Kerry goal -gooch "genius"

Anyone else feel rte went way over board with the praise heaped on gooch for the Kerry goal v cork ?? Walsh made the clever run, Cork switched off, frankly if gooch hadn't picked the pass it would have been more remarkable lads ! Walsh ran right past him....there was no genius involved ! The over board gushing was hilarious. Frankly if donncha had played that pass to cooper they would have told us it was the run was the stroke of genius.....between that and JOD getting MOTM , rte's love affair with all things Kerry related goes on. There wasn't a player on that pitch Saturday wouldn't have played that same pass. There was no "genius" involved

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 20/07/2015 18:05:06    1756597

Totally agree with the above.

In fact, Paddy Kelly took a similar quick free in the first have but his intended target dropped it, resulting in the Kerry defense clearing it. Cue the commentator saying "Kelly should have taken the point on offer from the free". Make up your mind!! Quick frees are great when they come off, if you don't try, then they certainly won't come off, and its very easy to say it was wrong to do so afterwards.

As for JOD getting MOTM, an utter sham. How annoyed would the Cork defender who held him to a single point be to hear JOD got the award?! Ridiculous from Carney.

Flanders (Galway) - Posts: 604 - 20/07/2015 18:28:43    1756615

I suppose it was a bit too reminiscent of Mickey Sheehy's famous one for you eh Liam?

A brilliant piece of footballing genius esp considering the conditions. How is it Kerry can score goals like this and no other county can?

Coincidence, I think not!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 20/07/2015 18:55:25    1756630

The Gooch is a genius, but it wasn't this passage of play which proves it, something any average club player should be alert to so just run of the mill for a player of his ability. Just as a side point to all of this did anyone else think free was soft in first place? Could be wrong, haven't seen any close up replays of incident but thought it looked soft at the time

benched (Tyrone) - Posts: 534 - 20/07/2015 19:14:11    1756638

He kicked a free any 6 year old would kick not a thing special about it , Martin Carney nearly wet himself he was that excited about it .

ke40 (Kildare) - Posts: 209 - 20/07/2015 19:45:08    1756654

The hermit
Well said kid. that's a natural footballer Liam ye won't see that with ye'r athletic type players in Dublin ;-)

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 20/07/2015 19:48:07    1756656

Agree with Liam..... The man deserving the credit was Walsh. But like Maher on that Kerry team the analysts seem to think they are not matinee idol material and not only do they not give them deserved credit but continue to gush over their favourites. They have them on all teams.

Gaa Fan (USA) - Posts: 749 - 20/07/2015 19:58:20    1756661

Marin Carney is becoming increasingly irritating. "Nothing malicious or anything like that" The boys back in the studio weren't a whole lot better. I thought they went overboard about Cooper also the Shields incident, right to point it out but Ive seen a whole lot of players feigning head injuries and nothing about it.

theduke66 (Dublin) - Posts: 334 - 20/07/2015 20:20:11    1756674

The gooch is a fabulous player but taking a quick free kick should be second nature to all top flight players and is a tactic used numerous times in any game. Most players , when fouled, will look for a quick free, if its on they will give it if its not on they wont......simple. The Kerry goal was a good goal but was not down to any 'genius' on the part of cooper

frankbhoy77 (Antrim) - Posts: 1300 - 20/07/2015 20:26:32    1756675

I agree the praise for the pass has been overboard. However it does sort of justify the Gooch's greatness in that one of the things that makes him great is the consistency of his decision-making. It's rare he takes the wrong option. This pass on it's own probably isn't a great moment but put it together with the other times he gets on the ball and you probably see what makes him a great.

Former_Poster (Meath) - Posts: 394 - 20/07/2015 20:39:40    1756678

spot on from the Dublin Liam's post

cuchulainn35 (Armagh) - Posts: 1673 - 20/07/2015 21:11:31    1756705

Totally agree, and said it on the night myself. Don't get me wrong, Gooch is/was the best footballer I've ever seen. I often remember seeing him score, when I was just about to compliment the Cork backs on doing everything right. He can do what looks to be impossible. But kicking a ball to a free man, that's one of the few making a serious move - that's hardly special.

Commentators always get carried away. Canning is probably the worst one of them. It's quite clear that the guy doesn't know one end of a hurley from the other, and I'd wager that the same goes for football. I remember his (and the rest of RTE's) DJ Carey love affair - even when Shefflin was already showing signs of being a better player. Remember the point he scored on the wing against Clare when his marker fell over? 'Twas a point I'd give myself a good chance of taking, but Canning thought 'twas the second coming! On another occasion when Carey did display his sublime skill (of which he definitely had a lot) by batting a moving ball over head and down into his hand, while moving forward - poor old Ger didn't even notice. Not a clue.

