One of the worst decisions ever

One of the worst decisions ever seen was
In Cusack Park Mullingar yesterday.
Early in the second half with Limerick leading Westmeath by two
points and showing signs of panic they were awarded a goal that was two feet wide.
Everyone in the grounds saw that the net never shook
but the umpire to the astonishment of Westmeath goalie waved the green flag.
This gave Limerick the little cushion they needed to avoid total panic and a possible major shock

jobber (Westmeath) - Posts: 1456 - 06/07/2015 14:23:54    1748475

Jobber that umpire was a disaster. That point ye were given in the 1st half after all the confusion was about 2 foot inside the post and he waved that wide. And then he gives a goal when it was wide. And the linesman on the stand side got at least 3 calls wrong by giving ye sidelines that were blatantly ours. At this level it simply is not good enough.

mike03 (Limerick) - Posts: 2000 - 06/07/2015 14:39:53    1748501

I thought this was going to be another Kerry peno thread for a second...

But you are right... it was a very costly mistake and WM suffered for it

Very unlucky - because the performance that WM put in deserved more than that

They say you make your own luck

Well that certainly wasn't the case for Westmeath... who deserved more

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 06/07/2015 14:45:37    1748507

It reminded me of Gerry Murphy's goal for Kerry v Tipperary in 1997 (?) where he kicked the ball wide, it bounced off the advertising hoarding, came straight back into his hands, he cheekily kicked the ball into the goal (why not?) and the umpire called it as a goal!!

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 06/07/2015 14:50:19    1748513

Not good enough when lads are putting so much effort in to have some eejit cost you a goal.

SLLY (Dublin) - Posts: 463 - 06/07/2015 14:59:29    1748531

The sliothar nearly hit the umpire on the way back out after hitting the hoarding behind him! Disgraceful decision...

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 06/07/2015 14:59:32    1748532

What about Seamus Darby's push on the back of Tommy Doyle that was left go.......we all know what happened next. This the biggest ref disaster ever imo.

dingle2 (Kerry) - Posts: 278 - 06/07/2015 15:00:03    1748533

dingle2

Ahh get over it...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 06/07/2015 15:06:32    1748546

It was mad call, a killer blow too at a vital point in the game, just not good enough.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4896 - 06/07/2015 15:12:17    1748555

A pathetic call.I think Westmeath were in their rights to leave the field,until the decision was reversed.Train all year to be cheated by a disgraceful decision.How would the Westmeath goalie and team be in the right frame of mind after that?

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 06/07/2015 15:12:34    1748556

Meath's try in the 2010 Leinster Final

Deprived so many Louth people a once in a life time chance to see their wonderful County achieve something amazing.

I'm still gutted for them - cant image what they feel

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1415 - 06/07/2015 15:15:59    1748561

That was the single worst umpire decision I have ever seen. Did he think it burst the net or something? If that was a bigger team (No offence Westmeath) there would be calls for a replay.

deadybai (Kilkenny) - Posts: 63 - 06/07/2015 16:04:44    1748646

He had probably done the bet in the bookies with Limerick -15 and was only helping them along the way!!!! If he hadn't awarded the goal chances are he was going to lose some money!!!
And then to take points off Westmeath off!!!
All you can do is laugh but if I was a player on that pitch yesterday from Westmeath I would be asking myself what's the point been on the pitch when the official's cant even get the basic's right.
Too much sacrificed to be let down by these sort of people.

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 06/07/2015 16:38:19    1748684

Thats why i would have left the field of play.Im not sure the outfield players really knew the gravity of the mistake.They probably thought the goalkeeper was chancing his arm.If the keeper was 100% sure that it was a wide ball,he should have held up the game,walked off,anything to try and reverse the decision.If the Westmeath players left the field,i wonder what would have happened.I think they would have got the support of a lot of the public if that happened.The umpire would look really stupid then.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 06/07/2015 16:46:01    1748691

Offaly got a goal in a leinster semi final hurling the early eightys it went through the side netting it was counted as a goal even though the umpire got hit by the ball.

johnwhite12 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 306 - 06/07/2015 16:59:37    1748713

What is laughable is the umpire who gives the goal (the guy on the left as we look at it) is no where near the goal, he is not facing the play and has his hood covering his eyes yet he goes straight for the green flag...

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 06/07/2015 17:15:12    1748733

hopeless umpires is huge issue in the gaa, every year they effect several games by poor calls, i have umpired clubs games, im just curious at intercounty level do they have any training? eye sight tests?

Barrowsider (Carlow) - Posts: 1593 - 06/07/2015 17:49:04    1748760

the offaly goal the ball ended up in the net tho..the limerick one was always going outside

kavvie (Clare) - Posts: 505 - 06/07/2015 17:54:14    1748764

Ban yes it is hard to believe that this Saturday will be the fifth anniversary of the Sluddengate affair. I'm gutted for Paddy Keenan. The unluckest captain never to lift the Leinster title.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 06/07/2015 18:01:53    1748768

It's funny how these terrible refereeing/umpiring decisions only happen to the likes of Louth or Westmeath. Kerry never seem to get any bad refereeing calls against them, but have benefitted from a few like the penalty they got yesterday. Likewise Kilkenny in hurling, I noticed at least 3 KK players overcarried yesterday but were not penalised.

M Lyster (Antrim) - Posts: 461 - 06/07/2015 18:10:28    1748772