How can O'Rourke and Brolly be surprised with Tyrone fans reaction?

Seems O'Rourke and Brolly are surprised they're getting stick from Tyrone people following their double barrelled assault on Tyrone both on SG and newspaper media. I'm sure Tyrone people will take their criticism on the chin but when it's as one sided as portrayed by these two they can't be that shocked that some people and probably a small minority vent their anger . I will watch with interest today to see if they pick out any negative tactics and create the storm they normally do if Tyrone are involved.

IrishGael3 (USA) - Posts: 1092 - 30/08/2015 14:41:28    1777947

Anyone giving abuse to the pundits should be ashamed of themselves. They're pundits - it's their job to criticize and they comment on what they see. Maybe the Tyrone fans should be speaking to their management about their teams tactics rather than abusing Colm and Joe!!

Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 30/08/2015 14:55:07    1777957

It is interesting that he said that 3/4 million watched last week and drew the conclusion therefore that it is a good product. He also stated that the show creates controversy and again suggests that this what the product should do.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 30/08/2015 15:16:58    1777967

Typical Tyrone reaction, always the victims, this comes from Harte and transfers to players and supporters.
Don't do the crime if you cant do the time.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 30/08/2015 15:18:16    1777968

Interesting comment from Brolly Monaghan considering the poor loser Monaghan antics at the end of the game that kicked everything off - pot kettle comes to mind. I guess it's only Tyrone that are the perpetrators of the dark arts - thank God for this game today as it will be pure football with no rules broken.

IrishGael3 (USA) - Posts: 1092 - 30/08/2015 15:29:46    1777975

Poor old Colm. Such a sensitive, misunderstood bloke. And, as his comments above show, just as capable of talking rubbish outside the studio as inside it (who in Tyrone can forget his daft 'Brian Dooher - a very bad footballer' comment [that's the same 'twin-engined' Dooher who captained Tyrone to two Al Irelands and easily was one of the county's best footballers ever]).

Let's look at what Colm says - comments on Colm's statements in CAPS inside [ ]:

"Does the president really think that if any other county carried on like Tyrone that they would be treated any differently in the press or on The Sunday Game? [SERIOUSLY, WHAT PLANET IS COLM LIVING ON? NOT SURE WHAT THE PRESIDENT THINKS, BUT QUITE OBVIOUSLY, YES, OF COURSE THEY WOULD BE TREATED DIFFERENTLY. WE'VE SEEN SEVERAL HIGH-PROFILE DIVES AND FEIGNING INCIDENTS RECENTLY - O'MAHONY, SHIELDS, BEGGAN AND AGAIN BY DUBLIN IN TODAY'S GAME. WE STILL AWAIT THE 'BAD SMELL' COMMENTS IN RELATION SO SUCH INCIDENTS FROM COLM; WE AWAIT THE DISREPUTE CHARGES AND WE AWAIT THE NATIONAL ORGY OF MEDIA MORALISING. DON'T HOLD YOUR BREATH FOLKS.]

If the answer is yes, that's even more worrying. I have no doubt that if Dublin, Mayo or Kerry involved themselves in the type of conduct which both Monaghan and Tyrone were at, the reaction would be the same." [WELL, YOU MAY HAVE NO DOUBTS COLM, BUT YOUR COMMENTS BEAR NO RELATION TO REALITY. MAYO'S FORWARDS DIVED FOR FREES AND PENALTIES ALL DAY LONG TODAY, A DUBLIN LAD PRETENDED TO BE INJURED, O'MAHONY WAS HIT BY AN 'INVISIBLE SNIPER' IN THE LEAGUE ETC AND THE SG REACTION WAS MUTED OR NON-EXISTENT. DOUBLE STANDARDS SO BLATANT YOU COULD PROBABLY SEE THEM FROM SPACE, COLM.]

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 30/08/2015 17:39:42    1778136

Well after the non reaction from Brolly, O Rourke and Spillae to what went on in today's game (potential leg breaking tackles, head butts, etc etc) I'm beginning to think these Tyrone boys have a point to be honest.

All that's required is balance, treat everyone the same and a lack of balance couldn't have been any more blatant than it was today, it was so blatantly missed its almost crass!

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1328 - 30/08/2015 18:14:57    1778191

Typical Tyrone reaction, always the victims, this comes from Harte and transfers to players and supporters.
Don't do the crime if you cant do the time.

how could it come from Harte? he doesn't talk on the TV. Does he post out letters to every address in the county telling them to feel 'victimised'? As for that second sentence, tell it to your fellow county man O'Rourke before he gets personal about a team and then plays the victim when it comes his way. You can't have one rule for one and one for another and the sooner these so called pundits get that message the better.

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2385 - 30/08/2015 18:16:35    1778193

Having said if Mayo / Dublin or Kerry involve in conduct similar to Tyrone/ Monaghan I wonder what will O Roark write next Sunday. He should have plenty to comment on but will he ?? Also the penalty for the jaw breaking offence Armagh v Dublin.... One game ban and no mention of the Armagh player
Yet young T McCann was hung out to dry. What a shambles we have in Ireland.
Wonder who will ref the replay ??

