Best seats in Croke Park

Anyone ever been to the premium/corporate seats in Croke Park? and if so what is your opinion of them? In my own personal opinion, there is no beating the normal seats, great atmosphere there. Been to the premium level before but didn't enjoy it, no atmosphere.

ShortGrass_1 (Kildare) - Posts: 223 - 29/07/2015 12:08:23    1760702

View wise the premium level is excellent. I had a ticket for there during the league final this year. Excellent position to watch a game, however i would rather sit down in the lower tiers to soak up the atmosphere.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 29/07/2015 12:57:55    1760752

Premium level is great if you are a neutral, really enjoyed being there for the Double Header of the Round 4 Qualifiers last year when Kildare and Monaghan went to extra time, was grateful we were in there considering the torrential rain that day!

But its a bad place to be if your own county is involved, I had a spare ticket for a Donegal friend for the All Ireland final last year, but in the end he didn't take it because he was offered a premium level ticket instead. He said it was his worst experience ever going to a match, very few people up there in jerseys and no atmosphere.

He says he was even shushed by the people around him when the game was in the melting pot!!!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 29/07/2015 13:11:00    1760762

Great view but by their very nature and the number of people in each is going to change the atmosphere so it wouldn't bother me if I never sat in one.

SLLY (Dublin) - Posts: 463 - 29/07/2015 13:14:26    1760767

Have been in corporate - you get dinner and bar throughout game with tv in box to see replays etc. Atmosphere grand when you sit out in the seats - easy toilet access, nice food etc. Premium is good also, atmosphere fine.

Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 29/07/2015 13:19:14    1760772

To watch a game sections around 505 and 530 in the premium are the best I have sat in.
For atmosphere then obviously it wont be quite the same up there but sometimes it can be good, depends on the game.
Corporate boxes are only good for the free drink, depending on which box, but I would prefer the premium.

If you want a great view and a decent pint at HT and FT then go premium. If you want a decent view and better atmosphere go lower Cusack around sections 305 and up about 20/30 rows.
If you want a sh*te view and the craic with the Dubs then go the hill.

GAAHattrick (Dublin) - Posts: 278 - 29/07/2015 13:19:33    1760773

Great view from the Premium seats but you lose out on the Atmosphere and you are just a wee bit too high up, too far removed.You do see everything though.
Anywhere between the two 50s and half way up in the lower deck in either stand is my favourite perch now that I'm too old for the Hill.

Condorman (Dublin) - Posts: 983 - 29/07/2015 13:24:35    1760779

Have been in corporate - you get dinner and bar throughout game with tv in box to see replays etc. Atmosphere grand when you sit out in the seats - easy toilet access, nice food etc. Premium is good also, atmosphere fine.

Brolly (Monaghan) - 29/07/2015 13:19:14

And the prawn sandwiches are good too Brolly eh ;-)

SLLY (Dublin) - Posts: 463 - 29/07/2015 13:31:03    1760785

There'll be plenty of bandwagon Lillies there Sunday, taking up the best seats! And not even 2000 of them in Thurles last weekend!

SeppBlatter (Dublin) - Posts: 187 - 29/07/2015 13:34:26    1760788

Worst atmosphere is in Ard Chomarlaire for me. Too many people looking round them and with very little interest in the game.

Premium is class, but for me, lower hogan about 20 rows back near the half way is your only man. Best view in the house!

seanfinn (Monaghan) - Posts: 360 - 29/07/2015 13:35:17    1760789

I like the premium seats best. I don't miss the atmosphere because I AM THE ATMOSPHERE.

One place I've never sat is the very front row of the upper tier. I imagine that's a great view.

Bit of a tangent but..... I'm strongly of the opinion that there's a far better pre-match atmosphere on the Hogan stand side than the Cusack, both inside and outside the gates. Discuss.

Count_Awesome (Kildare) - Posts: 736 - 29/07/2015 13:54:03    1760799

What bank did ye rob to afford a premium level seat or even corporate seat? Or do ye still have the Communion money saved? For the ordinary supporter any seat in Croke Park is good apart from that kip Hill 16, the further up the back of the lower tier to avoid the rain is perfect, the upper tier is steep if you have a bad head for heights but its shocking how clear the players are, the number on the jerseys are no matter where you sit in Croke Park

riverboys (Mayo) - Posts: 1389 - 31/07/2015 09:33:27    1761532

I was at the premium once for a drawn Kerry Cork AI semi final....drab atmosphere.
I love the Hill in the top right hand corner beside the Cusack.
But cant beat the Cusack or the Hogan stand around half way line about 15-20 rows back from the sideline.

Once I was in Upper Tier of the Cusack...got pissed before the match. Never again on both counts!!!

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 31/07/2015 10:33:42    1761568

The view might be good from Premium seats but it's too civilized for me, no craic, no banter, a lot of heads in there with freebie tickets and wondering why Drico isn't playing, no clue about GAA. Lower deck Hogan near the halfway line about 15 rows in is good for me, especially if it's fairly packed. But, for atmosphere, you can't beat a full Hill 16. Was in there for the 2006 and 2012 finals, deadly! In 2006 some bucks beside us kept asking 'who's that bo#*%x with the bodhrán?' about some fella up the back making a racket with his bodhrán. A few minutes later someone grabbed it off him and we saw it sailing down the Hill over our heads. Ye wouldn't get that in the Premium!

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7337 - 31/07/2015 11:31:22    1761601

Kip Hill 16?

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 31/07/2015 11:44:20    1761608

While it can be very hard to view a game from Hill 16, it does add atmosphere and give Croke Park a feel as opposed to yet another round bowel stadium. I like the standing idea behind the goal. I wonder could the lower Davin ever see standing introduced? The old Canel End had a great atmosphere too. I loved the way each county would get an end each and be facing one another....

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 31/07/2015 11:54:14    1761616

Hill 16 death trap waiting to happen, it's the perfect place for fighting, I hope it never happens but violence has occurred in that area and we could see massive trouble and incidents like in European soccer years ago, make it all seated now with a small roof

riverboys (Mayo) - Posts: 1389 - 31/07/2015 20:19:56    1761854

Would i be alone in saying upper tier cusack or hogan best view in house? You can really see patern of game from up there and teams are setting up

2ndcumin (Donegal) - Posts: 22 - 31/07/2015 20:34:50    1761858

Riveryboys that is an outrageous statement! Went on the hill for every dublin game for 6 or 7 years and never any trouble! Since it was redeveloped it is no perfectly safe! Have never seen trouble on it and it would be stopped straight away by fellow fans if there ever was!

Best atmosphere I witnessed was on the hill for final against Kerry in 2011 or Tyrone 2010! Haven't been on it since 2011 final!

Have season ticket for cusack but lower deck hogan is best due to more rain cover, no sun in eyes and better pub options! Similar atmosphere around the whole ground now! Anyway I would sit on the roof if I had too!

AthCliath87 (Dublin) - Posts: 345 - 31/07/2015 21:20:14    1761871

Count-awesome. I think you're right, atmosphere is better on the Hogan side rather than Cusack. Not sure why though. Maybe cos there's more pubs closer to the Hogan and people are more relaxed heading in.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7337 - 01/08/2015 10:37:14    1761917