HS - Long Time Posters

Out of curiosiry, how many of ye lads are here more or less from the start.
The names i see today that were there in the early days are Jimbo, Breffni, Thomas Clarke, Big Sacks, Navynblue and one or two others.

When did the rest of you join ?

whatever happened to the lads now departed? Dubinmeath, Snuf, The Real Ard Ri, Loyal2theroyal, Ballboy, Corkcelt, Midmonman, Aidan Galway, Real Kerry Fan, etc etc etc

Some craic back then. Dublin and Mayo was like Celtic and feckin Rangers on here :)

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 13/08/2015 19:22:23    1769681

Beer baron was another from Cavan jackline from Dublin to! Paddyogall from Mayo springs to mind, orlaith from Derry!

222 (UK) - Posts: 691 - 13/08/2015 20:09:27    1769704

You are some man for the whistful threads harping back to the old days liam.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 13/08/2015 20:11:21    1769706

can't believe you forgot me Liam

wise_guy (Tyrone) - Posts: 1584 - 13/08/2015 20:12:30    1769707

Ahh i been knocking around awhile meself but sure im still only a nipper.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 13/08/2015 20:24:40    1769719

All those guys there all the time....

Snuf is probably here under an alias.... Mr sarcastic.

Ballboy was the greatest stirrer ever. Never had one like him since.

BIG SACKS (Tyrone) - Posts: 1681 - 13/08/2015 20:34:03    1769726

Over 13,000 posts The Master, man you is old,

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8584 - 13/08/2015 20:40:46    1769731

I'm here donkeys years ! I was a reader only for a while until I decided to join the fray.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 13/08/2015 20:47:37    1769738

I remember the days before usernames and passwords , just a'handle', the Ulster influx in the early 00s and then the dublin mayo wars, the cork hurlers strike...etc

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4624 - 13/08/2015 20:47:47    1769740

Long enough to know better I guess!

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 13/08/2015 20:53:58    1769742

As much as we all like to whinge & moan at various times,i do enjoy this forum & the different personalities.For a GAA addict,it really is a must.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 13/08/2015 21:10:28    1769756

From my own County Squidword and RealLouthfan are two who were always on here and both disappeared. You had Josef/Inniskeen Bull/ who was from the Monaghan/Louth border the same person with multiple names aswel.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 13/08/2015 21:12:44    1769760

Read it for years. But didn't join in the craic until 2011. Ball boy or liathroid boy as he was also known could make my blood boil.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 13/08/2015 21:13:57    1769761

Where noomoo disappear to?

HughHunt24 (Cork) - Posts: 841 - 13/08/2015 21:18:10    1769766

had enough no point in posting anymore

fortyfive (Tyrone) - Posts: 5929 - 13/08/2015 21:22:14    1769767

Has Snuffy been around of late? Jayocluxton and RMDrive haven't been seen since they headed off to Eagleland.. The late Patrique is still sorely missed :-(

Long.Dub.Glic (Dublin) - Posts: 190 - 13/08/2015 21:42:34    1769794

Here more or less from the start. Loyal2theroyal was a legend, as of course was Ballboy. Best two windup merchants on here, hands down. Paddyogall was forever banging on about how great Enda Kenny was until the MODs got stricter. He has sadly disappeared but was another great WUM. Where is Ballboy's reincarnation, Liathroidboy? Moomoo is now posting under a different name. Whatever happened to Tomao**the Dublin poster. Another quality contributor gone. The 00s were a tough time to be a Dub on here, under constant attack from Mayo, Tyrone and Kerry posters. There was some bile spouted back then I can tell you especially when the Dubs were knocked out by Tyrone and Kerry, not to mention that infamous Mayo collapse. Paddy went into overdrive for weeks after that while we fought from the ropes. The only consolation was that they didn't even end up with as much as a miraculous medal at the end of it never mind a celtic cross.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 13/08/2015 21:48:16    1769807

I think I started reading the forum around 01/02, but didn't join until 09, and I think it was reading Patrique's posts that got me to start contributing. I'd imagine Patrique's contributions got alot of people to get off the fence and join in, so I'd regard him as one of the posters that have had the biggest influence on this forum.

Marlon_JD (Tipperary) - Posts: 1823 - 13/08/2015 21:49:27    1769810

here since the summer of 2008 - this forum has got a whole lot nastier since then!

seems less people nowadays can have a constructive argument/debate without going all babyish

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 14/08/2015 08:24:06    1769826

It's been a long time indeed, Liam - we're getting old, my friend! My tenure also stretches well back before the days of registered usernames, although I've always been Thomas Clarke.

As for some of those you mentioned, RealKerryFan retired from posting on all sites a year or 2 ago, while I've a hunch that Loyal2theRoyal is now masquerading as the much less prolific 'Former Poster'.

Dubinmeath was once rumoured to be the master of illusion, Jayo Cluxton. If so, I'm fairly certain that he's still active on here, though not using either of those names.

A few others who jump to mind would me RMDrive, Boxtyeater, Mugsy's Barber, BakertheGlen, MidMonMan and Aidan Galway, all great posters. I was lucky enough to get to know Patrique a bit better away from here - a fine man and a sad loss.

Thomas Clarke (Tyrone) - Posts: 1002 - 14/08/2015 08:56:16    1769833