Worst GAA year in living memory?

Football : one-sided hammerings, blanket defences, no flair, no memorable games bar 1/2
Hurling: more one sided games, more defensive tactics, few goals.
Worst ever? Discuss

SmellyBadger (Limerick) - Posts: 32 - 03/08/2015 11:02:15    1762917

Well from a Louth point of view it has been a diaster. Back to back relegations in the league followed by back to back trashings in the championship. As Johnny Logan would sing what's another year.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 03/08/2015 11:17:40    1762938

It's not been the best alright...

Something a wee bit clinical about it

Not much imagination or flare... I don't know

Let's just say that they won't be making any sports movies based on what we've seen

Havent really looked forward to many games...

It's not been great has it... just like the weather

Hopefully the next few games gives it a much needed lift

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 03/08/2015 11:23:38    1762941

Terrible.

Hidings, bad venue choices and in my opinion terrible refs

DoireCityFC (Derry) - Posts: 1580 - 03/08/2015 11:29:23    1762947

Ya worst in along time in both, teams setting up to defend and guess what same teams are coming to the top again in hurling and football. It's still the same idea since the GAA started the team that scores the most wins, maybe some managers next year will realise this. Hurling Kk, Tipp and Galway go out play Hurling the way it's suppose to be played all three in semi finals. Football Dublin, Kerry, Mayo all go out to play the game it's suppose to be played, the winner of both Hurling and football will come from the above named teams.

therealtmo (Tipperary) - Posts: 1292 - 03/08/2015 11:35:52    1762954

Its not been good thats for sure.Too many one sided, predictable games .Both codes being slowly destroyed by tactics and bad coaches .Throw in inept referees and you get the picture.
There may well be a couple of classic encounters in the closing stages though and everyone will pretend things are rosy in the GAA garden when the reality is anything but.

Barnowl94 (Galway) - Posts: 3150 - 03/08/2015 11:45:01    1762961

Tipperary friend...
what does - the go out to play the game, its meant to be.... all Counties can and are negative at times, Kerry were negative in the Final last yr, and they pushed the rules to the limit in the semi-final replay against Mayo

cuchulainn35 (Armagh) - Posts: 1673 - 03/08/2015 11:48:20    1762967

Mother of god ye are all brainwashed by those eegits in RTE

Cork v Kerry was superb
Meath v Westmeath was one of the best games and produced a fantastic result
Donegal v Tyrone was compelling and actually had some really decent football
Longford v Offaly -wonderful game
Galway v Mayo-had heart, spirit and excellent goals
Donegal v Galway- see above
Kerry v Kildare-May have been one sided but give credit to Kerry for putting on an exhibition
Dublin v Fermanagh-Loved Fermanaghs attitude and put Leinster teams to shame

PLUS

We have the big four likely to play each other again this year four times and we'll get some brill games
Donegal v Mayo
Winner v DUblin
Winner v Kerry

Last seasons three football semi finals were games of the ages as was the 2013 Dublin v Kerry Semi final
Quit your whinging and enjoy the game for what it is

If Donegal, Kerry, Mayo and Dublin so what. People didnt whinge in tennis when Federer, Nadal, Murray and Djokovic moved above the pack. Eventually the pack started to catch up and raised their own standards

shaggykev (Donegal) - Posts: 189 - 03/08/2015 11:55:16    1762975

Some wonderful football forwards playing at the moment- Quigley has been a breath of fresh air all season; Michael Murphy's catch, turn and point v Galway on Saturday was awesome, as was his flick to McHugh for the second goal; Connolly's points with left and right yesterday were top notch; Ciaran McManus has been superb, and the Kerry goal machine yesterday was a classic mix of skill, pace and movement. Glass half full....or glass half empty...take your pick.

football first (None) - Posts: 1259 - 03/08/2015 11:55:47    1762976

Depends when you were born or how good your memory is I suppose. Haven't found it too bad myself to be honest - though one thing that has been annoying is the amount of negativity around the games. Less of that I say.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 03/08/2015 12:14:04    1762987

Well said shaggy could not completely agree more. People are brainwashed by a couple of the eejits on the Sunday Game. Lazy analysis and opinions that change like the direction of the wind. Also Kerry are as cynical and defensive as any Ulster team in fact they are all but an Ulster side these days in how they set up. The hurling championship has been the worst in years. Very few stand out games apart from Cork v Clare and Limerick v Clare. Galway v Dublin was close and exciting but the overall skill level was poor at times with woeful decision making and shooting.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 03/08/2015 12:15:30    1762989

It's the puke football that is killing it like its so bad right now but posters keep telling me to shut up and get with the times.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 03/08/2015 15:54:00    1763165

SmellyBadger
County: Limerick

Football : one-sided hammerings, blanket defences, no flair, no memorable games bar 1/2
Hurling: more one sided games, more defensive tactics, few goals.
Worst ever? Discuss

Well if I was from Limerick I would say most years are are bad years.

supermon (Monaghan) - Posts: 1073 - 03/08/2015 16:07:15    1763171

Whats this 'football the way its supposed to be played' craic? Football is supposed to be played the way the rules allow. It allows for a defensive blanket if a teams decides to do it. End of. If you don't want to do it don't.