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 30/08/2015 18:52:36    1778234

The reaction on RTE to today's game only reinforces our belief that we were singled out.

IsMise (Tyrone) - Posts: 119 - 30/08/2015 20:54:05    1778374

Indeed IsMise I have called for an ALL Ulster boycott of RTE now; the bias just gets worse and worse. NOTHING on RTE News about the stamps, punches, headbutts, 10 stitches in a fella's head etc. Tyrone have been totally vindicated in their belief that they have been singled out.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9697 - 30/08/2015 21:24:52    1778421

Lads they're only doing it for the good of the game. ye should all be taking their criticism on board to improve your image (and not take it to heart). I remember at the end of Banty's reign as Monaghan manager Brolly saying that we were the dirtiest team in the country. We had to sack poor banty and clean up our act. Now we're probably the cleanest team in the country. Thanks Joe

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 30/08/2015 21:33:04    1778431

IsMise

The reaction on RTE to today's game only reinforces our belief that we were singled out.

-----
Of course you were. And lest we forget, what about the shameful dive? Ah I see, best not to mention that as it doesn't quite fit in with the victimisation theme. Ah well.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 30/08/2015 21:40:46    1778440

Of course Tyrone were singled out , same as Donegal in 2011
What went on today was just as bad but what kind of reaction will we get.
Will the management on both sides( Mayo/ Dublin) get the same treatment as M hart or J McGuinness.
Rte want to adopt something like "" what's good for the goose is good for the gander"" but I bet they won't.
Some really dangerous play today and lucky no bad injuries.

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 30/08/2015 21:41:17    1778441

SamOnErrigal

Will the management on both sides( Mayo/ Dublin) get the same treatment as M hart or J McGuinness.
Rte want to adopt something like "" what's good for the goose is good for the gander"" but I bet they won't.

-----
All the SG did last night was point out the cynical play. You've clearly lost your bet. Sorry this didn't fit in with your Tyrone victim angle. Was that not good enough for you? You won't see Dublin now play the victim, despite the fact that several other players should have seen the line and one of our players, coincidentally the player set to mark their top man, was viciously taken out of the game and had to receive 10 stitches. Fair play to Ciaran Whelan. He called those incidents out and didn't spare the rod. Imagine Canavan doing that on Sky to Tyrone. Never.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 31/08/2015 08:49:11    1778477

Ulsterman

Indeed IsMise I have called for an ALL Ulster boycott of RTE now; the bias just gets worse and worse. NOTHING on RTE News about the stamps, punches, headbutts, 10 stitches in a fella's head etc. Tyrone have been totally vindicated in their belief that they have been singled out.

Stop talking tripe will you please, I thought ye were all made of tougher stuff up there, last nights Sunday Game spared no rod and fair balanced analysis was given. Your continual whinging only serves to prove that ye are gone a little bit soft up North. Big bad RTE annoying our downtrodden Northern cousins, what total nonsense

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 31/08/2015 10:03:00    1778592

Joxer

SamOnErrigal

-----
All the SG did last night was point out the cynical play. You've clearly lost your bet. Sorry this didn't fit in with your Tyrone victim angle. Was that not good enough for you? You won't see Dublin now play the victim, despite the fact that several other players should have seen the line and one of our players, coincidentally the player set to mark their top man, was viciously taken out of the game and had to receive 10 stitches. Fair play to Ciaran Whelan. He called those incidents out and didn't spare the rod. Imagine Canavan doing that on Sky to Tyrone. Never.

Well said Joxer, a Dublin man and a Mayo man sat in front of the nation last night and criticised the negativity of their respective counties, the undertone was noted and acknowledged and no excuses or defence was put up, I thought Whelans analysis was particularly honest and upfront last night. No one trying to hide or defend the indefensible just calling a spade a spade without putting county allegiance first, many could learn from that

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 31/08/2015 10:07:37    1778599

I have to say I was never a fan of Whelan,but he is one of the best pundits out there..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 31/08/2015 10:13:50    1778615

My heart goes out to ulsterman and SamonErrigal this morning. Couldn't believe the sunday game highlighted the incidents from yesterday's game.
It's gonna be hard for you to bang the victimisation drum now but I'm confident in your abilities to recover.
Keep hit lit!!!

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 31/08/2015 10:19:07    1778628

The problem is this thread has nothing to do with the Sunday Game, it about Brolly and O Rourke and their reaction to incident by one team and non reaction when it comes to other teams.

To be fair if people cant see that then they are refusing to open their eyes. The Sunday game isnt the issue at all.

yesterday was probably the most cynical game all summer and not a peep from Messers Brolly or O Rourke.

Im afraid to say im starting to see these Tyrone boys have a point after yesterday.

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1328 - 31/08/2015 10:19:20    1778630