Another Kilkenny v Tipperary final.

ZZZZZ

I really don't have the stomach for another Kilkenny v Tipperary final. Would be the fifth in seven years.
Please god Galway can remedy that next week

shaggykev (Donegal) - Posts: 187 - 09/08/2015 17:14:48    1766649

KK would hop off Galway though. At least Tipp have a chance against KK.. KK not even celebrating there

AthCliath87 (Dublin) - Posts: 345 - 09/08/2015 17:21:12    1766654

Zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

Worst hurling and football championship in years.

Hopefully the last 2 hurling matches and last 3 football are cracking because attendances will suffer heavily next year otherwise.

Only 41k there today which is very poor.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 09/08/2015 17:25:01    1766657

KK and Tipp will be a great game right enough.

It would be nice if some of the other teams were competitive. They are not and yes the hurling championship is predictable.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 09/08/2015 17:34:13    1766668

The cream rises to the top lads. It's up to the other 8 seeded counties to mount a challenge and get their respective houses in order. Kerry compete well at their level. Zzzzzzzzzz from a Donegal man and a Meath man. How are ye're respective club hurling championships going lads? Zzzzzzzzzz all ye want when ye're own counties get up to McCarthy level. The lack of goals in hurling at the moment? Now that is something to Zzzzzzzzzz about!

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7818 - 09/08/2015 17:48:10    1766673

Yawn.

Gaillimh_Abu (Galway) - Posts: 996 - 09/08/2015 18:08:30    1766684

I think Galway will beat Tipperary and could possibly beat Kilkenny.

The danger is a repeat of 86, 01, 05 etc where they produce in the semi final but not the final.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 10/08/2015 09:12:20    1766888

Tipp v Galway is 50/50.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 10/08/2015 09:29:07    1766908

Tipp v Galway is 50/50.If Tipp do happen to win,after attending KK v Waterford yesterday,i would find it hard to see Kilkenny being beaten.Too strong at the back.Water-tight.And all the craft,skill and scoring power upfront to carry the day.Kilkenny have the two best players in the game now - Reid & Hogan.Both on top form.Walter Walsh & Colin Fennelly are due big games.No doubt one of them will have a stormer in the final.Tipp v Kilkenny have already given us three of the greatest finals in history - 2009,2010 & 2014,drawn game.They bring out the best in each other.Im sure they wuould do so again.Galway will have something to say about that though.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 10/08/2015 09:37:26    1766916

cuederocket

Do you think they are that watertight? For goals yes, but they conceded scores yesterday when they had 5 defenders marking 2 forwards. Thing is they never panic!

The manner in which they lost the 2010 final was as a result of incessant work rate & all out attack from Tipperary. The same tactics beat them in the 2012 Leinster Final. They will face one of those sides in the All-Ireland final. Yesterday was the first time in 15 years that I looked at a Kilkenny side and thought two of the backs could be cleaned. Padraig Walsh and Joey Holden did well, but Waterford didn't put the manpower on them. Paul Murphy was excellent yesterday but a lot of that is down to organisation and self belief. As many of the Kilkenny camp said yesterday 'we just waited to see what Waterford would do first'.

If Tyrell is out for the final I foresee both Tipp or Galway exploiting things more than Waterford did.

I don't think Kilkenny will win this year's final.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 10/08/2015 09:54:57    1766941

You have a fair point there slayer.KK were watertight at the back yesterday,but Waterford made it easy for them.Same as Waterford did for Tipp.I felt M Shanahan was fighting a losing battle,especially in second half.Ball,after ball hit into him around the square,with 2 or 3 KK men surrounding him.It was awful to watch.KKs half back line are excellent C Buckley was my man of the match.Joyce holds the vmcentre and P Walsh reads the game well.P Murphy has been the best corner back over last few years.J Tyrell not far off.Prendergast & Holden did what they had to yesterday,but i remain to be convinced.If Callinan got the right ball,would Holden have the speed?Would Joe do better on him the next day??I dont think Holden has been truly tested,but thats a testament to the protection he gets from his defensive unit.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 10/08/2015 10:48:57    1767017

In some ways its a pity we have two sporting codes cause it would be interesting if Kerry v Kilkenny were meeting up in finals.

crikey (Australia) - Posts: 355 - 10/08/2015 11:30:26    1767070

Waterford were never going to win yesterday playing the way they play.kilkenny's backs are great but they had an easy day yesterday, 5 against 2 for a lot of the game.
Tipp certainly won't play that way against them and I would like to think that Galway would also attack their defence.
Waterford never looked like scoring a goal yesterday and you have to score goals to beat KK.

Barnowl94 (Galway) - Posts: 3150 - 10/08/2015 11:49:20    1767096

They might reach a lot of finals but they bring out the best in each other. If Tipp get to the final I expect another classic match.

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1335 - 10/08/2015 11:50:31    1767098

you have to score goals to beat KK.

Spot on - examples

2012 Galway 2-21 Kilkenny 2-11
2010 Tipperary 4-17 Kilkenny 1-18
2005 Galway 5-18 Kilkenny 4-18
2004 Wexford 2-15 Kilkenny 1-16
2001 Galway 2-15 Kilkenny 1-13

When you don't get goals and they do......

2014 Kilkenny 2-13 Limerick 0-17

And if you are Cork ........... no goals needed

2013 Cork 0-19 Kilkenny 0-14
2004 Cork 0-17 Kilkenny 0-9
1999 Cork 0-13 Kilkenny 0-12

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 10/08/2015 11:56:57    1767106

Keeping Kilkennys goals out is equally as important to scoring them yourself.Tipp only scored 1 goal in last years final but 28 points still wasnt enough as the cats bagged three goals.Same in 09 for Tipp.Think they got 23 points but the cats bagged the two all important goals.Keeping KK goals out is a perilous task.A goal for the cats gives sometimes feel like its worth more than just the three points.It seems to put a dent in the oppositions pysche. kilkenny are masters at scoring goals at important times.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 10/08/2015 12:06:51    1767121

We need to beat a Galway team in top form first.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 10/08/2015 12:35:28    1767164

Fair play to Kilkenny yesterday the are what we all aspire to be. Tipp will beat Galway IMO and I think itl be a great final. And why don't they have Waterford play Galway in a third fourth play off final for all you sleepy / bored fans out there;-)

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 10/08/2015 12:39:53    1767171

Slayer....lads around Clare might disagree with your 2013 stats

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1667 - 10/08/2015 12:42:38    1767173

Galway are improving game on game. They have some huge physical guys who are capable of competing in the air. They could take both ourselves and Kilkenny if the upward curve continues and they cut out the wides.

I do think we'll have enough to squeeze by them but it won't be easy.

roundball (Tipperary) - Posts: 2514 - 10/08/2015 12:43:14    1767175