Tension on the Hill?

To lads who were in the Hill yesterday, was there tension on the Hill between the fans? A few times the camera caught what was obvious "obscenities" being traded between fans, and after the game the cameras panned in on a gang of kerry lads giving the fingers and the "f**k offs" to what i assume was Tyrone fans on their way off the Hill?

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 24/08/2015 12:57:34    1775178

I was oblivious to all that, will have to watch it again!

AthCliath87 (Dublin) - Posts: 345 - 24/08/2015 13:00:40    1775184

I saw that Liam.A Kerry lad giving fingers at end of game.Thought nothing more of it.You get morons supporting every county.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 24/08/2015 13:05:10    1775193

I was on the Hill yesterday in my usual spot. Just behind the goal about 3/4s the way up. There was a good Tyrone group in front of me that were having the craic singing away. "Don't ban McCann, Tiernan McCann....." They were in good spirits and added to the atmosphere.

There were a group of youngfellas from Kerry up behind us and their behaviour wasn't the best in my opinion. Throwing bottles and programmes down onto the Tyrone lads and singing songs about "dirty Tyrone bastards" - "Brits". A distinct lack of class shown by that particular group, which was at odds with my usual experience with Kerry supporters. There's bad apples amongsnt everyone's support, as us Dubs know only too well! The Tyrone group didn't react at all though so fair play to them.

A few Kerry lads around us were clearly embarrassed by the youngfellas chanting though and were apologising to the Tyrone lads it should be said also.

Just a few little eejits acting the big one with a few beers on board maybe.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13704 - 24/08/2015 13:10:28    1775203

tut tut.

Nothing surprises me with Kerry folk.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 24/08/2015 13:16:33    1775219

Didn't quite get the reception Id been expecting when visting Kilarney this year Ive been many times previously , and again it must be said a young group acting the idiot , it is everywhere , yes all counties have their clowns , just does leave a bad taste in the mouth .
Nothing wrong with banter , but some lads are boarding on incitement .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 24/08/2015 13:23:13    1775230

My God . . Has Joe Duffy been informed ?

Burnsey (Down) - Posts: 561 - 24/08/2015 13:29:01    1775239

There was hassle on hill 16 the previous week when the game ended- Galway fans pelted with plastic bottles and some reacted I'm told.

lowballplease (Galway) - Posts: 935 - 24/08/2015 13:35:18    1775243

Nothing new here. Wasn't there a bit of fighting last week between young lads from tipp and Galway after the game was over. Bottles thrown and not a steward or Garda to be seen. Drunken teenagers up for the day unsupervised. If a person is under the influence they shouldn't be let in. Time for a bit self control on the patrons part. There for a game not a drinking session.

Bain (Donegal) - Posts: 470 - 24/08/2015 13:35:35    1775244

Mesamis

I was on the hill yesterday and didnt witness any of what you say but maybe you were in a better position then me to see what was going on.

Any Kerry fans involved in the incidents you have highlighted do not represent the majority of Kerry fans and as you said I would have hoped other Kerry fans in that section of the hill would have tried to put a stop to their behaviour.

I have a few unsavory incidents from a few Tyrone fans during the game too and from the dubs after the 2011 final but I will let it go as I dont like bashing the whole of Tyrone or Dublin for the acts of a few eejits.

KY4SAM2015 (Kerry) - Posts: 898 - 24/08/2015 13:37:18    1775246

There was a good atmosphere been honest. Playing Dublin you get the majority who wouldn't know there own club and canal drinking brigade loud and brash. Tyrone and Kerry crowd were in general behind the reside and none of the usual crap associated with Dublin

Murph (Kerry) - Posts: 45 - 24/08/2015 13:38:13    1775247

Zzzzzzz murph

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 24/08/2015 13:44:54    1775255

You have idiots attached to every support

what's the important lesson here...

From what Mes witnessed

You had Kerry lads apologising for their fellow Kerry supporters

That's what we all have to do at games at times

Don't stand idly by and allow the minority to tarnish your county

Fair play to those Kerry supporters for standing up to that sort of muck

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 24/08/2015 13:54:23    1775268

Can't we all just be friends

AthCliath87 (Dublin) - Posts: 345 - 24/08/2015 13:56:41    1775273

Yeah occasionally you can a little flare up on the hill. Luckily it's usually always between people looking for trouble and not people minding their own business.

Tipp and Galway fans had a little scuffle after the hurling match last week. It was only between 4 or 5 of them so considering there was almost 60k at the match you can't exactly tar everyone with the same brush.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 24/08/2015 14:06:18    1775281

Murph

There was a good atmosphere been honest. Playing Dublin you get the majority who wouldn't know there own club and canal drinking brigade loud and brash. Tyrone and Kerry crowd were in general behind the reside and none of the usual crap associated with Dublin

Ah yeah Murphy, the 'majority' of us Dubs are all like that. Thankfully the people above that mentioned the Kerry fans causing trouble yesterday (note I said Kerry not Tyrone fans) have been quick to say they don't tar all fans from troublesome counties with the same brush, pity the same can't be said of you.

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 24/08/2015 14:11:11    1775286

Dublin People don't get it when other teams are playing have the hill cause they are assigned 99% of it wehen they play. Tyrone fans were probably a bit tipsy when entering croker and having a bit of craic singing songs, I heard a Yaya, kolo chant but couldnt make out what they were singing.

God help our fans for doing what Dublin have done for years to then be criticised about it!

Find_the_space (Tyrone) - Posts: 313 - 24/08/2015 14:12:03    1775288

KY4SAM2015

It was only maybe 14/15 lads I'd say. Probably had a few gargles on the train/bus up.

Nothing worse than people seeing an isolated incident and tarnishing an entire county's support. Just to be clear I'm not doing that at all as the Dubs are on the receiving end of that BS all the time on these boards.

As Jimbo pointed out though it is important to let opposition supporters know that you don't condone that type of stuff as a number of other Kerry supporters were doing yesterday.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13704 - 24/08/2015 14:13:49    1775292

Find_the_space

Dublin People don't get it when other teams are playing have the hill cause they are assigned 99% of it wehen they play. Tyrone fans were probably a bit tipsy when entering croker and having a bit of craic singing songs, I heard a Yaya, kolo chant but couldnt make out what they were singing.

God help our fans for doing what Dublin have done for years to then be criticised about it!

???

I thought the Tyrone fans on the Hill were excellent yesterday.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13704 - 24/08/2015 14:15:38    1775294

Find_the_space

Did you read any of the posts above?? Nobody mentioned Tyrone fans causing trouble, the people singled out were Kerry fans. But don't let that get in the way of using bad behaviour at yesterday's game as a stick to beat the Dublin fans with.

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 24/08/2015 14:16:35    1775295