The "Dublin" Media

Can someone please tell me who the "Dublin Media" are, and what part of Dublin Colm O'Rourke, Joe Brolly, Dessie Dolan, Shane Curran, David Brady, Pat Spillane etc etc etc etc are actually from??

It seems the Dublin Media is code word for the Sunday Game panelists, and Ciaran Whelan aside, none of them are from Dublin...

Then in the print media, Colm Keys, Martin Breheny, Tony Leen etc etc etc....again...if someone could point out what part of Dublin these lads are from, it might help this discussion.

The term Dublin media is a lazy poisonous stick people like Ulsterman use to have a go at Dublin in general when making a rubbish point about the SOUTHERN Media

By the way, I have seen LOADS of Ulster commentators also condemn McCann and condone this ban...what part of Dublin are they from Ulsterman.....
People give out that Dubs think there is nowhere outside the pale...well when non Dubs like Ulsterman use the term Dublin to describe the entire country, is it any wonder!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 13/08/2015 13:34:00    1769423

Dublin aren't in the south though, they are in the east. He must really have an issue with the Limerick Leader, the Cork Independent and The Kerryman

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 13/08/2015 14:42:41    1769483

Superb post liam!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 13/08/2015 15:04:35    1769501

Thank god a fine Mayo man like James Horan has just come out and vindicated EVERYTHING the Tyrone,and other posters,have been saying on the matter since Saturday.Thank you James.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 13/08/2015 15:10:49    1769503

Have to say I agree with the original post.

It's not a Dublin Media issue. Counties get flak, it goes with the territory. Galway's hurlers in 1989, Clare's hurlers in 1998. This year it is Tyrone. There is always a county who has perceived injustices and can become entrenched in their thinking. Usually though, those are the lads having a great championship run!

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 13/08/2015 15:36:17    1769523

Indeed Seanie fair play to James Horan!

We're all paranoid Liam or maybe we're not, are we??

bumpernut (Antrim) - Posts: 1852 - 13/08/2015 15:40:23    1769525

Good win for Eire Og last weekend and I must admit I wasn't expecting that result. I heard they were comfortably ahead in the first half and Clarets closed the gap in the second half. That should set things up nice for the semi-final of the championship when it looks like they will meet again.

I noticed there where due to be a few league games this evening but they now have been reschedule for a later date. I am going to go and watch Garryowen and Clarets this weekend.

YourMaIsYourDa (UK) - Posts: 36 - 13/08/2015 15:58:51    1769544

tyrone have been at it since harte took charge of senior tean. 2003 ulster final seen a guy rolling round like he was shot when the ball was tossed to him, and the forwards were dropping like flies when farted, yet they were way more physical and cynical. and it hasn't changed much. s cavanagh, yes a great player, would fall in a heap if his marker farted in his vicinity. they have the players to play a good attacking brand of handball, but harte seems to insist on being a blanket cynical diving team. then u have the u21 final, where do you think that stemmed from

beansycpn (Down) - Posts: 128 - 13/08/2015 15:59:02    1769545

I think by Dublin media people are actually referring to RTE. Sure wasn't there a huge thread earlier in the year on how the coverage of gaa on rte was awful during the national leagues and how they allegedly favour rugby over gaa etc and so on. There is a perception they will pounce on anything negative and unfortunately it has been handed to them on a plate in this instance. The reason folks are so hacked off with RTE is that they spend all year telling us how football is muck and puke, and then decide to make up the rules as we go along with trial by video. I know we're supposed to be an amateur organisation but making up the rules mid season is school yard stuff.

Some counties are definitely painted in a different light also and as much as teams from the north are perceived to play negatively they are definitely covered in the media negatively with the old adage of not letting the facts get in the way of a good story being particularly apt and unfortunately a lot of folk swallow it hook, line and sinker.

duckula20 (Antrim) - Posts: 175 - 13/08/2015 16:16:35    1769561

Liamo

Back to your best

Excellent thread

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 13/08/2015 16:18:05    1769562

I think they mean Dublin based media maybe or Dublin based newspapers....don't worry Liam they are not blaming Dublin.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11230 - 13/08/2015 16:28:19    1769572

It matters not where any of them are from Liam,their paymasters,for the most part,are the national media in print and in TV based in Dublin. The Dublin "meeja" as yez say. Mr Brolly,with his open dislike of Tyrone gaa,is their ringleader.James Horan points out today how Brolly spearheads the attack and the others just fall in behind. It's how it is Liam and that's it. James Horan is correct.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 13/08/2015 16:39:03    1769578

Why dont they just say 'The Media'?
Siege mentality or wha?

HenryHill16 (Dublin) - Posts: 249 - 13/08/2015 16:40:19    1769580

Roy Curtis is enough...

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9132 - 13/08/2015 16:46:23    1769582

Who fkn cares ?

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7343 - 13/08/2015 16:51:12    1769586

i do believe the Sunday indepentant is a poor quality paper with very anti-northen stance, extremely negative, its based in Dublin -but that's the only connection with Dublin. Historically northerns ( wee 6) hates the irish indepentant as it was owned by the O'Reilly family and their distaste with the north came through in every editorial.
RTE news dept is poor, while i thoroughly enjoy Today FM ( especially the last word which seems to be fair in their analysis on all things - dublin based)
The Examiner- ( previously the Cork Examier is a Munster based, but a national newspaper is fine...
THe Irish News - northern based, but sold in most parts of Ireland covers the nes from a northern perspective
The rest are just english tabloids.....

But as the the original poster comments.... dublin media is a loose and at times inappropriate comment... but I ask you all listen/watch RTE news about an incident in the north, its awful, biased, or something from the Tory Party press-machine...
We in Ulster (9 counties) feel that rte are a Lenister/Munster station. The weather news stops at the border!!!!!

cuchulainn35 (Armagh) - Posts: 1673 - 13/08/2015 16:57:42    1769588

Roy Curtis is enough...

Ah come on. Including him as a journalist is an insult to the media.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 13/08/2015 17:06:51    1769594

beansycpn
County: Down

tyrone have been at it since harte took charge of senior tean. 2003 ulster final seen a guy rolling round like he was shot when the ball was tossed to him, and the forwards were dropping like flies when farted, yet they were way more physical and cynical. and it hasn't changed much. s cavanagh, yes a great player, would fall in a heap if his marker farted in his vicinity. they have the players to play a good attacking brand of handball, but harte seems to insist on being a blanket cynical diving team. then u have the u21 final, where do you think that stemmed from

I would suggest when farting seems to be such an issue for you that you lay off the beans for a while.

benched (Tyrone) - Posts: 534 - 13/08/2015 17:10:38    1769597

Not another wannnnnnnnnnnnn ! I am actually sick to the death of GAA after the past 4 days, moving on to cricket, something the RTE safely don't cover

redhanddefender (Tyrone) - Posts: 913 - 13/08/2015 17:12:19    1769599

In all fairness the only national newspaper not based in Dublin is the 'Irish Examiner'. And is Dublin really Ireland.

BanTarleton (Clare) - Posts: 181 - 13/08/2015 17:15:39    1769602