015 17:26:20    1791975

I think we should all give up trying until they roof The Hill, split Dublin in 2, stop sponsors giving them money, make them play their league games in Parnell Park, make them play away games in the championship, decentralise the biased Dublin media, bring in a rule that Dublin players have to have parents born and bred in Dublin, make Dublin players drive 100 miles roundtrip to training same as most counties, make them eat sandwiches after training (we know rightly they're getting shteak and shpuds after every session after Bernard Brogan did the deal with Supervalu).

Only then can we hope to compete against such odds. No matter that ye can kick the ball over the bar over the bar in the (ahem) Championship moments. Ye big bad Dublin bogeyman.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7335 - 24/09/2015 17:44:48    1791991

KY4SAM2015

Did Dublin not receive big sponsorship deals in the noughties when they werent sucessfull? Why do we keep hearing about it now?

---
Well said. Dublin have had lucrative sponsorship deals for many years. Money can't buy you success. Look at the hurlers. You need a combination of raw materials, grassroots work, organisation and a culture of enticing, and succeding in getting, kids to play gaelic games. Money helps with the facilities and coaching etc but look at the size of population and amount of clubs requiring coverage.

This is a special group of players, you probably only get such a group once every 20 years or so, so we have to make the most of the purple patch. Mayo are in the same boat I would say, they are in a golden era and have quality in every position. But all top teams are up there to be knocked off. The trick is to stay up there as long as possible.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 24/09/2015 17:58:48    1792002

24/09/2015 16:54:31
CroiGorm

Dublin received a total of 4 million from AIG in 2013.

To be divided between the following over a 3 year period: I'll let you do the maths yourself.

Senior Footballers
Senior Hurlers
Ladies Footballers
Camogie
U21 Footballers
U21 Hurlers
Minor Footballers
Minor Hurlers

Not divided equally the senior footballers would take the biggest share. Don't forget to add in the official hydration partners Ballygowan! I think the Toyota sponsorship is mainly for player perks but every little helps.

Jimin10 (Meath) - Posts: 783 - 24/09/2015 18:14:40    1792010

Id say Dubs will do just fine next year if they stick to playing football

Miler (Mayo) - Posts: 1015 - 24/09/2015 18:30:58    1792015

We're here to help, miler

Gavvygavgav (Dublin) - Posts: 382 - 24/09/2015 18:53:13    1792023

And the award for stating the obvious goes to......
Of course theyre worthy winners. No ifs or buts about it.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 24/09/2015 19:08:19    1792029

24/09/2015 17:03:03
slayer
County: Limerick

James Horan spoke on Newstalk last week and said that after the drawn game between the sides, Dublin's players went for very expensive treatment designed to speed up recovery from injuries ten times faster, while Mayo's players went back West on a Bus. He also went on to say if Mayo could have done the same (while he was manager) then they would.

If all counties had Dublin's resources they'd use them. But it is one thing to use them it is another to use them wisely and it looks like a huge amount of Dublin's success is down to hard work. That is the key ingredient for most success.

I wouldnt believe everything James Horan. He has come across a very bitter on his views on Dublin whether on Newstalk or newspaper articles.

Gael85 (Dublin) - Posts: 1433 - 24/09/2015 20:45:27    1792077

Apparently they had to walk down to Busaras from Croker too, with just one bottle of lemonade and a packet of custard creams between them.

Gavvygavgav (Dublin) - Posts: 382 - 24/09/2015 20:50:36    1792085

Haven't had the opportunity since last Sunday to post until now but congrats to Dublin on winning the AI. I felt they were the best team I've seen this year, just marginally better than Mayo but are miles ahead of everyone else and playing good football in the process. The conditions were awful on Sunday and IMO on a better day they would have really put an average enough Kerry team to the sword. Enjoy the celebrations lads and lassies!!

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1671 - 24/09/2015 21:04:55    1792095