All this 'defensive football/blanket defense is evil' bull stinks of someone who just cries foul when they are beat and then they throw the rattle out of the pram.

GROW UP.

People who say that football was brilliant years ago just don't see the bigger picture. Traditional catch and kick football was prominent because catch and kick was all players could do given the limitations in fitness and strength and conditioning. If they had same training and resources that today's players have, they would be at the same craic. Every sport goes through evolutions in tactics and Gaelic football and hurling are no different.

supermon (Monaghan) - Posts: 1073 - 03/08/2015 16:16:43    1763175

Both codes have provided pretty dismal entertainment this Summer to be honest. Little flashes here and there but overall it's been cat. Often though if you get good semi-finals or a final that's all that people remember from the year.

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2215 - 03/08/2015 16:20:17    1763181

Gaeilic football doesn't lend itself though to looking pretty, when a bunch of players are trying to work their way through a pack of 13-15 players who are stationed inside their own 50. The slow soloing, the hop or toe to hand 'choice' in cramped crowded spaces, the short footpasses in crowds of players, the endless handpassing, the lack of clarity in relation to the defined tackle, the side to side passing, the backpassing. It's a grotesque spectacle more often than not nowadays. It's creating agitation in the crowds too, with one agitated group who still think they're looking at '60s-90s football wondering why the lad in possession won't 'let it go', and the other group losing the rag telling them 'shure there's no one to pass to, they've 15 behind the ball, can you not count, don't you know that football has changed etc'. All very aggravating & exhausting & ugly too.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3421 - 03/08/2015 16:30:44    1763188

I'd have to agree with it being one of the worst years of GAA I can remember.

In hurling, Limerick have gotten worse, Clare seem weighed down by the antics of their manager and have gotten worse, Offaly haven't come back, Antrim continue to get worse and Wexford showed that any sign of them returning to the top table was absolute hype and rubbish. Cork, maybe worst of all, have gotten worse. The story of the year has been Waterford who have been really good. Kilkenny and Tipp are out in front and Galway have managed to find some form. All in all, the hurling from Limerick, Clare, Wexford, Cork and even Dublin hasn't been great, and we haven't had any what you could call classic games.

In football, it's been poor-ish. The main thing for me is the silly structure of the qualifier system. For example, Sligo got to play a big game in Croke Park having won a single game in the championship, against Roscommon. They were hammered by Tyrone and annihilated by Mayo, yet played a last 12 game in Croke Park in August. In contrast, a team like Derry had to play Down, Donegal, Wexford and Galway, all good teams. The system which allows teams from Connaught and Munster enter the qualifiers in a later round than the teams who have lost a game in Leinster and Ulster is ludicrous and has to change. The quality of football, there has just been a huge difference in quality between the top teams, the middle teams and the bottom teams. The top 6 -the teams who are still in the championship are way out in front. There is then a bottom level with Offaly, Wicklow, Louth, Wicklow, Clare, Waterford, Limerick, Sligo, London, Leitrim and Antrim. Everyone else is in the middle. I have been disappointed by the attitude of some teams, with managers coming out before games with big teams stating "they will attack", when they are just conceding defeat. Money has been the difference between the strong counties and the weak ones.

icehonesty (Wexford) - Posts: 2550 - 03/08/2015 16:39:57    1763193

We are all waiting for the semis to kick things off but I'm not so sure. Despite Dublin hammering everyone I don't think they are going quite as well this year. Not the same goal threat. Kerry haven't been exciting either apart from 20 mins yesterday. Only games I enjoyed were cork Kerry drawn game and second half of Meath Westmeath.
As for the hurling. It has been a disaster really. Every team expected to push on had poor years. Tipp and kk have most definitely gone back wards but the bookies have them as very hot favs to get into the final again. Promised a lot but very poor and dare I say boring championship. Having said that Fermanagh were a breath of fresh air yesterday

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 03/08/2015 16:47:48    1763199

The biggest problem in the GAA today is negativity with those clowns on RTE leading the charge.

I watched the Donegal Galway game on Sky, my first time, & what a breath of fresh air. Proper analysis of the game we were watching as opposed to fellas getting up on their soapbox. If I had my way I would give the whole shooting match to them.

As for this being the worst year, can someone tell me when the golden age of football & hurling was? I have watched some of the older games on TG4 & it was woeful stuff.

Besides which we are still only getting to the business end of the season with all the weaker sides gone. The standard will rise considerably from here on in & any judgment should wait till the end of September.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 03/08/2015 16:51:35    1763204

Catching and fielding. Yeah thats gone from the game. Don't look at this clip though link

So boring we don't see any imagination. Make sure whatever you do, do not look at this video of a boring worked goal link

Just keep yourself ignorant and keep moaning. There's a good lad

shaggykev (Donegal) - Posts: 189 - 03/08/2015 16:54:26    1763206