GAA Players Jobs

Heh just wondering wondering with the way football has gone what footballers from within your own county out there actually have a profession outside of the norm as a gaa coach, bank offical or a sale person! Not dissing them but they are the standard job for a player

Kerry:
Anthony Maher - scientist in Cork

From the past
From the early 00s there was a lad called John Sheehan who played for Kerry and he was a block layer. Physically tough not to mind trying to train in the evening with the county after!
Ciaran Mcdonald - pipe layer - as he said he never needed a gym!

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 22/07/2015 17:38:29    1757690

Dermot Flanagan was a Junior counsel in '87 and is a Senior Counsel since 2000. A good man to have if you're appealing a red card !

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7344 - 22/07/2015 19:31:41    1757734

I'd say teaching is the ideal job for a county player these days....

Failing that, attempt as many degrees and get as many scholarships as you can!

Seriously though, it is a growing problem for the GAA and they've their heads in the sand. Player welfare after the playing days are over is not being considered at all. It's all very well county players getting college scholarships, the loan of a new car, a few pound here and there for an interview or to endorse a product/service. But when the playing days are over and these type of offers suddenly disappear that's when the problems could start. You could have situations where the individual is very qualified but no relevant work experience at all. Throw in a wife and young family as well...you get my drift. And that's only the lads who have went to college.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9135 - 23/07/2015 11:46:38    1757903

Ger Brennan, MDMA, Cluxton and I am sure a couple of others in the Dubs squad are teachers. Kilkenny is studying to be one.
McCaffery is studying to be a doctor, can't imagine that will be easily managed when he graduates.
Philly McMahon has a few gyms on the go.
Bernard Brogan I am pretty sure is an accountant.
Kev Mac owns a food delivery company.

Teacher is 100% the best job for an inter county footballer these days. So much free time and the summers off.

GAAHattrick (Dublin) - Posts: 278 - 23/07/2015 12:04:47    1757913

When Jim Cashman won the AI hurling in 1986 he did not have a job strange but true

Redhot (Cork) - Posts: 699 - 23/07/2015 12:09:39    1757917

ya teaching would be the ideal job plus a carer where a player can prosper career wise and earn a good pension.

Just looking at the 3 high profile players Donaghy, Darren O Sullivan and Lacey with Donegal who are currently "unemployed".
Donaghy and lacey were both taken off after not having great games at the weekend and DOS got no run at all.
When your not delivering for the county team ppl wont give a damn about that player no matter if they put lives on hold for the sake of the county.

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 23/07/2015 12:47:13    1757944

Just as well GAA isn't huge here in England. Heaven help anyone looking to teaching as a soft touch. The league table would paid to that: the publically accessible- and enforced by inspectors- exam results that is...

Wasn't Maurice Fitz one. Paul Galvin too. A bit humdrum for some methinks.

plike (Kerry) - Posts: 569 - 23/07/2015 13:39:05    1757984

Again this thread highlights the difference between the big counties and the little ones. In fermanagh the players don't have the option of being GAA coaches, bank officials or whatever. Ok 10 years ago a lot of lads worked for Quinn but they were legit jobs. A few of the lads are students but I know of a lawyer, insurance, joiner, physio, teacher. One lad from last years panel had to pull out this year because he is a doctor. I don't think any player on the fermanagh panel has a job which was linked to the GAA at all. I imagine 75% of the Dublin squad have used their status to get nice possibly cushy jobs which help them train more.

Erne4ulster15 (Fermanagh) - Posts: 23 - 23/07/2015 14:10:55    1758021

Most of the mayo lads have real jobs, such as some in factories, some guards, insurance companies, engineers etc. They work long days and train in their spare time. I think this is the way in "most counties"

I have heard of players in some counties that can give up their jobs for a year or for a season just to concentrate of football. I think it is strange that lads so young can have savings built up to allow them do this. They would not be entitled to social welfare as they are not seeking employment and the laws of the GAA would forbid them taking payments for playing GAA. I think the GAA/Revenue need to investigate such players as first off it is wrong and secondly it is creating a bigger gulf between counties.

Mfs (Mayo) - Posts: 251 - 23/07/2015 14:14:09    1758024

I imagine 75% of the Dublin squad have used their status to get nice possibly cushy jobs which help them train more.

Your imaginings are wrong. Yes the likes of Kevin McManamon, Bernard Brogan and Philly McMahon have used their status to generate more revenue from their careers but running your own company is far from a cushy number.

I don't know of any Dublin player that has a career with the GAA while they are playing although I could be wrong?!

GAAHattrick (Dublin) - Posts: 278 - 23/07/2015 14:33:51    1758038

I imagine 75% of the Dublin squad have used their status to get nice possibly cushy jobs which help them train more.

You're dead right. All of them are in 'cushy jobs'. None of them are a Quantity Surveyor, Account Manager, Dealer for Davy Stockbrokers, Sales Rep, Health & Safety Officer, Physio, Accountant, Tax Consultant, Business Owner, Business Advisor. I'd say of all the County Panels we possibly have the least amount of teachers (3 to be exact) that get 3 months off in the summer to 'help them train more'

But don't let facts get in the way of your imagination.

http://www.dublingaa.ie/teams/senior-football

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 23/07/2015 14:58:21    1758055

Some amount of them students in fairness

GAAHattrick (Dublin) - Posts: 278 - 23/07/2015 15:29:28    1758071

I see Eric Lowndes childhood sporting here was Trevor Giles, nice to see he has good taste!

Uncle_Fester (Meath) - Posts: 217 - 23/07/2015 15:47:15    1758083

It was good craic when our club got to the Junior B final a few years ago and they had to fill out a wee bio for the match program.
Never knew we had so many surgeons, singer/song-writers or astronauts in the parish!

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9135 - 23/07/2015 15:47:33    1758084

When Iggy Clarke was playing for Galway, was he an ordained priest at that stage? I know there are plenty of priests who had played at inter-county level, but they were usually required to give it up when they became priests.

Marlon_JD (Tipperary) - Posts: 1823 - 23/07/2015 17:21:25    1758140

Lockjaw

I'd say teaching is the ideal job for a county player these days....

Failing that, attempt as many degrees and get as many scholarships as you can!

Seriously though, it is a growing problem for the GAA and they've their heads in the sand. Player welfare after the playing days are over is not being considered at all. It's all very well county players getting college scholarships, the loan of a new car, a few pound here and there for an interview or to endorse a product/service. But when the playing days are over and these type of offers suddenly disappear that's when the problems could start. You could have situations where the individual is very qualified but no relevant work experience at all. Throw in a wife and young family as well...you get my drift. And that's only the lads who have went to college.

Lockjaw, I'm not disagreeing with what you say, but no one is forced to play, they have a choice. Otherwise, what do you suggest, professionalism? By the way, Brian Cody is a teacher.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2460 - 23/07/2015 18:57:51    1758182

Cockney_Cat
County: UK

No I wouldn't advocate professionalism and I agree with you in that noone is forcing these guys to play.
But as we all know the fixtures situation is a complete mess and seems to be made up as they go along.

The GAA calendar needs a streamlining drastically to include a proper winter break. I know it's not easy and I don't profess to have any answers myself but tough decisions will need to be made sooner rather than later.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9135 - 24/07/2015 11:46:48    1758346