Culchie (Cork) - Posts: 799 - 20/07/2015 21:31:04    1756718

About a year ago, some journo wrote Kerry off, now just that year but for the foreseeable. The underage 'famine' and the 'likelihood' of a drubbing by Cork in the Munster final conspired to convince yer man to palm off an obituary. Well, t'was a bit premature.

Cooper is now a veteran. Recovering from his injuries is no mean achievement. Achieving anything like his past level of performance would be astonishing, in the circumstances. Maybe he will. Maybe he won't. My guess is that he will be dignified come what may!

If you turn out to watch the AI finals in a pub most years, you notice one thing: many countrymen seem to get more pleasure from Kerry and Kilkenny losing than they do from their own counties winning. For what it's worth, I fancy Mayo and Tipp this year.

plike (Kerry) - Posts: 569 - 21/07/2015 08:51:53    1756749

Pike, the mans genius is not in question. His greatness and legend status are assured, and as football fans, we all to a man i would imagine, love the guy

but...

Sometimes his "genius" is very overstated, in this instance for basically doing something any decent club footballer would have done

calling this "genius" actually diminishes the truly great things he does do as its equalizes them, which is a sin!!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 21/07/2015 10:05:21    1756773

Correct liamo,totally over the top gushing of praise for a basic skill of the game.There really was nothing to it.Fortunately,not all viewers are sucked in by the hype and have a mind of their own.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 21/07/2015 10:42:28    1756793

Great to see Goochy Goochy goo back in action, one of the best to lace a pair of boots, but to describe the goal as "genius" was a little cringeworthy. Have seen Gooch do lots of skillful things over the years, the free itself would have fallen into the "basic" category for me. Good players will always be alive to the possibilities. The build up to the goal said more about the difference in the 2 teams than anything else. Stupid free conceded out the field after the ball was kicked, defence wasn't alive, Walsh, Gooch and Geaney were, and lo and behold Kerry seal the deal with a very well taken opportunity. It's not as if we haven't seen this before.

moylagh (Meath) - Posts: 484 - 21/07/2015 11:15:30    1756820

Hah, I'd say if Connolly or Brogan did it ye'd be telling the grandchildren in the decades to come!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 21/07/2015 11:20:52    1756827

Hermit
For a hermit, u have a lot to say!!
Liam

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 21/07/2015 11:35:58    1756835

yes agree with Liamwalkingstown here. way over the top by the commentators and studio panel. I also disagree with the kerry poster who said that Kerry have natural footballers whereas Dublin haven't . Dublin certainly do . The one thing I notice about Dublin is that they can all improvise. They don't just do the usual thing. Say for instance if the ball is played to a man who is off-balance or it's too low or behind him or too far ahead or too high or whatever , the Dublin player will always improvise and get a touch on it with something . Take for example the goal opportunity that the Monaghan player had against Donegal , The ball was played for him to run on to, The Donegal keper came out, what did the Monaghan player do ? . He caught the ball and hit it straight at the keeper who by that stage was on top of him. What would a Dublin forward have done ?. He would have either rounded the keeper or not bothered to catch the ball at all, he would have simply either chipped the keeper with his foot or hand. (Donnacha O' Connor did it for Cork in the drawn game.

It really annoys me when I see players alwqays trying to go down on the ball and gain possesion in front of goal instead of just hitting it before the keeper or defenders have time to set themselves. Maybe it's because I played alot of soccer but surely if you a "natural footballer" instinct would dictate your reactions in that situation. I was screaming at the tv when the Monaghan player gathered possesion instead of just throwing a boot at it and lofting it over the on-rushing keeper. I am 100% sure that if that was Diarmuid Connolly,B. Brogan, A. Brogam or any number of Dublin players, it would be in the net.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 21/07/2015 11:42:36    1756843

Colm Gooch Cooper is a great player and a genuine nice guy. To come back from injury he did well. That said Paul Kerrigan scored a "wonder goal" full of great passing and pace. No mention of that fact by the almost ridiculously biased RTE panel. Colm O Rourke, Carney and Dessie Dolan never mentioned the sledging or fouling by Sheehan or Donaghy in particular. Also ref Maurice Deegan lost control.
Paul Kerrigan's goal is a candidate for goal of the season.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2519 - 21/07/2015 11:48:49    1756847