Sean Quigley

I know some of you may not agree, but I am a bit tired of the jibes and stuff that Sean Quigley gets about his weight. He's a gifted footballer who has had a great season for Fermanagh. I saw today even RTE website getting in on it, re-tweeting a message saying the guy must have eaten two pizzas last night. It's not right to be making fun of, or bulling, a player based on his weight. Its potentially hurtful to the player its directed at, and maybe even worse, it legitimises the bullying of children who play GAA who may be heavier or bigger than their fellow players. It's not funny and I think it should stop. He's a big, strong man, and whatever weight he is, he is both well fit enough to play intercounty football at the highest level, and is a talented player.

icehonesty (Wexford) - Posts: 2550 - 02/08/2015 18:00:25    1762576

It's a interesting point you raise and hard to argue with. Can you imagine pundits commenting on a player's weight/body-shape/diet in the women's game? Aside from that Quigley will surely get an All-Star nomination. Fermanagh supporters were a credit today.

stanley (None) - Posts: 434 - 02/08/2015 18:22:28    1762609

He surely will get more than an All Star nomination---- he will get an All Star
Fair play Fermanagh love to see you'd win Ulster shortly and even though beaten the Fermanagh supporters we brilliant
Stick by Pete McGrath and the team Roll on the Ulster championship

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 02/08/2015 18:33:22    1762625

He was good today with his frees and the points he got from play. This was in spite of being on his own most of the second half. Surprised they let the goal stand after he pushed Cluxton but it made the game worth watching.

Suas Sios (None) - Posts: 1550 - 02/08/2015 18:39:04    1762628

haha i dont think the man cares..seems like quite a character..very talented player

fabio8 (USA) - Posts: 2182 - 02/08/2015 19:46:01    1762703

Great to see a man obviously enjoying himself on the park. Indeed, the whole Fermanagh team were a credit - they knew they were likely to be seriously outgunned but they went down swinging. For all the talk of Quigley's conditioning, too, he was full of running until the end, even after playing as a one-man forward line for half the match. Pete McGrath and his men deserve enormous credit - 'it's not about winning or losing, it's about glory.'

doiregael2 (Derry) - Posts: 337 - 02/08/2015 19:54:45    1762711

Quigley scored 1 - 8 today against a very good opponent. He is very good forward and played an excellent match.

mikeyjoe (USA) - Posts: 415 - 02/08/2015 20:11:39    1762725

Was the two pizza comment not in reference to something Sean Quigley said himself in an interview, where he admitted to the Laois full back to having one pizza the night before that Laois game. A game in which he played well.
IE two pizzas cos he played very well yesterday?

bosch (Derry) - Posts: 873 - 03/08/2015 12:45:08    1763017

It's a good point. i don't think it bothers the lad himself as he seems to smile and joke about it. but it could be hurtful to the next player who is treated the same way. so better to set a good example.

NYCcavanman (USA) - Posts: 204 - 03/08/2015 13:58:05    1763078

Joe McNally got a lot of abuse from the terraces but he just smiled and scored goals :)

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8591 - 03/08/2015 14:05:23    1763081

Sean Quigley went up to Croke Park to do his best for his county and he did exactly that. He was excellent. He is a character and he will be talked about long after this all ireland is over. He really enjoyed his day and a lot of people had great pleasure watching him. his goal was not a goal but he got away with it. Its not his fault that he did.

border Gael (Monaghan) - Posts: 894 - 03/08/2015 21:50:23    1763455

Sean Quigley went up to Croke Park to do his best for his county and he did exactly that. He was excellent. He is a character and he will be talked about long after this all ireland is over. He really enjoyed his day and a lot of people had great pleasure watching him. his goal was not a goal but he got away with it. Its not his fault that he did.

border Gael (Monaghan) - Posts: 894 - 03/08/2015 21:50:32    1763456

I was delighted to see Quigley play like that, be happy and carry a bit of conditioning. When I saw him first I thought 'oh Jaysus' but it's a sign of the times that we are conditioned to think that a jersey has to run smoothly over the body of a county player with no sign of 'fat'.

Those of us reared on Joe McNally, Seanie O'Leary, Niall Patterson, Sambo McNaughton all remember those lads as talented players. It's good to see room for a player like Quigley, who is obviously very talented, in the boring modern game.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 04/08/2015 14:09:05    1763727